Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars12
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.17+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 November 2011
This was probably one of those 'life changing' reads that I have had. I had not realised just what a life changing experience St Paul had had, nor the torments, beatings, stoning and other traumatic events, including his own death, he had experienced to promote a person he had never met. What was of most interest to me was that had it not been for St Paul Christianity would not have survived as it was only he that promoted that both the gentiles and jews could worship as one faith; many of the apostles and especially James were of the view that unless you were circumcised you could not be part of the faith.
This was a most valuable and easy read and one I would recommend to everyone, if only for seeing what faith can achieve.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2012
I became interested in the life of Paul after a recent visit to Corinth and Athens. This book is full of information and easy to read. It's layout, in small sections makes it easy to use, making picking it up again possible without having to flick through what you read last time to be able to pick up where you left off.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2013
A well structured insight into the life of the apostle Paul. Much research provides a comprehensive view of the period in which Paul lived and spread the gospel. However the language and phraseology used is, at times, so ornate as to seriously detract from the text. A much more straightforward text would have enhanced (although likely shortened) the book. No-one speaks or thinks as this book reads and this made it overly verbose bordering on comical in parts. Worth sticking with and reading though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
It's a great work... I got it after seeing the movie trailers so as to discover whether I would fancy the movie, and found the book enthralling. It takes a few pages to pick up and one needs to get used to the style of "reporting" in italicised print here and there, but when it starts making sense, it is quite captivating. And I do like the fact it is more ambiguous than the film at the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2014
As a historical account of Paul's life, this doesn't meet the more rigorous standards we expect today as compared with 100 years ago. In particular, there is no serious discussion of whether Paul was really the author of all the Epistles, what might have actually occurred on the road to Damascus, and the precise circumstances of his death.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
The preciousness of the product is due by the author. It was an online purchase so no problem at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2014
Easy to read but can go the long way round to make a point. Still found it useful and informative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
This was great and I used it to dip into it was a fasinating story and great to use on the kindle
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2016
What a wonderful look at Paul's life, a must for everyone with a serious Christian faith
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2016
present. no complaints so 5 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)