Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Head First Python
This book is a good introduction to some of the things that make Python unique, as well as a number of basic programming techniques that may not be applicable in other languages. It does assume that you have done some programming before, and is mainly aimed at developing web/android apps, but of both of those apply then it's a great choice.
Published on 11 Feb 2012 by Adamlives

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good try, but not really a way to learn
Disclaimer - I'm a programmer/developer, 'something in IT' and have been for decades. I like the Headfirst format and wanted to learn Python - so here I came.

But though the book has some strong parts it's not really strong in the language. It introduces Web programming (fine) and Android programming (fine) both in Python - so all justified ... but it spends...
Published 15 months ago by Jonathan Bryce


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Head First Python, 11 Feb 2012
This review is from: Head First Python (Paperback)
This book is a good introduction to some of the things that make Python unique, as well as a number of basic programming techniques that may not be applicable in other languages. It does assume that you have done some programming before, and is mainly aimed at developing web/android apps, but of both of those apply then it's a great choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for beginners and intermediates alike, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Head First Python (Kindle Edition)
I learnt loads from this book, not just about python but also about the web and scaling as well. Well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good try, but not really a way to learn, 5 Sep 2013
By 
Jonathan Bryce (Kapiti Coast, NZ) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Head First Python (Paperback)
Disclaimer - I'm a programmer/developer, 'something in IT' and have been for decades. I like the Headfirst format and wanted to learn Python - so here I came.

But though the book has some strong parts it's not really strong in the language. It introduces Web programming (fine) and Android programming (fine) both in Python - so all justified ... but it spends longer on the Android interfaces than on the language. And whenever there's a nice little pure Python challenge coming (find the closest time from a range, given an input) the solution gets dropped on us (readers) from a height by the 'head first code review team'. Fine... but that's what I thought we'd be doing, rather than just typing in what they threw over the fence.

I also finished the book not knowing about whether code blocks need to be indented identically to be in the same block (sort of 'if else ... what ends ?) - which would be fairly fundamental to a language.

So, look somewhere else for a primer - and if you find a good one, let me know. I'd recommend other Headfirst books - they're a good way to learn (mostly), just not this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Learn python efficiently, 26 July 2011
This review is from: Head First Python (Paperback)
There are two books devoted to Python you can find within Head First series. One of them is related indirectly - Head First Programming, second one is explicitly focused on Python - Head First Python. If you take a look at the content description you will find that some parts of material overlaps. If you ask yourself whether these are two different titles, answer is - yes, these are two different books. Even thou both are devoted to Python, you will find them different. Head First Programming focuses on telling reader what programming is, while Head First Python goes directly into Python related topics. Another benefit of this book is that it touches various aspects of Python usage - application programming, Web development, Mobile development.

What I like in the book is a way things are explained. Head First approach is one of favorite, so I like the book automatically - in a way. On the other hand, I think it could be better bundled with Head First Programming. Both books cover the same topics in few places which makes it questionable to buy both of them. Putting it straight. If you want to focus on Python itself, and you know what programming is all about - Head First Python is a good choice. If you don't know any programming language or you want to learn programming through the Python, definitely buy Head First Programming instead of this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bite size learning, 4 Jun 2014
By 
Mrs. T. Salkin "TracyS" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Head First Python (Kindle Edition)
For people like me, who suffer with "OMG book learning" this was excellent. It broke down things into less complicated, so yes i'd highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Head First Python (Paperback)
In good state. Perfect compliance of the time schedule defined.

Recommend a lot to other. And I don't know what else to write
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good intro, 20 Mar 2013
By 
Edward Oates - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Head First Python (Paperback)
Written in an easy to read style not at all daunting. Found it very useful to get started. I guess i'll need something else to take me on but good for now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Head First Python
Head First Python by Paul Barry (Paperback - 10 Dec 2010)
£32.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews