Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ava Rides Again!
A movie star who, by her own admission hated making movies, Ava Gardner was a unique and original screen beauty who's fondness for booze, men and good times are legendary. This book is her story as told by her to Peter Evans, who she asked to ghost write her autobiography in the late 1980's.
Her volatile temper, extreme language and life long affair with alcohol and...
Published 12 months ago by Belfast Dave

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A different approach to a Biography
You get a real insight into what Ava Gardner was like in her latter years and I am not sure that, for me, she came across as a very likeable person. I found the end of the book left disappointing as it left the reader up in the air. Overall worth a read but not as informative as I thought it would be.
Published 11 months ago by Mrs S K Cook


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ava Rides Again!, 8 July 2013
By 
Belfast Dave (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A movie star who, by her own admission hated making movies, Ava Gardner was a unique and original screen beauty who's fondness for booze, men and good times are legendary. This book is her story as told by her to Peter Evans, who she asked to ghost write her autobiography in the late 1980's.
Her volatile temper, extreme language and life long affair with alcohol and tobacco are well documented, as is her generosity, quick wit, deep unhappiness and short fuse when it came to getting her own way.
This book is a gem among other Ava biographies, in that on every page you get to 'hear' the star's own voice. Peter Evans has captured what he spent so long trying to attain, Ava's independent and complex personality.
I laughed out loud several times while reading this book, and by the end felt a profound sadness for a lady who's life (by the end of it) had taken her on a journey from the pinnacles of stardom, to a sad and somewhat lonely end.
A truly fantastic and fascinating book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This superbly written account of the life of one of Hollywood's most glamorous, complex and misunderstood stars is a must read for anyone interested in Ava Gardner, or indeed in the movie culture of the 50s to 70s. Evans brings Ava Gardner's obstinacy and awkwardness in her last years to life effortlessly. Read this and you're guaranteed to be highly entertained, totally engrossed, and learn something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is very well written and you feel as if you are in the room with Peter Evans and Ava Gardner when they are talking. It is an insight to the life of one of the world's most beautiful women and the events that shaped her life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reading, 14 Oct 2013
By 
John S. Shaw (Heysham Lancs England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Such a wonderful actress and a great lady. What an interesting life and a side of her life we had not seen or heard.so many memories of a very beautiful person we have forever on the screen.Most enjoyable read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Read, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For those who love Hollywood Stars from this era, this book is a must, Ava Gardner is one of the most beautiful icons from this time and this book is a 'have to read' I couldn't put it down from the first page and just know I will read it again and again, a wonderful insight of her life from a bygone era
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A different approach to a Biography, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You get a real insight into what Ava Gardner was like in her latter years and I am not sure that, for me, she came across as a very likeable person. I found the end of the book left disappointing as it left the reader up in the air. Overall worth a read but not as informative as I thought it would be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ava Gardner: The secret conversations, 9 Aug 2013
If your looking for a 'complete' Bio do not buy this book! It hardly covers anything in detail and so many questions left un answered. That said the author seemed to really capture the 'voice' and personality of Ava Gardner. Its a quick read and not really worth the price, I was left feeling slightly cheated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unimpressed, 30 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. P. H. Ball "Hugh Ball" (Eastbourne, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
From reviews I had read, I had expected more from this book. The basic problem is that Ava Gardner doesn't seem to have been a very interesting character though she was obviously a 'tough cookie'. OK she married some famous people including Frank Sinatra (hardly covered in the book) but reading about heavy drinking, smoking and wild parties doesn't do it for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 19 Sep 2013
By 
TM Keeler "TerryUK" (Freshwater, Isle of Wight, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ava Gardiner holds nothing back! Late in life she reveals all about personal life and her marriages. Frank Sinatra is shown in totally different light to gossip reports.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Facinating, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like to think these rich characters are 'pushing the clouds around' - definitely an interesting read. Love clouds now xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ava Gardner: The Secret Conversations
Ava Gardner: The Secret Conversations by Ava Gardner (Paperback - 8 July 2014)
Used & New from: 38.28
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews