Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Would benefit from some anatomy knowledge prior to reading
This is not an introduction to anatomy. This is anatomy applied to yoga. It does cover the basic anatomical theory and terms used to describe the postures, including skeletal and muscular actions. However a prior understanding of the muscles; their names and perhaps how they are linked, would make sure you got the most out of this book book.

The revised edition...
Published on 10 Oct. 2012 by QS

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Was pleased with the speed of deelivery and the book would ...
Was pleased with the speed of deelivery and the book would of been in great condition had it not been for the 2 great stickers stuck on it informing me it had been used.
Clearly I was aware it was see econd hand as the price was so good and this is the selection I chose.
Published 4 months ago by Sarah Harrison


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Would benefit from some anatomy knowledge prior to reading, 10 Oct. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga Anatomy-2nd Edition (Paperback)
This is not an introduction to anatomy. This is anatomy applied to yoga. It does cover the basic anatomical theory and terms used to describe the postures, including skeletal and muscular actions. However a prior understanding of the muscles; their names and perhaps how they are linked, would make sure you got the most out of this book book.

The revised edition is clearer and better structured than the first edition.

INSIDE THE BOOK
The first 4 chapters cover:
-Beautiful introduction discussing how intrinsic the basic yogic concepts are in the body, before we even start asana.
-How breathing effects the shape of the body/spine and how this relates to yoga (why we inhale and exhale with certain movements).
-The spine including it's development and range of motion.
-The skeletal system including how to describe actions of the of the joints and bones.
-The muscular system including how to describe muscle contractions, briefly what are agonist-antagonist pairs, and a little about how flexibility and strength relate to the muscles.

The author relates everything to the basic concepts of yoga discussed at the beginning.
None of this is in depth, but enough to basically understand what is happening in each posture anatomically.

From chapter 5 it begins to apply this anatomy clearly and thoroughly to asana. The book does NOT cover the names of muscles but obviously, DOES use them. Previous knowledge or another book will be needed to understand the names of muscles and where the muscles are exactly.

For example: (view "look inside" to get a better idea)
"Concentric contraction. To stabilize and abduct shoulder joint: Rotator cuff, biceps brachii (long head), deltoid."
From the book you will understand what concentric contraction is and what abduct the shoulder means, i.e. you will understand how to describe the muscular and skeletal actions. However without prior knowledge, you won't find out what or where the rotator cuff, biceps brachii (long head) or deltoid are, or get an idea of how they are linked and work together. Some of the muscles are labeled in the images, but not all muscles involved are labelled, and not in all of the postures, and there's no specific section teaching muscle names or position.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See "Inside" Your Yoga Poses, 22 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Yoga Anatomy-2nd Edition (Paperback)
Yoga Anatomy is a book that gives the reader a look inside the human body as it is put in various yoga positions.

Chapter 1 covers the dynamics of breathing and actually covers some breathing physiology as well. Chapter 2 talks about the spine and gives some pretty detailed spinal information. Chapter 3 is short and covers the asanas.

The rest of the book, Chapters 4 through 9, make up the "meat" of the book and contains most of the anatomy information most readers probably bought the book for- what muscles are used in what poses. The way the book gives you the information is quite handy- it has a section on standing poses, sitting poses, kneeling poses, on-your-stomach poses, on-your-back poses, and arm supported poses. Sooo, all you have to do is pick a position/pose, and there you'll find pictures of what muscles are involved (and let me say, they show you some great angles of the poses to make sure the reader can see ALL the muscles that are involved). In addition to learing what muscles are involved, the book also tells you what joint actions are involved, as well as what body parts are working AND which ones are lengthening- neat!

A great reference book, its simply perfect for the yoga enthusiast that has become acquainted over time with muscles they never knew they had- but will now after reading this book! Also recommend The 5-Minute Plantar Fasciitis Solution if plantar fasciitis pain keeps you from doing your yoga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Detailed and useful book, 17 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga Anatomy-2nd Edition (Paperback)
I'm a yoga teacher and was looking for something to delve deeply into the anatomy of the postures. This book describes the anatomy beautifully and goes into detail. It's detailed but clear enough for a layperson like me to understand. I also found little Youtube links by the same author which give snippets about yoga anatomy. I'd highly recommend this book to yoga teacher and practitioners who want to look beneath the surface to see what is happening while moveing into and out of the yoga postures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new perspective on Yoga, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga Anatomy-2nd Edition (Paperback)
I like thinking about how my muscles are working or releasing when doing yoga and this books really helps with that. I have a new appreciation of my body as a result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very detailed, 21 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga Anatomy-2nd Edition (Paperback)
Extra-ordinary book - much more detailed than anything I have ever read before on the subject - covers both traditiona philosophy and modern insight into antomy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading, 11 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga Anatomy-2nd Edition (Paperback)
If you are interested in understanding yoga then this book is essential.you can return to time and time again. I started by getting this book from the library to see what all the fuss was about but found it was so helpful to my practise I had to have it.lovely to own . Clear concise and full of interesting information that you can refer to time and time again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 2 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga Anatomy-2nd Edition (Paperback)
This book explain perfectly what muscles work when you do yoga. It helps to understand how you should move in order to do the asana correctly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga Anatomy-2nd Edition (Paperback)
An excellent book to help you understand what you body is doing in all those postures. I practice Astanga and this has really helped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars in depth anatomy, 19 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga Anatomy-2nd Edition (Paperback)
Fantastic book for people like me who are fascinated by the whole anatomy side of yoga movement. Not an easy read for those who dont have a lot of general anatomical knowledge - i know bits but some is way over my head. Still a great book though, not the authors fault if readers like me struggle with all the muscle names etc! Great seeing the various poses broken down into muscular diagrams. Would definitely recommend to anyone with the slightest bit of interest in yoga and how and where the body moves in asana.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for yoga teachers & student teachers, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga Anatomy-2nd Edition (Paperback)
This book seems to be very useful and whilst I haven't had it long...am still browsing and dipping into it, I would think that it's a great book for yoga teachers/student teachers/serious students. Lots of useful information in the notes which accompany each posture.
The anatomical descriptions are thorough and you'd need to have some knowledge of anatomy to get the best from these, however they are not absolutely necessary as the 'notes' are very practical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yoga Anatomy-2nd Edition
Yoga Anatomy-2nd Edition by Amy Matthews (Paperback - 1 Nov. 2011)
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews