Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent holiday read
I was so excited about the next installment of the Immortals After Dark series and I have to say 'Untouchable' by Kresley Cole did not disappoint. Kresley manages to make Murdoch the player sweetly sexy, and Daniela's character one emphasises with (which is pretty impressive I initially thought I'd be thinking "shut up wingeing about not being able to make skin...
Published on 26 Dec 2009 by Ms. C. M. Hughes

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Depends what you like...
I think the Immortal After Dark series is amazing, and was really looking forward to this one, but I found that for me personally, I just couldn't warm to Murdoch and so didn't enjoy it overall as much.

This could well be because I have already given my heart to Sebastian (as soon as he dumps Kaderin natch), but I just found Murdoch annoying and seriously...
Published on 19 Nov 2009 by Lady Amalthea


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent holiday read, 26 Dec 2009
By 
Ms. C. M. Hughes (shropshire uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was so excited about the next installment of the Immortals After Dark series and I have to say 'Untouchable' by Kresley Cole did not disappoint. Kresley manages to make Murdoch the player sweetly sexy, and Daniela's character one emphasises with (which is pretty impressive I initially thought I'd be thinking "shut up wingeing about not being able to make skin contact-miserable cow")I found the plot well thought out- throughout the story I had no idea how it was going to end; furthermore the conclusion was one which satisfied without having to rely on some random act of luck/wizardry etc. My personal highlight was how the romance developed- many of the sexy scenes are implicit or rather imaginative. Before reading this story I had had a long break from Cole and I had forgotton how genuinely refreshing it is to have female characters (including main leads) who truly kick arse. Go team. I am not sure about this as a stand alone if you are intending on reading the series do start at the beginning- 'Untouchable' will give too much away of a couple of the other stories which benefitted much from Murdoch's air of mystique.

Now onto Showalter- this was my first taste of Alien Huntress series and it did seem to work well as a stand alone. I did find this read very entertaining, however I just could not buy into the plotline- it felt a little "oh come off it". For anyone new to Showalter try the Lords of the Underworld series- and yes I know "you can believe in demons but not aliens?" is a little hypocritical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Depends what you like..., 19 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think the Immortal After Dark series is amazing, and was really looking forward to this one, but I found that for me personally, I just couldn't warm to Murdoch and so didn't enjoy it overall as much.

This could well be because I have already given my heart to Sebastian (as soon as he dumps Kaderin natch), but I just found Murdoch annoying and seriously lacking in charm. The heroines story was interesting, as she is not able to stand the touch of anyone outside her own species.

Overall though, I found this story less exciting than others in that, for the most part, there were certain events I was already expecting to happen. I know, I know, different point of view rah rah rah. Like I said, it depends on what you like. It just felt like Murdoch was slotted into the lives of his three more interesting and engaging brothers to me (where as the other brothers did not suffer this fate. Completeness I suppose). I don't think it would detract from my collection to not keep this one, though I am still waiting to see what happens to Lucia and Garreth regardless.

As far as the Alien Huntress novel goes, I am not an alien romance fan. It just doesn't sit well in my fantasy world. As such, I had no idea who was who when I read this story. I did read Dervyn and Brides story to try and make sense of this one with it, but am still not involved in what was going on. Regardless, I enjoyed the humour and interaction between the characters, on balance enjoyed the development of this romance far more.

I think I should have waited for the paperback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two great series continue......, 18 Oct 2009
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Writing buddies KC and GW contribute to this two story "anthology". These two authors prove why they are both currently so popular in the fantasy romance genre; however whilst GW's story is very good, KC's offering is fantastic.

Untouchable by Kresley Cole
Although a valkyrie Daniela the Ice Maiden is unable to tolerate the touch of any but her own kind; which proves somewhat annoying that the Ice Fae (Icere) are so intent on killing her. Murdoch Wroth believes fate must be laughing at him. A notorious womaniser prior to his turning, this vampire has spent over three centuries celibate; unable to become aroused until meeting his Bride. Yet who has heard of a vampire with a Bride he is unable to touch, a woman unable to touch him in return and sate the lust she has aroused?

I liked that this book spans a time period which incorporates events that occur in the first four books of this series and also the short story (and official start of the IAD series) found in the anthology "Playing Easy To Get". The unlikely union of ice maiden/valkyrie and vampire blooms whilst Myst is captured by her own vampire, Emmy is hunted, Karedin takes part in a deadly competition, Mariketa the Awaited comes into her monumental power and another of Murdoch's brothers falls in love with a ghost.

This short story is definitely on par with the other full length novels found in the "Immortal After Dark " series with all the entertaining elements expected from this author; sharp verbal sparring, battles aplenty and some hot nekked action. 5 stars

Tempt Me Eternally by Gena Showalter
AIR agent Macy, aka Aleaha Love; the shape shifter able to assume the form of anyone she touches makes her first (but brief) appearance in book 4 of this series "Seduce the Darkness" (although this book starts prior to the events which take place in book 4). As part of the AIR team assigned to track a group of aliens arriving on Earth, Aleaha is way out of her league; having only recently assumed Macy's face and life but obviously lacks the training.

The enemy she and her team face are not the expected Schön but a group of Rakan; a golden race universally believed to be peaceful (well that is until they start killing AIR agents). The Rakan prove far more aggressive than assumed; whilst their leader Breean is positively predatory, going as far to claim Aleaha as his victor's prize.

I enjoyed this short story but throughout it I couldn't understand why GW didn't include Eden, the Raka female lead from "Enslave Me Sweetly". So despite the action and passion plus the significant presence of other AIR agents in this story, I found myself wondering at odd moments why Eden wasn't involved in the plot line at all. 4 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars an interesting read, 11 Nov 2010
By 
Deep Kiss of Winter is an interesting read, containing two almost full length stories from Kresley Cole (Immortals after Dark) and Gena Showalter (Alien Huntress series). Two of my favorite authors in one package. This time, however, my joy was diminished by the disappointment I experienced reading one of these stories.
Kresley Cole's Untouchable proved to be entertaining, sensual and able to move me. Not to mention raise the room temperature. It is a great addition to the IAD series finally giving us an opportunity to find out more about the last of the Wroth brothers - Murdoch and his destined Bride Daniela, the Ice Queen.
And what a pair they make. A rake, who used to seduce and leave women and a beauty, his heart starts to beat once again for, but cannot be touched. The irony of life. Fate has certainly played a trick on Murdoch and enriched the story with interesting twists.
As for the characters themselves - simply adored them. It was entertaining to watch as a true Casanova with apparent issues of commitment was turned into a babbling oaf at the mere sight of her. Or how Danii's uniqueness set her apart from other Valkyrie.I loved the vulnerability in this strong female. The part where she secretly wishes for him to be an arrogant, possessive Neanderthal and state his claim over her, touched my heart, even though it is something I could rarely bare earlier. At the first sign of a hero trying his domineering tripe, I'd immediately want the heroine to bring him to his knees.
Untouchable, however, made it work beautifully. Showing us both, strengths and vulnerabilities of the characters, letting us feel the passion boiling just beneath the surface.
Now the other part of Deep Kiss of Winter, Tempt Me Eternally, is actually another story. Meaning, I never thought I would say this about Gena Showalter, but she disappointed me.
The storyline, even romance was overshadowed by constant physical needs and the mindless dialogs between Aleaha and Breean. The first capture scene seemed to be going on for ages with it's annoying banter repeating the same "let me go" and "no" words. Irritating me to the point where I had actually closed the book and resumed reading only the next day (something that had never happened to me with G. Showalter's books before).
Another thing to turn me off was Aleaha's and Breean's sex scenes. Strange, since I like erotic, steamy encounters. Tempt Me Eternally, however, was bordering the line of porn. Leaving nothing for imagination and describing every raw detail there was to describe. I didn't feel any anticipation, or sexual tension. Found myself even skipping pages, looking for something interesting. Unfortunately, nothing grabbed my attention. At least not in a way it should have. It only managed to irritate me further.
Couldn't even find anything heroic about Breean. He was simply a powerful, stubborn male. And the heroine - a weak female to melt at every right word. It was ridiculous how her opinions changed, how from arguing with him one moment she ended up sympathizing the next only because he revealed an awful fact about his family. Suddenly the fact that he kidnapped her and kept her friend locked away - irrelevant.
But reading lines like, "I really am a monster (...) He'd only given her joy, and this is how she repaid him." was the last straw. In what alternate reality kidnapping a woman and her friends, even killing a few of those, locking them in a cell and making her a sex slave (cause I wouldn't call it any other name), no matter how gorgeous the man is, or how much pleasure he gives her in bed, is considered normal? Just because it is not technically a rape (the potent scent he generates to arouse her I could compare with drugging, thus the victim is influenced and not thinking straight), doesn't mean it is something admirable.
If this is not a Stockholm syndrome, then I have no idea what that is.
And for the end I would only wish to say, that Tempt Me Eternally was resolved so quickly and simply, it didn't seem the story had a real climax. But even though it failed to charm me, Deep Kiss of Winter is worth the time simply because of Kresley Cole's exhilarating Untouchable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These books were amazing to read and i couldnt put it down until both of them were read. Gena Showalter and Kresley Cole are both amazing authors and both these books lived up to there respective series. Would recommend to anyone who enjoys a good read!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love in the cold, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read every single one of this series and love every single one including this one. I couldn't work out how they were going to get together even with the clues but I loved this little bit of story which wasn't quite so envolved in the others and about a people you don't hear about although I thought that bit could have done with a little extra. I still really loved it and can't wait for the the next one. I love Nix - when is she getting a guy :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 18 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Kiss of Winter (Immortals After Dark 8) (Mass Market Paperback)
I Love Kresley Cole 's Books and this is no different.
I had never heard of Gerb Srovoilter but will look out for more of her writings, very sexy and enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ahhhhh, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Kiss of Winter (Immortals After Dark 8) (Mass Market Paperback)
Okay so I brought this book solely for kresley coles story as I've got all the other I.A.D books I had to have this one.
I do wish it wasn't two books inside one as it does sorta screw up my book shelf system but I think i'll survive.

Deep kiss of winter:
Love it, thought this was a good addition to the rest of the series, not the strongest of them but still a good read regardless.

Tempt me eternally:
I did really enjoy this. I know it wasn't the first of its own series but whilst reading it I didn't feel as if I was missing anything crucial.
I really enjoyed it, I've now got the rest of the series ordered and cant wait to read them in order.

Both these ladies are awesome and definitely worth buying you just get absorbed into these fantasy worlds and I really struggle to put the books down and actually get some sleep!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Kiss of Winter (Immortals After Dark 8) (Mass Market Paperback)
i love this book, but as with every kresley cole book you dont want it to end! i can read them for hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Again written expertly, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Kiss of Winter (Immortals After Dark 8) (Mass Market Paperback)
I love this series finding it by accident and can not wait for the next. A brilliant read on a cold winters night in front of the fire, Kresleys writing has you there in the ice and snow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6675f54)

This product

Deep Kiss of Winter (Immortals After Dark 8)
Deep Kiss of Winter (Immortals After Dark 8) by Gena Showalter (Mass Market Paperback - 10 Jan 2011)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews