Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing and little known story
Very few people had heard of Clancy, including me, until a Dublin biker called Feargal O'Neill emailed me to tell me about him three years ago. Intrigued, I ordered a copy of Motorcycle Adventurer, and wasn't far into it when I thought it would be a brilliant idea to recreate Clancy's journey on the centenary. I got in touch with Dr Gregory Frazier, who apart from his own...
Published 12 months ago by Geoff Hill

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
It's an interesting book. Read it.
Published 5 months ago by adewilliams


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing and little known story, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorcycle Adventurer: Carl Stearns Clancy: First Motorcyclist To Ride Around The World 1912-1913 (Paperback)
Very few people had heard of Clancy, including me, until a Dublin biker called Feargal O'Neill emailed me to tell me about him three years ago. Intrigued, I ordered a copy of Motorcycle Adventurer, and wasn't far into it when I thought it would be a brilliant idea to recreate Clancy's journey on the centenary. I got in touch with Dr Gregory Frazier, who apart from his own legendary round the world motorbike adventurers, deserves enormous credit for spending 16 years digging up Clancy's original articles and photographs and turning them into Motorcycle Adventurer.
Through him, I tracked down the original boots Clancy had worn 100 years and took them around the world a second time, and they now rest in the National Motorcycle Museum of Iowa along with Clancy's papers, his pith helmet and the only original 1912 Henderson in the world.
As I stood there with Dr Frazier and looked at the bike Clancy had used, with its 7hp, one gear, no front brake and no suspension apart from a bicycle saddle, we marvelled at Clancy's courage in tackling his trip on such a machine.
It was a remarkable feat, and this book is a remarkable record of that feat. If you buy In Clancy's Boots, my book on the recreation of Clancy's journey, you must buy Motorcycle Adventurer, the book which inspired it.
In Clancy's Boots
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorcycle Adventurer: Carl Stearns Clancy: First Motorcyclist To Ride Around The World 1912-1913 (Paperback)
It's an interesting book. Read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars re motorcycle adventurer, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorcycle Adventurer: Carl Stearns Clancy: First Motorcyclist To Ride Around The World 1912-1913 (Paperback)
I am about a third into the book am enjoying it immensely. I am very happy with the purchase of this book. it is well written with a touch of humour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A look into the past, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great read, not just for the motorcycle fan but an amazing account of travel 100 years ago.
You should also read Geoff Hill's excellent book 'In Clancy's boots' which inspired me to get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well done Clancy., 15 Jan 2014
You feel the true grit & determination of a world travelling , motorcycling pioneer. A real insight into early motorised long distance travel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a boys own adventure, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a story from another time,a lesson in history and geography as it used to be...anyone (not just motorcyclists) with an interest in social history will love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well researched subject., 13 Jun 2013
By 
William J. Whyman (France ( South West)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorcycle Adventurer: Carl Stearns Clancy: First Motorcyclist To Ride Around The World 1912-1913 (Paperback)
For enthusiasts and participants in global motorcycle travel Dr Frazier is both well known and highly regarded. This volume about the first ever round the world ( RTW) trip by motorcycle is fascinating, and has obviously been well researched. For those who are out there doing it, or for the armchair enthusers, this has a rightful place in the bike pannier or on the shelf, along side other tales of early motorcycling pioneers like Theresa Wallach and Florence Blenkiron.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mmmm, 26 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. Jh Taylor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorcycle Adventurer: Carl Stearns Clancy: First Motorcyclist To Ride Around The World 1912-1913 (Paperback)
he didn't ride around the world ..he rode in some parts of the world,but he does give an indicatrion as to how bad the rode system was in the U.S at the turn of the century (20th)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorcycle Adventurer: Carl Stearns Clancy: First Motorcyclist To Ride Around The World 1912-1913 (Paperback)
Fantastic and very authentic narrative based on a journey on an unusual early model motorbike. Get it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm... progress. It isn't always for the better, is it., 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Haven't read the book, as the Amazon Kindle app for Android has failed. I tried to read the book on my Samsung phone without a wifi connection, was informed the app "couldn't synchronise", and now I've actually got a connection, the app just gives me a blank screen. Is there any point attempting to fix it? At least a paperback always works, even if it takes up more space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Motorcycle Adventurer: Carl Stearns Clancy: First Motorcyclist To Ride Around The World 1912-1913
£10.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews