Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Life of St. Paul (Classic Reprint)
This was probably one of those 'life changing' reads that I have had. I had not realised just what a life changing experience St Paul had had, nor the torments, beatings, stoning and other traumatic events, including his own death, he had experienced to promote a person he had never met. What was of most interest to me was that had it not been for St Paul Christianity...
Published on 30 Nov. 2011 by Bill

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Unsatisfactory because it never strays from the New Testament as its only source.
As a historical account of Paul's life, this doesn't meet the more rigorous standards we expect today as compared with 100 years ago. In particular, there is no serious discussion of whether Paul was really the author of all the Epistles, what might have actually occurred on the road to Damascus, and the precise circumstances of his death.
Published 7 months ago by Tony Barber


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Life of St. Paul (Classic Reprint), 30 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life of St. Paul (Classic Reprint) (Paperback)
This was probably one of those 'life changing' reads that I have had. I had not realised just what a life changing experience St Paul had had, nor the torments, beatings, stoning and other traumatic events, including his own death, he had experienced to promote a person he had never met. What was of most interest to me was that had it not been for St Paul Christianity would not have survived as it was only he that promoted that both the gentiles and jews could worship as one faith; many of the apostles and especially James were of the view that unless you were circumcised you could not be part of the faith.
This was a most valuable and easy read and one I would recommend to everyone, if only for seeing what faith can achieve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Life of Paul, 9 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I became interested in the life of Paul after a recent visit to Corinth and Athens. This book is full of information and easy to read. It's layout, in small sections makes it easy to use, making picking it up again possible without having to flick through what you read last time to be able to pick up where you left off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Unsatisfactory because it never strays from the New Testament as its only source., 13 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a historical account of Paul's life, this doesn't meet the more rigorous standards we expect today as compared with 100 years ago. In particular, there is no serious discussion of whether Paul was really the author of all the Epistles, what might have actually occurred on the road to Damascus, and the precise circumstances of his death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bought for BIble study on St. Paul, 26 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy to read but can go the long way round to make a point. Still found it useful and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 14 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The preciousness of the product is due by the author. It was an online purchase so no problem at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars st paul, 8 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was great and I used it to dip into it was a fasinating story and great to use on the kindle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Review, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well structured insight into the life of the apostle Paul. Much research provides a comprehensive view of the period in which Paul lived and spread the gospel. However the language and phraseology used is, at times, so ornate as to seriously detract from the text. A much more straightforward text would have enhanced (although likely shortened) the book. No-one speaks or thinks as this book reads and this made it overly verbose bordering on comical in parts. Worth sticking with and reading though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the film, 27 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a great work... I got it after seeing the movie trailers so as to discover whether I would fancy the movie, and found the book enthralling. It takes a few pages to pick up and one needs to get used to the style of "reporting" in italicised print here and there, but when it starts making sense, it is quite captivating. And I do like the fact it is more ambiguous than the film at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic confabulation!, 19 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I suppose this is a book of its time - about 100 years ago. The author's claim to know the mind of Paul (and for that matter Jesus) seems to me to be absolutely blasphemous. Until now I didn't believe in blasphemy, but maybe I do now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Life of St. Paul (Classic Reprint)
The Life of St. Paul (Classic Reprint) by James Stalker (Paperback - 30 July 2012)
£6.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews