Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A case for fighting back against unquestionable authorities - of all flavours
Sam makes a strong case that religious beliefs in morality must not be deemed above honest scientific investigation. The HUMAN BEINGS (Gods themselves being absent in the natural world) who enjoy power by being in the upper echelons of the religious elite dislike questioning exactly like other "unquestionable authorities" such as dictatorships and authoritarian regimes...
Published 20 months ago by Dr Chris

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mix of weak arguments and sound debate
Among the main claims of "The Moral Landscape" is that there exists such a thing as an objective moral code, that it is more or less equivalent to a form of utilitarianism, and that science can be used to gain information about this moral code and thus about how we should structure our society. The book is divided into five chapters, and covers topics such as the...
Published on 20 Jan. 2013 by Alexander Sokol


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting approach., 17 Sept. 2013
Sam Harris provides us with a thought provoking approach to the age-old problems surrounding the concepts of good, evil and free will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 2 July 2013
Anything by Sam Harris is excellent-this book is no exception. Please read it, learn a lot and spread the word
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Moral Landscape Review, 17 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have chosen this rating for The Moral Landscape as I find this novel extremely interesting to read. It has definitely broadened my perspectives on how we perceive others and morality. I would recommend this novel to anyone whose interested in social sciences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sam Harris is a genius., 20 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose to read this book as I have watched u-tube videos and read 'Lying' and 'Free Will' and don't fail to be amazed at the simplicity and intellegence of his writing. I can only hope that his philosophy will spread in the course of time. This book is on my kindle and the only problem is the kindle only indicates the percentage of the book you have read and I would like to see clearly where I'm up to in page numbers. I would certainly recommend reading Mr Harris's works to my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All thinking people should read this book, 4 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Moral Landscape (Paperback)
Many "professional philosophers" seem to be completely certain that "The Moral Landscape" is based on some egregious and rather embarrassing, fundamental oversight. Actually, these philosophers have no right to condescend, because their arguments are almost infallibly pre-empted and brilliantly eviscerated in Harris' gem of a book.

Amusingly, some philosophers try to justify their condescension by delving into nuances which could not possibly be generally agreed upon. That's not how condescension works. If you're going to accuse somebody of committing a foolish schoolboy error, then you actually have to provide evidence of ignorance of at least one point of consensus. It's obviously circular to accuse Harris of being ignorant about a point of consensus given that the ENTIRE PURPOSE OF HIS BOOK is to deconstruct this very consensus.

Harris' analysis, whether you have reservations or not, is undoubtedly more interesting than the endless reiterating of the misleading bromide, "You can't get an ought from an is".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 1 Feb. 2014
By 
Dodo "Spara Fugle" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sam Harris id proposing a new moral landscape based on scientific principles rather than the religious ones that have failed the world since the dawn of civilisation. It is impossible to prove a counter argument until it has been tried, but many of his ideas are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uh oh, wan out of piggies., 22 April 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (Cheltenham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Moral Landscape (Hardcover)
In the 1988 film "Who Framed Roger Rabbit?", there is a scene where Eddie Valiant falls from a very high storey of a toon building. He catches himself on a flagpole, clinging on for dear life by the fingers of one hand. As he hangs there, that adorable widdle bird, Tweety Pie walks up and begins to play `This little piggy went to market', prying one of Eddie's fingers from the flagpole with each line of the rhyme. Tweety starts the line, "This little piggy had none" and lifts the last finger. As Eddie falls, Tweety laments, "Uh oh, wan out of piggies".

For some time now, religion has been trying to claim that it alone can shape morality. It may not have been right about history. Or science. Or the future. But it could still show you the way to be good, right? Right?! One last, desperate finger clinging to the flagpole of relevance. And then along came Sam `Tweety Pie' Harris... Ping! Uh oh, wan out of piggies.

Harris's new book, "The Moral Landscape" outlines his contention that morals and ethics can be scientifically determined, that they're naturalistic. If there is a right way to do something and a wrong way, and the results of each way are different and appreciable, then they can be studied scientifically and the best way determined from the results. Through this method we can increase well-being.
Harris uses two methods to back up his case; scientific (using the currently available data) and philosophical (which is independent of current knowledge). He uses both methods well and with clarity. Harris uses clear language and examples to better illustrate his ideas. He doesn't shy away from conceding the limitations of current knowledge, nor from pointing out that certain moral dilemmas are difficult to resolve. While he in no way talks down to the reader, the book is squarely aimed at everyone. You don't need any special knowledge or a PhD to enjoy this book, but you will need to think. "The Moral Landscape" is one of the most thought-provoking books that I've read for some time. It is, to use a Richard Dawkins' term, consciousness-raising. Harris makes a solidly convincing case and I came to the end of the book thinking differently to when I started it. He even answered my long-standing question of whether or not free-will exists. You can't ask for more than that.

"The Moral Landscape" is a superb book that should be read and considered by as many people as possible. Some people won't read it or will dismiss it out of hand because of who the author is. That'll be their loss. Whether or not you end up agreeing with Harris, don't be one of those who miss out.

Oh, and go watch "Who Framed Roger Rabbit?". It'll cheer you up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Brave book in our Politically Correct world, 30 Jan. 2014
This review is from: The Moral Landscape (Paperback)
I can't say I agree with everything in this book (his concepts around Free Will being the major points), but this book carries an extremely important concept - that it is possible to develop science of morality if we are just brave enough to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking and enlightening, 24 Feb. 2015
By 
D. S. Sample (Turnipshire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Moral Landscape (Paperback)
An enlightening and thought provoking read arguing the point that science can improve our quality of life through human values, an important book that unfortunately I fear will not be read by the people who need to read it. (Good layout, lots of references in the back of the book for further reading).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars God-free morality, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Moral Landscape (Paperback)
Very thorough thinking about extremely important matters in the modern times; scientific rational basis for being moral, ethical and humane - or not? God-free spirituality and morality - that is what science is all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moral Landscape
Moral Landscape by Sam Harris (Paperback - 5 Oct. 2010)
Used & New from: £17.81
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews