Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent fantasy/thriller
I loved this book. The writing is excellent, characters are well developed and believable and story lines keep you gripped and wanting more. The writing style was reminiscent of Dean Koontz (if Koontz did fantasy) and it was free!!! I cant wait for the next one and cant give enough praise to this writer. Please read this book.
Published on 10 Jun 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice read, but could have been better
Interesting to read but lacked excitement which it should have had. Also tended to veer into directions that were unnecessary to the narrative or the plot. Need to link events in the whole story better. I gave it three stars because of the writers imagination.

As with most of the author's books, the concepts and ideas are great. However, there is a lack of...
Published 22 months ago by Adi


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not sure about this one, 10 Aug 2013
This review is from: Dark Earth (Kindle Edition)
Hmm. Don't think this really lived up to expectations. The plot idea is a reasonable one but the writing is a bit basic so that the characters and descriptions aren't strong enough to carry the storyline and maintain the reader's attention. Consequently, I didn't finish the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice read, but could have been better, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Earth (Kindle Edition)
Interesting to read but lacked excitement which it should have had. Also tended to veer into directions that were unnecessary to the narrative or the plot. Need to link events in the whole story better. I gave it three stars because of the writers imagination.

As with most of the author's books, the concepts and ideas are great. However, there is a lack of depth, lots of grammatical errors. I think the author needs to learn to create suspense, build up sub plots, and link events to the main theme (or give clues at least) and not write from the head. Due to this I would not pay to read this but I think his work would be bestsellers if he went down the publishing route and had his work properly proof read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Average, 27 Aug 2012
By 
P. E. Hayden - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Earth (Kindle Edition)
The story was ok but it was only the first half of an unfinished tale. The book needs some serious editing and is full of grammatical mistakes. I become bored with the weak characters... even the villain was meh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent fantasy/thriller, 10 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Earth (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book. The writing is excellent, characters are well developed and believable and story lines keep you gripped and wanting more. The writing style was reminiscent of Dean Koontz (if Koontz did fantasy) and it was free!!! I cant wait for the next one and cant give enough praise to this writer. Please read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family is all that matters., 11 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Earth (Kindle Edition)
Dark Earth is the first in a series of books by Jason Halstead which deals with an alternate Earth one in which technology beyond the dark ages doesn't exist yet magic wraps itself around the people (mainly women) of this feudal society. In times past "bridges" existed between the two worlds allowing people to cross bringing ideas and endeavours to bare leading to some dark times mainly for the Earth we know as the other is intent on projecting it's own brutal culture onto ours.
Tragedy struck Eric and Karen Baxter on a snow filled road when they were hit buy a truck, their child Jessica was born from the last heart beats of her mother but Eric and his daughter thrived over the years. Then out of the blue events once again conspired to bring heartache into the Baxter family and things were never the same again in fact that is putting it mildly.
Dark Earth at it's core is a fairly straight forward story and that's fine, there are no unnecessary threads or chapters for the sake of them and the story sticks to what is important to tell the tale of Jessica and her father and how they learn of their history and the fate they can not avoid. The story can easily be divided into two elements and both are interesting but it's the latter where the fantasy/magic get spun up and opens up the novel to a lot more creativity and for the more interesting and surprising aspects of the story occur.
Dark Earth can be enjoyed by a wide range of ages, it lacks some of the more mature elements The Lost Girls (the second Dark Earth novel) has and in that respect feels like a very different book and maybe if you like one you wouldn't like the other. Either way despite the book not being overly long it's tells it's story well and you should have fun reading it and hoping this particular branch of the series is continued.
The Lost Girls (Dark Earth)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dark Earth, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Earth (Kindle Edition)
This book is written well within the boundaries of Fantasy; we have wardens, werewolves, witches, evil Lords, misguided assassins - you name it. The story is evenly paced and entertaining. The rapport and repartee between father and daughter is especially fun to read. The character development is steady as father and daughter learn more about each other and the "gifts" they possess.

First in a series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining read, 23 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Earth (Kindle Edition)
Had previously read Voidhawk by this author so i thought i'd give this a try. It was slow to start but once it got into the story i enjoyed the story and look forward to the rest of the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, 22 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Earth (Kindle Edition)
This book was dreadful. I didn't make it to the end. (Made a valiant attempt to keep going, but in the end life was too short.) Obviously, it is necessary to suspend disbelief with most fiction, but this was just ridiculous. Would normally say something about the plot here and explain why it was so bad, but I really can't be bothered - it's not worth it. Verdict: don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dark earth book 1, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Earth (Kindle Edition)
I would recommend this book to everyone as it has such a quality that draws you into it whilst your reading and before you know the book is finished and has left you wanting more.

The journey the author takes you on awakens all your senses absolutely amazing......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Earth (Kindle Edition)
Got into the book could not stop until I read the whole thing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Earth
Dark Earth by Jason Halstead (Paperback - 22 Mar 2010)
£5.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews