Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Photoshop Elements 10 the Missing Manual
This book is comprehensive and covers every feature to be found in the Photoshop Elements 10 (PSE10) software for Windows and Mac.

Although there are pictures (of the software in use) in the book, I would say this book, compared to other books I have used, is more text heavy. The book explains the features in the program and what they do. It also lists the 'key...
Published on 28 Nov 2011 by TNS

versus
22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Snap Happy
I find this book really heavy going. I pick it up and put it down again very quickly.

To me it's not in a logical order. I purchased Photoshop Elements 10 and this book to get up and running very quickly. There is lots of information but the book is quite academic and there is a wealth of information there. However, I have learned more by following examples in...
Published on 7 Jan 2012 by One after 909


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Photoshop Elements 10 the Missing Manual, 28 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photoshop Elements 10: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
This book is comprehensive and covers every feature to be found in the Photoshop Elements 10 (PSE10) software for Windows and Mac.

Although there are pictures (of the software in use) in the book, I would say this book, compared to other books I have used, is more text heavy. The book explains the features in the program and what they do. It also lists the 'key short-cuts' to access these features.

For the more complex areas e.g. creating panoramas, working with layers, creating fancy text etc, there are step-by-step guides, but again these are text heavy.

As with all programs like PSE10, there is a steep learning curve. If you are buying this book as a 'how to' guide; it just about works. But I would say you need to be confident around computers and be willing to experiment and spend time with the program. (I have seen better photoshop 'how to' magazines in the newsagents.)

I think this book is more suited as a reference book, and used as such, is a very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Snap Happy, 7 Jan 2012
This review is from: Photoshop Elements 10: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
I find this book really heavy going. I pick it up and put it down again very quickly.

To me it's not in a logical order. I purchased Photoshop Elements 10 and this book to get up and running very quickly. There is lots of information but the book is quite academic and there is a wealth of information there. However, I have learned more by following examples in photographic magazines which take you from start to finish. I'm a visual person and prefer a step-by-step guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Photoshop Elements The Missing Manual, 1 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photoshop Elements 10: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
This is the second "Missing Manual" that I have bought for Photoshop Elements. It totally outclasses the other manuals. It is clearly and logically laid out and well indexed. The writing is clear and simple. It is a big manual but it is easy to tackle by reading up one small piece at a time and a few trials.

I was particularly impressed by their sections on image improvements. Adjusting exposure, brightening colours, lifting shadows the list was endless and simply explained.

Its not cheap but worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Simply too much., 3 Feb 2012
By 
John Taylor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Photoshop Elements 10: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
Phew! Doubtless covers all aspects of photoshop but I would hesitate to recommend it.
The contents do not follow a sensible path; jumping ahead too quickly then refering to somewhere else in the contents. There is an element of assumption which is unforgivable in a book such as this. For example there are no critical path diagrams. Reminded me of old science text books from the distant past. The text jumped between p.c. and mac and since the author is American the writing style irritates.
If you have experience in Photoshop and want to get totally involved in every aspect of the programme I suppose it will satisfy. If you are new or want simply learn the basics then avoid this like the plague!
A final small niggle is that the book itself is a soft cover and refuses to stay open easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A PROPER COMPUTER MANUAL, 16 Feb 2012
By 
D. A. Sutton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photoshop Elements 10: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
This book is just like the manuals you used to get with software several years ago. I always remember my first word processing software from WordPerfect (in the days of 3.5 floppy disks)... it was thick, heavy and would do as a doorstop for a very big door!
But that's the last thing you'd use the Elements Missing Manual for. This book covers everything you need to know about Photoshop Elements. The writing style of the author is friendly, jokey, but the detail she goes into means that just about anything you need to do in Elements is covered. There are also on-line resources. Register your purchase of this book and you can download sample files to play with along with the text in the book, so that you can see exactly how the various commands in Elements works. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Missing no more, 30 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photoshop Elements 10: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
The information contained in the manual is invaluable, it's a constant reference point for me as a former Photoshop user, and if you are completely unfamiliar, slightly familiar or very familiar with the Photoshop products, you will find something you didn't know before. Well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars elements 10 handbook, 28 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photoshop Elements 10: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
An extensive manual that gives its readers all the answers, some take some finding but they are all there.
Anyone starting out will find this book essential, would recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent as ever, 10 Jan 2012
By 
C. Robinson "Avid Reader" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photoshop Elements 10: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
The Missing Manual series in my humble opinion, is wonderful.
In the case of Photoshop Elements 10, it takes you thru all aspects of the program, carefully and logically, with plenty of tips and tricks. 10/10, excellent, as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Photoshop Manual., 17 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Photoshop Elements 10: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
I received this Manual within the time stated when I ordered this, very good AMAZON

Although I have only read parts of this Manual it is very good and does helps a lot when reading it

and working with Photoshop and Photoshop Elements 10; this is a very good and well written book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent service., 28 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photoshop Elements 10: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
Very prompt delivery and an excellent product. The book arrived in excellent condition. The manual is very easy to read and follow. Many Thanks.Would definately shop here again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Photoshop Elements 10: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals)
Photoshop Elements 10: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) by Barbara Brundage (Paperback - 11 Oct 2011)
27.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews