Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic action and drama
Hunter storms back to form with this stark, bleak thriller. Continuing to explore his themes of guilt and redemption, loyalty and betrayal, violence and death, Hunter lays out his epic prose against a backdrop of explosive action and twisting drama.
The Swagger series moves on to Earl Swagger, WW2 vet and Medal of Honor winner. Mentally and physically scarred by war,...
Published on 1 Jan. 2004 by Mr. Warren M. Fisher

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I so much wanted to love this book
Anyone unfamiliar with Hunter and in need of a gutsy neo/retro thriller(New category anyone?) should buy this and be ready to sit back for a blast. Afficionados? - Hunter tries very hard here to do some different things whilst remaining faithful to what is quickly becoming a thriller dynasty - the Swaggers. There's shades of Ellroy in his depiction of real life...
Published on 15 Oct. 2000 by G. Miller


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic action and drama, 1 Jan. 2004
By 
Mr. Warren M. Fisher (East Grinstead, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hot Springs (Paperback)
Hunter storms back to form with this stark, bleak thriller. Continuing to explore his themes of guilt and redemption, loyalty and betrayal, violence and death, Hunter lays out his epic prose against a backdrop of explosive action and twisting drama.
The Swagger series moves on to Earl Swagger, WW2 vet and Medal of Honor winner. Mentally and physically scarred by war, and haunted by guilt at his own survival, and teetering on the brink of self-destruction, Earl seeks redemption or annihilation in a bloody war with ruthless gangsters. Brutal and moving, the explosive action is laden with an air of tragic torment, as this wounded man seeks meaning and purpose in violence and death.
Classic Hunter, and as ever dwarfing all his supposed rivals in the thriller genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unstopable reading, it holds you till the end! Fantastic!, 21 Oct. 2000
By 
DAVID BENSON (HITCHIN, HERTS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hot Springs (Hardcover)
It seems that the mighty pen of Stephen Hunter has triumphed again. His attention to the reader i believe is his greatest asset, like the other novels that i have read by him it keeps you engrossed until the end. The novel starts well and just keeps shifting up gears all the way to the end. His portrail of Earl and his life is amazing, and i can only hope that the Swagger family keep on appearing throughout his next novel. If you have read other Hunter novels then his latest edition is certainly a must. He is one of those truely great authors whose work you really do not want to end but also not put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tough, Entertaining and Intriguing Thriller, 14 May 2009
By 
Daniel Taylor (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hot Springs (Paperback)
This is the first novel focussed on Earl Swagger. It is a great story and equals the preceding Bob Lee Swagger books.

Hunter has a way of intertwining and converging multi threaded storylines. He writes strong characters and Earl Swagger is a man who is feared and respected by friend and foe alike. He is a veteran NCO who fought his way across the Pacific in WWII and statistically should be dead. Instead he survives and trains a team of young G-Men to tame a wild gangster controlled town.

Many of the supporting characters are real or based on real people and the story is based around actual events. It was an excellant read and I've already got the sequel 'Pale Horse Coming' and look forward to reading it very soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I so much wanted to love this book, 15 Oct. 2000
By 
G. Miller "commonman12" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hot Springs (Hardcover)
Anyone unfamiliar with Hunter and in need of a gutsy neo/retro thriller(New category anyone?) should buy this and be ready to sit back for a blast. Afficionados? - Hunter tries very hard here to do some different things whilst remaining faithful to what is quickly becoming a thriller dynasty - the Swaggers. There's shades of Ellroy in his depiction of real life characters interacting with his fiction. I personally don't think he does it as well as Ellroy. Maybe I expected too much. It's jam packed with stuff(Guns) and scenes(Bangs)and off shoots(Pun)and so on and so on. I already know that Hunter is a master of the thriller novel with a twist but familiarity breeds contempt and the similarities between this and his other Swagger novels get too much to bear. Saying that it is a good (Not great i.e. Black Light or Time to Hunt)read, it only fails when comparisons are made - the big problem being that Hunter sets himself up for these comparisons to be made. It will happily sit on my bookshelf, but unlike other Hunter novels I don't think I will be reading it 2 or 3 times as I have with others. As I said I so wanted to like this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Greal pace, real feeling of post ww2 period, a thriller, 29 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hot Springs (Paperback)
Stephen Hunter shows us once again that his novels have both pace and excitement right to the last page. The flaws in the main characters add to their humanity and the plot weaves in and out of their lives, the lives of real people and the lives of people occupying the landscape the novel is set in. Stephen Hunter's detail of the props required and the period seems accurate, especially the sense of loss that must have been felt by the soldiers who were returning to their "grateful" nation. In using the Swagger character he builds on the notion of the survivor who has toughed out before and will continue to survive against odds. To sustain him through the crime adventure that is "Hot Springs" the character has only hard won experience and a kind of courage but it plays well and is a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the Past, 19 Oct. 2003
By 
Mr. Warren M. Fisher (East Grinstead, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hot Springs (Paperback)
The Swagger series moves on to Bob's father, Earl. Haunted and damaged by war, teetering on the brink of self-destruction, Earl seeks redemption or annihilation in a bloody war with ruthless gangsters. Stark, brutal and moving, the explosive action is laden with an air of tragic torment, as a wounded man seeks meaning and purpose in violence and death.
Hunter is back near his best with this beautifully written elegiatic tale. As much haunting character piece as hard-boiled thriller, this succeeds on both levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AN EXCELLENT READ, 19 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hot Springs (Paperback)
If you have read any of the bob lee series you'll definatly enjoy this.very cleverly written the way the fiction blends with real life charactersof that era,and the use of character links to some of his other novels.Enjoy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Service as usual from Hunter, 23 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hot Springs (Paperback)
Going back in time to the post-WWII story of Earl Swagger, Bob Lee's father, Hunter fills out more of the history of the Swagger clan in typical hard-nosed style.
The characters are tightly drawn, the story faultless, and there are plenty of tips of the hat to regular Hunter readers.
The only thing that bugged me about this book was an alarming number of typos that the editors didn't pick up. It was as if someone just skimmed it, and said 'near enough's good enough'. Not enough to make me disappointed, but I hope they do better next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 2 Oct. 2003
By 
This review is from: Hot Springs (Hardcover)
I'm coming to this novel, perhaps, with a very different perspective. I have never read Hunter's work and I am not familiar with Earl Swagger. I picked up the book on the basis of the Hot Springs setting. I visited the city a couple of years ago and became fascinated by its history.
Hunter's "Hot Springs", however, could just as well take place in Peoria. There is no sense of place here. The historical characters are painted with a broad brush, using no finesse or subtlety. Swagger himself is a caricature of a violent man. Perhaps I would have connected better if I had read the previous books. The crew of raiders recruited to quell the gambling in Hot Springs are mere cardboard cutouts. The internal mutiny is broadcast without regard for a sense of suspense.
There is a good moment early on when Swagger, on the run from his personal demons and his adoring public, having just been awarded the Medal of Honor, drinks himself nearly unconscious but manages to stick his gun in his mouth in utter despair. Hunter writes this scene with compassion and strength. I only wish he had written the rest of the book in the same way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hot Springs (Earl Swagger)
Hot Springs (Earl Swagger) by Stephen Hunter (Mass Market Paperback - 26 July 2011)
Used & New from: £1.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews