Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIghly Recommended
I am very impressed what is inside the books when it comes to presentation and illustrations. So impressed that I recommended to the people I met in the gym.
Published 7 months ago by Melanie Hewish

versus
10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible
Basic isn't even the word for this book. Simple exercises are either omitted or misrepresented, while advanced exercises are entirely absent. A *couple* of decent core exercises are included, but with no clear path set as to how to achieve them.

Bret Contreras should have known better than to write this book. This isn't his field of expertise, and he has...
Published 7 months ago by Connor


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIghly Recommended, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bodyweight Strength Training Anatomy (Paperback)
I am very impressed what is inside the books when it comes to presentation and illustrations. So impressed that I recommended to the people I met in the gym.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bodyweight strength, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best book of its type I have read. Very clear with excellent diagrams. I will use these exercises at home and on my travels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read!, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bodyweight Strength Training Anatomy (Paperback)
Great read, well laid out, very informative, descriptive. Highly recommend this book to anyone and everyone. Especially those who don't want to fork out for huge monthly gym subscriptions. I use many many many of these workouts in my daily routines now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bodyweight Strength Training Anatomy (Paperback)
I finally found the book on which you can practice at home, you do not need equipment, gym and special-purpose furniture.Exercises are super described visualize which muscles are working during exercise which is very important for the proper execution of exercises
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 28 Dec 2013
This review is from: Bodyweight Strength Training Anatomy (Paperback)
This book has everything I expected and much more!
Detailed exercise descriptions, muscles used, progressions, energy systems and lots of really good exercises and tips by the author himself.
This makes a great database of exercises which will help me training my clients!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect anatomy guide, 23 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bodyweight Strength Training Anatomy (Paperback)
Excellent book. Recommend this to anyone that is into body weight fitness. The book throughout has pictures of what muscles are used during what exercise which is really helpful when planning a routine and aiming to hit a certain body part. It also has help on creating a workout routine and schedule plus has a exercise difficulty guide so you can plan a progression. It's a must have book in my opinion. Combine this with convict conditioning and your laughing. The book is just like bodyweight training, convenient, useful, progressive and fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Save on your gym bill with this very concise d.i.y workout book for building a stronger body.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very concise and very good diagrams., 2 July 2014
By 
Mr. Cb Walker "moon" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bodyweight Strength Training Anatomy (Paperback)
Detailed in all the right areas, very concise and very good diagrams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive, useful, well written, authoritative, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
And I can see the pictures, even on my paper kindle (though better in colour on Android 'phone or PC, obviously).

Just what I was looking for. Quite a high price for a kindle book, but well worth it.

Will save that much in a few days once I have cancelled my gym membership!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More then just the Glutes guy, 6 Nov 2013
By 
K. G. A. Alavi (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book teaching to do the basic exercises properly. The illustrations are great about which exercise work which muscles. The exercises range from basic to advance. There is a meter at the top saying what lever the exercise is supposed to be set for.

One of the misconceptions I want to clear up. Yes we can all do press up, however as the author states there are dozens of variations of press up, a change as slight as changing from normal to knuckle press ups work different muscles. In this book Brent does give different variations (not every variant) ranging from popular to challenging. He does give a breakdown of how to work your way up to the Handstand press up by doing less challenging variants to strengthen muscles needed to pull the Handstand press up off. There are a lot of great tips like this to make body weight training more challenging either through repetitions, intensity, or by stringing different excises together.

He does give his advice into creating a personal training program, what to look for and what to try to avoid. Then he talks about exercises he recommends that work well together or complement each other; especially in the total body workout section.

The largest section of the book is devoted to legs which does make sense as they are the biggest, and a core muscle groups; also in keeping with his reputation as the "Glutes guy". He does talk about the whole leg including the calf muscles, to the Glutes and everything in between. He does mention about joint safety and personal differences in body types and genetics. He talk about safety being first, but he does also recommend many exercises where people pull ups under tables or door frames. Maybe there are studier tables in America, but these exercise do not really appeal to me personally. I would recommend getting a pull up bar rather than this. I fairness he do say this as well if you are not happy with the sturdiness for the equipment you are using.

This book is great for anyone looking to train from home, if you are a specialised athlete and looking for a book improve you particular discipline this is probably not the best book, except learning through the illustrations to target specific muscles groups you might want to improve on. Having said that a number of gyms I have been in recent have been setting aside larger areas for functional or bodyweight training, so the information in this is useful. I would mainly recommend this book for people like me who do not have as much time as we used to get to the gym and want to train from home, or people who want to improve their personal and functional fitness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bodyweight Strength Training Anatomy
Bodyweight Strength Training Anatomy by Bret Contreras (Paperback - 15 Nov 2013)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews