Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good
Dispels a lot of poor info out there and made this 38 year old feel a lot more relaxed about starting a family.
Published 19 months ago by annette

versus
19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Read with caution
It has some good tips regarding nutrition and how to handle stress, however it is VERY american and a lot of advice doesn't apply to the NHS. Also, if you have been trying longer than 6 months you might find it upsetting/annoying as she seems to have taken no longer than 4 months of trying with each pregnancy before conceiving. This apparently means she can right with...
Published 16 months ago by SARAH


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Impatient Woman's Guide to Getting Pregnant (Paperback)
Dispels a lot of poor info out there and made this 38 year old feel a lot more relaxed about starting a family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Success at last!, 15 Oct 2014
By 
Ms. A. L. Scarr "Mand" (Darlington) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Impatient Woman's Guide to Getting Pregnant (Paperback)
I found this book very insightful, whilst being funny and informative. It was full of practical, good advice for us IWs! I followed the advice and one month after reading the book I became pregnant, after trying for 13 months. Of course it could be coincidence, but I honestly think it was the good advice of exercising more and leading a healthier lifestyle that helped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Read with caution, 3 Sep 2013
It has some good tips regarding nutrition and how to handle stress, however it is VERY american and a lot of advice doesn't apply to the NHS. Also, if you have been trying longer than 6 months you might find it upsetting/annoying as she seems to have taken no longer than 4 months of trying with each pregnancy before conceiving. This apparently means she can right with authority on how it feels to have difficulty conceiving.
Also, it's a bit muddled on the evidence front as she wavers between only recommending treatments if they have a good evidence base ie. have had proper clinical trials but then goes on to say things like...My friend's friend found this happened so such and such must be true?!!
All in all, wouldn't recommend, you are better off reading online information such NHS choices or [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 24 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is fantastic! We have been trying for 7 months to conceive baby no 2 and there's no wonder it's taking so long!! I hadn't got the right information and this book puts any uncertainty to rest! Read this book and also Marisa Peers "Trying to get pregnant (and succeeding)" and you are armed with all the HTC weaponry you need!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for not making you feel like the only crazy lady!, 4 Nov 2014
This review is from: Impatient Woman's Guide to Getting Pregnant (Paperback)
Thankfully I got pregnant in the second month of trying BUT I was seriously crazy after the first month. Good to read 4-6 months before you start trying if you have a short window of opportunity. It advises on a USA based medical system so sending your partner for a sperm analysis 6 months before you start trying isn't as easily accessible even in the private UK system but it has other helpful hints. I don't think I got pregnant because I read this book as I only bought it after I didn't conceive the first month, but it helped me not feel like I was the only one being irrationally fixated on my urine LH levels. Now 38 weeks and could do with an impatient woman's guide to spontaneous labour! Analysis of every tweak and 'symptom' is reminding me of TTCing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and helpful, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved it! Spent far too much time being stressed about things that I shouldn't. Great read for people both starting their journey or midway through
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful and funny. An informative but light spirited approach which is ..., 5 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Helpful and funny. An informative but light spirited approach which is just what i needed! With lots of information and guidance. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is genuinely funny and might have stopped me going slightly mad, 19 Oct 2014
This review is from: Impatient Woman's Guide to Getting Pregnant (Paperback)
This book is genuinely funny and might have stopped me going slightly mad. There is so much - often contradictory - advice online about trying to conceive; this book is basically all you need to know in one place. It's fun to read and makes you remember that trying for a baby is supposed to be fun (and is often quite funny). Read this book, lighten up and enjoy the journey. Good luck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fab, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
really informative and stopped me from feeling like an insane person and helped me work out what I need to do. It's great to have some straight forward advice i can relate to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Practical and thoughtful advice about what steps to take and when, thank you. I now feel confident and ready to go in a few months!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Impatient Woman's Guide to Getting Pregnant
Impatient Woman's Guide to Getting Pregnant by Jean M. Twenge (Paperback - 15 Aug 2013)
£8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews