Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars22
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 4 July 2011
We use Linux these days, and it is useful to understand and be able to use what is 'under the hood' in a terminal shell. The equivalent of the MS Windows 'Command Line', only vastly more powerful. Oh yes. BASH is one of many available 'shells' that offer a selection of commands, and it is arguably the most popular and widely used.

If you are new to this 'shell' business, I would recommend Linux Pocket Guide (Pocket Guide: Essential Commands) for a first text - it is less advanced, very well explained and slightly cheaper. More of a BASH tutorial than a reference.

If you are moving to Linux (and why not, with all the free software and industrial-strength defences against malware?) then it would be good if someone in the family understands how BASH works.

If (like me) you already have the Linux Pocket guide, then this is an ideal adjunct to it - with more and deeper detailed descriptions, less tutorial content. My UNIX involvement started in the early 1980s, but I still find both these nifty pocket books very useful indeed, and interesting to read, too.

Probably not the ideal introduction to BASH, but a perfect companion to a BASH tutorial and a super reference for day-to-day use.

Recommended!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2012
If you use linux systems then chances are that you use shell. If that is the case then I definitely would recommend this pocket size Bourne-again shell reference book. I was not disappointed. It has all of what you want to learn BASH in two weeks or less..."A Linux Developer must have..."
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2013
its a good book to carry around and read on the metro and get a quick refresher course. Its not comprehensive but of course its a pocket book. it does what its intended to do: as a quick reference. I would not recommend it to someone new to shells, some experience would help. Wish there were little bit more examples in it though explaining some of the commands. The writing style is not that great, not fluid enough. But great little book for a good price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2015
A good reference for most common tasks but if you don't know anything about bash you will need to buy some additional books. Since the publication is from 2010 some items are outdated and Shellshock not even mentioned. The introduction into bash is just slightly covered. An up to date and more comprehensive publication would be a better buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
I use it on a daily basis, good way to avoid having to "man" every commend you don't know about. Excellent little book, you won't learn how to script with it, but if you are learning following some ind of online tutorial, it will definitely help you understand what you are doing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2014
This book is a real boon for the experienced user that can't quite remember how to do something, or can't quite recall how that command functions. I use this book regularly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
A good compilation for shell and organized with themes (file manipulation, input methods, output methods, common tasks, Jobs,etc). I recommend that!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2015
Really nice little pocket book. It does as it says, I would not use this a s a complete guide, but useful to keep on a desk for a quick look up
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
Great book but you must have a fairly good knowledge already to use its full potential.

I do so luckily I was OK (Just!!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
All the most important BASH shell commands and their numerous options explained clearly and concisely. A well laid out book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)