Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive
I bought this book because my new PC was specified with Windows 8.1 and although I am an experienced with all the previous versions of Windows I gathered that 8.1 was sufficiently different that it would be beneficial to do a bit of research. I found this book comprehensive and written in a such a way that it could be read or just dipped into as necessary, it was also...
Published 10 months ago by Jim W

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Expensive and of limited use really
Having taken the jump to Windows 8.1 after loving 7 for so long since the day it came out, I thought IU better have a manual to get around the damn thing.

In fact I took to 8.1 like a duck to water. It's super cool and sexy. Loved it totally. As for the manual, well it helped a little but to be honest much if it you will only need once in a while and the net...
Published 1 month ago by M. Fairman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 8.1: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
I bought this book because my new PC was specified with Windows 8.1 and although I am an experienced with all the previous versions of Windows I gathered that 8.1 was sufficiently different that it would be beneficial to do a bit of research. I found this book comprehensive and written in a such a way that it could be read or just dipped into as necessary, it was also quite humorous. It would be useful for a relative novice but also has sufficient depth for the more experienced user. It is an American book but there is little reference to any specific American content so this is not an issue for a UK reader. There are no colour images and this on the whole is not an issue but but there are a few of the screen shots can be a little dark but are ok. I would recommend this book and also the supplier - Speedy Hen Ltd, who delivered the book within 3 days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good solid reference for the power user, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 8.1: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
I originally ordered the Que Windows 8.1 in depth - but the publication date was many weeks away - so I cancelled it and bought this book instead.

It is a very comprehensive work on the more detailed workings of Win 8.1 - covering the features changed since Win 8.

However maybe its worth holding off buying now as Microsoft have said they are releasing yet another major upgrade to 8.1 on about 8th March 2014 - and things may change and a furthr edition of all the manuals such as this will be needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will need it !, 1 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 8.1: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
Old computer, Windows XP for 8 years, great operating system. New computer, Windows 8.1 **NIGHTMARE**.
I tried hard for a couple of weeks and almost gave up. The 8.1 missing manual should definitely have been issued with any computer supplied with this OS. I do not consider 8.1 a good OS for desktops but it is more friendly after reading the manual. I highly recommend obtaining this book because anyone having used an older system will be almost starting from scratch.
(Raspberries to Microsoft)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very useful inclusion once again is “The Missing CD”, 6 Sep 2014
By 
Pogue Fan (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 8.1: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
An absolute essential, Windows 8.1 is a worthy successor to Windows Me - the Missing Manual, Windows Vista - the Missing Manual, etc. There is nothing of Windows 8.1 that is not covered in this Manual, and the guidance and information are presented in clear, very readable form. A very useful inclusion once again is “The Missing CD”, through which, by logging on to the web site provided, every web address, practice file and piece of downloadable software mentioned in the book can be accessed. I have already downloaded the means of restoring to my Windows 8.1 the sidebar gadgets as were provided in Vista but not now in Windows 8.1. Whether new to computing or an “old hand”, this Manual is for you. It doesn’t cost the earth either. But by having it at one's side, the value-added to one's Windows 8.1 operating system is incalculable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GO FOR IT - A GOOD READ!, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 8.1: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
Microsoft never did explain Windows 8.1 as good as this! Chapter settings are clearly set out to inform and show you what you should know (if you really don't).
The aptly-titled book is a mine of information about (almost) everything you might want to either just dip in and look up an item or description of a 'whats-it-do-then' category - often very wittily put, to lighten the mass of reading. You can put the book down if you want to take a breather and have a go! Downlaods are available via the Publishers sources given in the beginning and in various parts of the book; including erratas, to bring you up-to-date. Perhaps a little expensive for some tastes as WH Smith's overprice it, in my opinion, Worth it to and avoid the hassle of diving around in different magazines/books for the pot-pourri. BUY IT HERE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Expensive and of limited use really, 16 Nov 2014
By 
M. Fairman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 8.1: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
Having taken the jump to Windows 8.1 after loving 7 for so long since the day it came out, I thought IU better have a manual to get around the damn thing.

In fact I took to 8.1 like a duck to water. It's super cool and sexy. Loved it totally. As for the manual, well it helped a little but to be honest much if it you will only need once in a while and the net serves that purpose, and the basics helped speed up my learning, but I would have got there anyway.

The one thing I did want to know more about, One Drive, I found virtually nothing on at all.

So buy it as a fall back, but to be honest, unless you are new to windows, I can't see it serving much point other then speeding up your learning curve.

Layout and everything is fine but again when I had trouble looking how to make the apps active on my desktop, other then the basics which windows was telling me, there was little really there.

So in a nutshell, think carefully if you really need this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It is what it claims., 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose this particular book because others seem to draw attention to the new features of Windows 8, whereas I need detailed explanations and advice. It may not be glossy but it is a weighty tome with a comprehensive index that most W8 books seem to lack. It's just what I wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Windows 8.1 The Missing Manual, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 8.1: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
Great book essential to find your way around Windows 8.1. I would not have been able to install my POP server email address without it as Windows 8.1 only recognises IMAP. Step by step guide. A book you can use as a reference. A must to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 8.1: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
The upgrade to windows book windows8. What can I say except it is as good as previous review. Would recommend to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clearly guides thru the mysteries of Win 8. 1 ..., 3 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. K. D. Piddington (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 8.1: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
Clearly guides thru the mysteries of Win 8.1 that are not included in the box!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Windows 8.1: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals)
Windows 8.1: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) by David Pogue (Paperback - 6 Dec 2013)
£23.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews