Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can I? Yes. No. Sometimes. Sort of...
This is an excellent take on the current fashion for zombie literature, and easily the most fun book I've bought for a long time. It runs in the same vein as Max Brooks' The Zombie Survival Guide - subtly tongue-in-cheek, laughing at itself while it pretends to be serious. Ignore the misconceptions of some other reviewers. They're right, but they miss the point by a mile...
Published on 3 Jan 2012 by IllBeatz

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of fun
With my current obsession with zombie fiction a friend bought me this for my birthday. It is an interesting concept. I loved the idea of making your own choices, especially as so often when reading a zombie book you end up screaming at the page Nooooo don't do it, don't go in there! Or something similar. Generally this book works quite well, you read a few pages and then...
Published on 29 May 2012 by Ms. J. Clarke


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can I? Yes. No. Sometimes. Sort of..., 3 Jan 2012
This review is from: Can You Survive the Zombie Apocalypse? (Paperback)
This is an excellent take on the current fashion for zombie literature, and easily the most fun book I've bought for a long time. It runs in the same vein as Max Brooks' The Zombie Survival Guide - subtly tongue-in-cheek, laughing at itself while it pretends to be serious. Ignore the misconceptions of some other reviewers. They're right, but they miss the point by a mile. It's true, 'Can You Survive...' is not a serious choose-your-own-adventure book, if that's not an oxymoron in itself. There is no one real ending, so you can't complete it, and there is no combat system for you to completely ignore. Neither is it a genuine benchmark for your ability to actually survive the inevitable zombie apocalypse, and confirm the expertise you've gained from countless hours of watching zombie films and arguing in the comments sections of various websites.

What it is, is an excellent excuse for Max Brallier to write several dozen mini-stories, jam-packed with pop culture references and light-hearted gore. It's full of contemporary brands and is refreshingly up-to-date with many popular fashions and politics, giving it a fresh, modern feel, again not dissimilar to Max Brooks' follow-up World War Z. You can't turn a page without coming across samurai strippers, comic-con cosplay nerds, ninja museum curators, mini-gun wielding Hells' Angels, zombie-fooling Zombie Walkers... You kill zombies with flame-throwers, Weed Whackers, snow-ploughs, turntables, morning stars, pool cues, sniper rifles, fire axes, and in one memorable branch of the story, an original NES console, using the Contra code.

You won't spend four hours reading this book in one sitting. But you will sit down twenty times and spend twenty minutes reading it - on the toilet, probably, but trains, waiting rooms and staff canteens are also options. If you buy this and then complain about the lack of options and control, then you've probably bought a book by accident, when you were looking for a video game. Otherwise, if you have even the smallest interest in zombies - and since you're reading this on the internet, that's pretty much a given - and a sense of humour - and since you're reading this on the internet, that's probably about fifty-fifty - buy this book. It's awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of fun, 29 May 2012
By 
This review is from: Can You Survive the Zombie Apocalypse? (Paperback)
With my current obsession with zombie fiction a friend bought me this for my birthday. It is an interesting concept. I loved the idea of making your own choices, especially as so often when reading a zombie book you end up screaming at the page Nooooo don't do it, don't go in there! Or something similar. Generally this book works quite well, you read a few pages and then it gives you 2 or 3 options of what you want to do, sometimes it just sends you on to another page, and you continue reading and making choices. Each choice will either take you further with the story, lead you to survival, lead to your death or lead to you becomming a zombie!

One issue I had was the main character whose viewpoint this is set on is male. I am not and it was annoying that at times I couldn't pretend the main character was me because of the obvious references to him being male, like references to a certain appendage, one I definitely do not have! I think it would have been better if the character was not written so obviously male, making it easier to pretend this person is you, but it didn't completely ruin it.

Sometimes you make a choice, knowing it to be very logical, and the outcome is just bizaare, something would happen that is so unpredictable and unlikely, but then I suppose this is a zombie story so what should we expect!

Overall I did enjoy this, its fun to try the different options and be "oh no I died" or "yay I survived!" Its something you can pick up and put down, its a bit of fun and not a proper novel so you don't get deep into the characters or anything. It is well written and fun, I guess thats the aim of it. If you are a zombie fan then this is well worth a read as long as you don't have massively high expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a new angle and it's worked!, 5 Aug 2011
This review is from: Can You Survive the Zombie Apocalypse? (Paperback)
I'm a huge fan of choose your own adventures, have been since I was a kid, I collect the Lone Wolf books and I recently bought a copy of DestinyQuest: The Legion of Shadow and I'd have to say this one fits in just right, they took a great scenario and put you amidst the madness.

I'd call it more of a 'Choose your own apocalypse'.

It's great fun and yes a lot of people may say that there are a lot of writers jumping on the zombie bandwagon but at least this covered something I personally haven't seen done yet.

Great work, great read and overall a fun little jaunt into an exciting scenario.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not As Expected, 29 Sep 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can You Survive the Zombie Apocalypse? (Paperback)
This book is what all Zombie Buffs have been waiting for, or so I thought. I remember The Lone Wolf series of books where you had a wide range of choices and a pretty good combat system. The main flaw with CYSTZA is your choices are severely limited, anyone who has watched more Zombie Films than is good for you and read Max Brooks manuals should be able to spend more than 20mins reading before they are dead, And some options have you finished in 5mins.Once you make a choice you can go down a road that you didn't want to as the author locks you into that path. I enjoyed it despite it's fault's although my Daughter enjoyed it more. Good buy for your Kids if they like horror novels. Ps it is a clever twist in one of the paths bringing ROMERO into it but almost blasphemy. Good try and I hope Mr BRAILER tries again but tweaks it a little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can You Survive the Zombie Apocalypse? (Paperback)
amazing book! has been enjoyed by me and many people!!!!
really good read and there are many different ways the book can go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good story wish there was more, 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can You Survive the Zombie Apocalypse? (Paperback)
Wish each alternate story was longer - but because it was a 'choose your own ending' book its understandable why it cannot be longer as the author would possibly have to write around 75 Novels worth! - because this book already has 75 endings!

Love the book as its fun and different from usual books. A wonderful read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much more, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can You Survive the Zombie Apocalypse? (Paperback)
When I first saw "Can You Survive The Zombie Apocalypse" I was so excited as I had been toying with the idea of writing my own for a while but had no idea where to start. CYSTZA started out strongly and you started to get behind "yourself" in the book but the problem is that as other people have pointed out, the choices leave the stories too short, it seems that you are given four or five at most at a time so no real development happened.

On top of this a lot of the choices seem like they were written by someone going through a midlife crises, you are constantly forced to make stupid decisions instead of trying to survive, I get that this is to add a little bit of fun in to the book but it just comes off as immature, why would you sit down and watch a strip show or do heroin...it made no sense.

Overall, it could have been so much more and has inspired me to try and write mine...there won't be any strippers in mine though, sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars it was ok, 15 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can You Survive the Zombie Apocalypse? (Paperback)
I liked the thought of this book and looked forward to reading it but i found that the storys ended far to easy and left me wanting more. There seems to be so many pages to this book that i did not even scratch the suface. I must have restarted reading this book a good 30 times to try and get a good long story out of it but the longest i got was about 20 pages.

Good try could have been so much better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great idea, poor execution, 20 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can You Survive the Zombie Apocalypse? (Paperback)
The positives first: the concept is a great one. If you're into zombie fiction and ever read any kind of CYO adventure book, then this will appeal massively. Another positive point is that the book is actually good fun in places. It's written with tongue firmly in cheek and a good dose of humour. Some of the characters are enjoyable and some of teh set pieces you find oyurself in are memorable. For these points, two stars.

However, there is a major nagative for me. It seems to me that whichever path you choose, the story ends far too quickly. When I've read this kind of book in the past, you make choices that lead you onto the next stage of the story, and you are then confronted with another dilemma, which leads you on and so forth. You build your own story, and that story can be legnthy if the choices you make are the "right" ones. In this book, each path you choose lasts on average another 2 or 3 choices, then you're dead or rescued. That's it; all over and start again. In addition, some of the consequences of your choices just don't make much sense, so you may as well just not think about it, shut your eyes and stick a pin in the page to decide your next move.

It's simply not been well thought out. However, I salute the idea, the design and some of the writing. The execution, sadly, lets it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bought on behalf of daughter, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can You Survive the Zombie Apocalypse? (Paperback)
As before have order this on behalf of daughter who does not have an Amazon account. She seems pleased with it and is holding it back for later in the year to give as a present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Can You Survive the Zombie Apocalypse?
Can You Survive the Zombie Apocalypse? by Max Brallier (Paperback - 12 Feb 2011)
£7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews