Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars35
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
27
4 star
8
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£15.58+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 April 2012
I purchased this book, having previously purchased other books by the author (as well as far too many other 'fitness' books!).

This book is really excellent!

It focuses on strength training ie working in the gym and using barbells/dumbells and cable machines. It does three things for me -
1. It compares the relative advantages and disadvantages of the three 'weights' above.
2. It shows how different parts of muscles can be better served by different exercises.
3. It very thoughtfully examines the pluses and minuses of different exercises especially with regard to both injury risk and the very different body shapes and genetics that we all have.

This book is probably not for the complete novice, but if you have been going to the gym for a couple of years and regularly use free weights, then you might find it very, very useful.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
You need to buy Vol 1 and read it before moving on to this one otherwise the cross references will not make sense to the reader. Highly recommend both books
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
I bought all 3 books of Frederic Delavier (STA, STA W, STA W2) so that i didnt miss any important info as im a beginner in terms of gym use and want to get the ideal body

I have quickly learnt the best methods of doing the exercise from these books and it shows in depth which muscle is being worked. This has been a bonus for me as i got the understanding to do the correct technique and know exactly what muscle is being worked. Im currently a gym member so when am working out not only do i perform my exercises better, i see other people making the same mistakes which i made.

Overall Great book and guide, shame that it is geared for using rubber bands and working out at home but still is easy enough to apply to the commercial gym environment and a good start for any beginner.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2012
most concise and up to date information todate, contains everything you need to know to succeed in strength training an must buy .
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
Great quality book and very detailed.
New info in there that even the professionals might not know!
A + + +
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2013
Easy reading and as expected, much better than the first one. Good info although the inclination is for isolation exercises. Could be more complete.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2013
As the title shows the author doesnt dissapoint great information and brilliant artistic diagrams as well as real life photos.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2012
I was impressed by the first volume, but this book takes the reader to an entirely new level. It provides a very detailed exploration into a wide range of areas within strength training / muscle building. Although there is a lot of information, it is presented in a style that is clear and engaging. This book is well suited to those (like myself) that enjoy regularly analysing their training; to maximise effectiveness for the time and work that you put in.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
Beautifully illustrated, in depth on many areas and a great follow up book. Perfect for quick reference into injuries and exercise tweeks. Whether your a PT, Studying for anatomy, PE course or just a gym rat looking for understanding of each exercise and how to hit all areas, this book will be a great addition to your arsenal.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
The information is really very good. I have exercised on many occasions lasting up to 6 weeks, but finding I burn myself out. After reading this I now realize the training routine I've been given at the gym by the trainers is not good and the cause of my failure. This book is worth its weight in gold in my opinion.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)