Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars12
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 November 2013
This 5th edition only deserves three stars as it is missing the tag headers at the top of each page. These are used to show what tag is first used on that page. Earlier editions worked like a HTML dictionary, with tag names stated in the top corner of each page. This edition is missing those so finding information is a lot harder than it should be.

The content itself is still good quality. HTML 5 has introduced a bunch of new tags and this book clearly notes which ones are not compatible with HTML 4.01. All the tags are well presented, clearly explained and most examples are adequate. To my dismay, there are no longer any colour codes listed at the back. Believe it or not, I do use those.

If O'Reilly can get the page headers back, then this book would deserve four and a half stars out of five.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2014
This is a reference book and is small and useful for web developers who prefer an off-line source of information. I would have given it 5 stars if the publishers and kept the top of page dictionary type indication of where you were, that made accessing the definition you wanted really quick, now it is more hit and miss.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2014
As a beginner to HTML this book certainly helps a lot, whenever I am reading through or watching a video on HTML this book certainly helps to jog my memory, or even if I'm writing my own HTML I can pick it up to ensure I am using the correct tags etc.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
The book is in alphabetical order but there is no complete clickable index in the Kindle version therefore you have to guess roughly where an item will be and then scroll to find the pages which is very time consuming. If there was a complete index at the start, it would be 5 star but without it 2 Star at best.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2013
For at-a-glance reference of the syntax of HTML tags in alphabetical order, you can't go wrong with this cheap, pocket sized book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2016
This is a nice little pocket guide to carry around. You do need to know a little HTML5 before you start though or it is hard to get through the book if you are unsure of one to find, Good book,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2014
It does what it says on the cover - a very useful pocket reference-guide for HTML5 - O'Reilly never fails to impress.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2015
Comprehensive guide .
This is the third edition I have purchased as html evolves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2015
Excellent quality item, thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
in time and good conditios
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)