Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for all coaches - one of the bibles of S&C coaching., 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Essential reading for all coaches.
This book has raised the bar & set the standard for future coaching resources.
The list of contributing authors reads like a 'who's who' of performance coaches - and their contributions align with their reputations & track records.
Each chapter provides a wealth of knowledge & rich information which can be applied on a daily basis by coaches. This is one of the strongest features of this book, it's not purely academic, it is valuable practical resource.
Personally I have never highlighted so much content within one book.
I cannot recommend this book highly enough for any one who coaches or works with performance athletes.
You cannot put a price on the quality of the information contained in this book, it simply is invaluable.
I have already recommended it to my fellow coaches - and I will continue to do,so to,as many people as possible.
The more coaches who read, learn & apply the knowledge in this book the better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now That's What I call Strength & Conditioning!, 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High-Performance Training for Sports (Paperback)
High-Performance Training for Sports is an edited text that brings together a wide range of experienced practitioners, researchers, and coaches to create one of the most authoritative and useable texts on the subject so far. In addition to the 2 lead authors there are contributions from around 30 authors including such luminaries as Mark Verstegen, Frans Bosch, Mike McGuigan, Rhodri Lloyd, Darren Burgess, Jeremy Sheppard, Greg Haff and Liam Kilduff. Many chapters also contain an additional “coach’s insight” from a range of the world’s top conditioning coaches that contain the sort of personal perspectives that one normally only finds at workshops and conventions. There are many good chapters and after an initial reading I'm looking forward to revisiting “Fine-tuning motor control” by Frans Bosch, and “Maintaining an in-season conditioning edge” by Stuart Yule where he presents 10 critical in-season training philosophies.

The book is divided into 3 sections; Building Robust Athletes, Developing Athletic Capacity and Delivering Performance and is similar to last year’s excellent spinal rehabilitation text by Hodges, Cholewecki and McGill. It is a rare book that is able to bring together so many experts who can then write with such openness, passion and insight. The advice is based on robust scientific findings and insight drawn from applied experience and the balance between the two is as it should be. I find it disappointing to hear people in the field create a false division between academic researchers and in-the-field practitioners as the best of each discipline will not only draw on the experiences of the other but will actually be working in both fields to some degree. This book is a fine example of how various parts of the researcher-practitioner spectrum can be consolidated to the greater good of the field.

Many books can have the feel of many of the albums I have bought over the years, two good tracks and the rest are a load of fillers. This text is more of a Greatest Hits or a compilation...Now That's What I Call Strength & Conditioning. It could well become one of the go-to texts in Strength & Conditioning as the balance of evidence based advice and practical insight is presented in such depth and with such clarity while each chapter still manages to maintain the personality and style of the author. Look into the future and I can see my copy of HPTFS being battered and scribbled all over and I look forward to that time as I will hopefully be all the wiser for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an excellent book. It provides insights from some of the ..., 17 July 2014
This review is from: High-Performance Training for Sports (Paperback)
This is an excellent book. It provides insights from some of the leading names in the sports science world, be they coaches, physiotherapists, or physiologists.

The book is split into three main sections; Building Robust Athletes, Developing Athletics Capacity, and Delivering Performance. The Robust Athlete section contains information about evaluating athletics capacities, developing younger athletes, flexibility, movememnt efficiency, monitoring, and rehabilitation. The section on Athletic Capacity discusses warm ups and cool downs, speed training, jump training, agility, anaerobic power and endurance. Finally, the section on Delivering Performance looks at planning training programmes, covering pre-season and in-season training, peaking and tapering strategies, and effective recovery.

If you work within the fitness sector, as an athlete, coach, trainer, physio or sport science support staff, there is something for you in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The snippets of wisdom are really good additions because they are normally the questions that get ..., 24 Sep 2014
This review is from: High-Performance Training for Sports (Paperback)
I am really impressed with the simplicity of the text to understand, the pictures, tables and figures used to demonstrate processes. The snippets of wisdom are really good additions because they are normally the questions that get asked. I gave this to a student that was struggling to understand how to put all the little things together to generate a performance programme, to make it meaningful. I think things finally clicked when reading this, which is always the best moments when student’s light bulbs come on. This is definitely the best book I have seen covering high-performance training, future bible text I believe for understanding how everything goes together (applied).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book covering a huge amount of important areas on ..., 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High-Performance Training for Sports (Paperback)
A great book covering a huge amount of important areas on performance. Well written and presented.
The authors are leading in their field so where better to turn? As an athlete I believe it will really help to improve my personal performance. I look forward to putting the book to work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended for coaches working at all levels!, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book gives real world, adaptable solutions to problems faced by guys working in the industry. The list of contributors speak for themselves and I couldn't recommend this book highly enough. The chapters by Stuart Yule and Frans Bosch were of particular interest to me but each chapter will tick a box when it comes to challenges faced by coaches working with athletes. The language used is very practical and understandable, not a showcase to demonstrate how clever the contributors are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best athletic development book I've had the privilege of reading ..., 27 Sep 2014
This is the best athletic development book I've had the privilege of reading in recent times.
The line-up that the editors have put together is second to none and the info is real world, applied knowledge as opposed to purely theoretical which many textbooks offer.
As a performance coach it's a must read text and something that you need to have around you to dip into at all times.
Really impressed, and looking forward to the next one from David and his team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very easy read and written in such a way as anyone ..., 27 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High-Performance Training for Sports (Paperback)
As an amateur sportsman keen to improve I've found the theory and insights provided by some of the worlds top coaches and sports professionals (I must admit i had to google some names) in this book absolutely superb. I've already used some tips within the book to enhance my performance on the field. Very easy read and written in such a way as anyone can understand. I would highly recommend this book for all sports enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very impressed with this book., 29 Oct 2014
By 
Colin Browning (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High-Performance Training for Sports (Paperback)
All I can do is echo all the other 5 star reviews left before.
I work full time as a personal trainer and sports conditioning course so am always on the look out for relevant books. This is one of the best.
It covers a wide range of topics, allowing a coach to examine many aspects of performance.
The book isn't aimed at the casual gym goer, you will need to understand the concepts and terms used. But if you do have the underlying knowledge, you will find this book very helpful.
I can thoroughly recommend this book to those looking to add to their sports conditioning knowledge base.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Buy!, 25 July 2014
Fantastic book, covers all the key aspect in Elite Sports. All the contributors to the book are well selected with outstanding reputations and offer comprehensive practical tips, applying the research to working with Elite Athletes. A must read for anyone who works in Elite sport whether Physio, S&C coach or Athletic trainer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

High-Performance Training for Sports
High-Performance Training for Sports by Daniel Lewindon (Paperback - 15 July 2014)
£15.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews