Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent pocket reference, very useful indeed., 4 July 2011
By 
Big Ben "fly_mo" (Bedford, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: bash Pocket Reference (Pocket Reference (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
We use Linux these days, and it is useful to understand and be able to use what is 'under the hood' in a terminal shell. The equivalent of the MS Windows 'Command Line', only vastly more powerful. Oh yes. BASH is one of many available 'shells' that offer a selection of commands, and it is arguably the most popular and widely used.

If you are new to this 'shell' business, I would recommend Linux Pocket Guide (Pocket Guide: Essential Commands) for a first text - it is less advanced, very well explained and slightly cheaper. More of a BASH tutorial than a reference.

If you are moving to Linux (and why not, with all the free software and industrial-strength defences against malware?) then it would be good if someone in the family understands how BASH works.

If (like me) you already have the Linux Pocket guide, then this is an ideal adjunct to it - with more and deeper detailed descriptions, less tutorial content. My UNIX involvement started in the early 1980s, but I still find both these nifty pocket books very useful indeed, and interesting to read, too.

Probably not the ideal introduction to BASH, but a perfect companion to a BASH tutorial and a super reference for day-to-day use.

Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for developers!, 13 Feb 2012
By 
Richard (Baden-Wurttemburg) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: bash Pocket Reference (Pocket Reference (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
If you use linux systems then chances are that you use shell. If that is the case then I definitely would recommend this pocket size Bourne-again shell reference book. I was not disappointed. It has all of what you want to learn BASH in two weeks or less..."A Linux Developer must have..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Simple and usefull, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: bash Pocket Reference (Pocket Reference (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
A good compilation for shell and organized with themes (file manipulation, input methods, output methods, common tasks, Jobs,etc). I recommend that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful shell guide., 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: bash Pocket Reference (Pocket Reference (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
All the most important BASH shell commands and their numerous options explained clearly and concisely. A well laid out book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very detailled, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: bash Pocket Reference (Pocket Reference (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
Great book but you must have a fairly good knowledge already to use its full potential.

I do so luckily I was OK (Just!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good book to refresh memory, 8 Mar 2013
By 
Jude B (Stockholm Sweden) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: bash Pocket Reference (Pocket Reference (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
its a good book to carry around and read on the metro and get a quick refresher course. Its not comprehensive but of course its a pocket book. it does what its intended to do: as a quick reference. I would not recommend it to someone new to shells, some experience would help. Wish there were little bit more examples in it though explaining some of the commands. The writing style is not that great, not fluid enough. But great little book for a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful reference for bash lovers, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This reference guide gives some good examples and some interesting techniques for using bash. Very helpful book for those needing to write some bash scripts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good to have on hand, 19 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: bash Pocket Reference (Pocket Reference (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
I use it on a daily basis, good way to avoid having to "man" every commend you don't know about. Excellent little book, you won't learn how to script with it, but if you are learning following some ind of online tutorial, it will definitely help you understand what you are doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A superb little reference book., 9 Dec 2014
By 
Richard Gray (Newton-Le-Willows, Merseyside, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: bash Pocket Reference (Pocket Reference (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
This book is a real boon for the experienced user that can't quite remember how to do something, or can't quite recall how that command functions. I use this book regularly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Little Book, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: bash Pocket Reference (Pocket Reference (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
A very useful little book for reference and open book exams; may not be what you're looking for if you have a fair bit of experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

bash Pocket Reference (Pocket Reference (O'Reilly))
bash Pocket Reference (Pocket Reference (O'Reilly)) by Arnold Robbins (Paperback - 20 May 2010)
£6.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews