Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
57
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 March 2014
Did you ever want a reason for punching a dolphin? Perhaps you wanted a canadian friend and couldn't justify it? Or did you wonder why it is better to have a rabid passenger than a baby on board a plane?

All thes philosophical questions and many more are answered in this book which brings a new angle to the world we live in. There are good tips on how to catch a unicorn too. Seriously a very funny book and if this is your kind of borderline not-PC humour, then you will enjoy this
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
I've been sharing this with my friends at school all week because it's got something for everyone in it! Everyone finds it funny and I would certainly recommend it to any bored or depressed people out there!! :)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2012
bought for a friend birthday but due to reading it and enjoying it, i had to get myself a copy
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2016
This is a funny and intelligent comic. Takes from fantastically hilarious pieces as why you should, kinda convinced (hahahaha), punch a dolphin on the mouth to why a T-Rex should not be drug induced to other tidbits in life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 December 2011
I came across the Oatmeal whilst researching the correct way to use a semi-colon. Yes, really, and spent the next six hours giggling and crackling at the comic. In addition to the laughs, it does have interesting facts and trivia (for example, the 'Americano' is named after how the American GI's liked coffee when they were stationed in Italy, because the Italian expresso was too strong for the yanks). They also have interesting titbits about coffee and why it gives you a buzz. In addition, the art is clean, and engaging, the font style is crisp and clear, the book is so well presented (should be, given the guy's background in webdesign and graphics). It's a good book just to have, and it will never not be funny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2011
Many people will be familiar with the oatmeal website so there's nothing overly new in terms of a lot of the content and the style and delivery.

But the printed book is a thing of beauty. It's printed in high quality in brilliant colours. The design just leaps out of the page in a way the website didn't do it justice.

You can open the book at random at any page and it is guaranteed to put a smile on your face. One of those books that deserves that special place on your coffee table in full view of guests who will appreciate you are a person of fine taste.

It's the perfect pick-me-up first thing in the morning, guaranteed to put a smile on your face. A lunchtime read to get you over the midday lull, and a great bedside companion... you'll be the most cheery person in the world and will never look at things in the same way again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is an absolute wet-yourself-laughing book of short comics and narratives from the genius Matthew Inman, better known online as The Oatmeal.

(If until now you've only considered comics to be dodgy manga or the Beano, think again.)

Targeting daily ills and irks, the book teaches as how spades can revolutionise supermarket queues, how woman at discos look like slutty oopma loompas, and why dinosaurs should never be given crack cocaine. Mathew deserves a standing ovation for his `how to use grammar' comics alone.

Achingly funny, incredibly clever, strangely informative and REALLY nicely presented as a thick, glossy tome. It would be all birthday gift presents solved for the year, but I love it so much I don't want to share it!
44 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2013
I bought this for my son for Christmas and he is still laughing. He has taken the poster about the printer out and stuck it on his wall. Oatmeal definitely has the same sense of homour as an 11 yr old. We tried to explain the jokes to his grandparents but they just looked sad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2014
A very humorous book for dipping in and out of when you want a chuckle. Has a wide range of wierd articles including 'how to use an aspostrophe', 'how to track, hunt and kill a unicorn', 'why it would suck to live next door to a volcano' and '8 ways to prepare your pets for war'. The titles pretty much sum up the type of humour throughout the book! The actual cartoons themselves are no more than doodles, but its the funny jokes that accompany them which really make you chuckle. Well worth a read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
A must for readers of The Oatmeal! It contains both never-before-published cartoons as well as some of my favorites from the website.
The book has a "nice feel" to it, too and the pages are thick and appears to be quite sturdy.
Very satisfied with this :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)