Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Faantastic Book.
Gierach's writing makes me feel as if I'm right there. IMO he is one of the greatest modern day angling writers.
Published 7 months ago by mr e frith

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Curate's Egg - Good in parts
The man is a legend, any fly fisherman worth his salt knows that already but, sad to say, even the best get tired and repetitive.

I own just about all of JG's books and have read them all several times. As with all writers some are better than others.
If you are coming to this one fresh and have never read any of the previous books then you have not in my...
Published 2 months ago by Fugitive


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Curate's Egg - Good in parts, 20 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Fishermen are Liars (Hardcover)
The man is a legend, any fly fisherman worth his salt knows that already but, sad to say, even the best get tired and repetitive.

I own just about all of JG's books and have read them all several times. As with all writers some are better than others.
If you are coming to this one fresh and have never read any of the previous books then you have not in my opinion struck the kind of gold for which the man is rightly revered.

For me at least, reluctant as I am to say it, the few new angles and mildly interesting revelations in this latest effort are insufficient to offset too many detailed accounts of long drives across country and too many uninteresting details generally There is also a sense of tiredness and melancholy here which whilst understandable perhaps is not evident in his earlier books. Also, I am a trout fisherman and I want to read about trout, not salmon, not steelhead, not pike, not bass but trout.

For what it's worth, I am the same age as the author and have fished pretty much all my life so I can connect entirely with the general ethos and counterculture out of which these wonderful writings fundamentally spring. I am also a realist and recognise that, commercially, JG needs to make a living and there will be pressures from publishers and others in the business of making money. This inevitably means that not every story and certainly not every book will be a gem. There are many gems in the JG canon but for me this is not one of them. Trout Bum it is not.

Always good and almost always better than any other contemporary fishing writer but not this time.

Will there be another? I truly hope so and also hope that it will actually lay off the fishing rather more, which I personally think he has pretty much exhausted, and take a look at life in general in that very wry manner with which all fans are familiar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Fishermen are Liars (Hardcover)
good reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Faantastic Book., 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Fishermen are Liars (Hardcover)
Gierach's writing makes me feel as if I'm right there. IMO he is one of the greatest modern day angling writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal present for every fly fisherman., 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Fishermen are Liars (Hardcover)
Well up to John Gierach's high literary standards. New anecdotes, new situations. Always something interesting for anglers and non-anglers alike. John is everyone's idea of a great fishing buddy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It Is True, All Fishermen Are Liars, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Fishermen are Liars (Hardcover)
A very good read, diverse interesting stories relating to different locations on rivers and lakes, all dealt with an easy style as though were along side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant tome from JG, 16 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another brilliant tome from JG. A mix of observations on life, fly fishing know how and wry humour. A must read for all Geirach devotees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One not to be passed by...., 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Fishermen are Liars (Hardcover)
The latest book from J Gierach well written almost in auto biographical terms. A good read but that's what you expect from John Grierach
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Fishermen are Liars (Hardcover)
Excellent as always
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All Fishermen are Liars
All Fishermen are Liars by John Gierach (Hardcover - 24 April 2014)
£13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews