Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars This is a reference book and is small and useful for web developers who prefer an off-line source of ...
This is a reference book and is small and useful for web developers who prefer an off-line source of information. I would have given it 5 stars if the publishers and kept the top of page dictionary type indication of where you were, that made accessing the definition you wanted really quick, now it is more hit and miss.
Published 1 month ago by vague logic

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good content but appalling if you use the kindle version
The book is in alphabetical order but there is no complete clickable index in the Kindle version therefore you have to guess roughly where an item will be and then scroll to find the pages which is very time consuming. If there was a complete index at the start, it would be 5 star but without it 2 Star at best.
Published 7 months ago by Philip Harwood


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good content but appalling if you use the kindle version, 23 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is in alphabetical order but there is no complete clickable index in the Kindle version therefore you have to guess roughly where an item will be and then scroll to find the pages which is very time consuming. If there was a complete index at the start, it would be 5 star but without it 2 Star at best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite up to the quality of earlier publications, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTML5 Pocket Reference (Pocket Reference (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
This 5th edition only deserves three stars as it is missing the tag headers at the top of each page. These are used to show what tag is first used on that page. Earlier editions worked like a HTML dictionary, with tag names stated in the top corner of each page. This edition is missing those so finding information is a lot harder than it should be.

The content itself is still good quality. HTML 5 has introduced a bunch of new tags and this book clearly notes which ones are not compatible with HTML 4.01. All the tags are well presented, clearly explained and most examples are adequate. To my dismay, there are no longer any colour codes listed at the back. Believe it or not, I do use those.

If O'Reilly can get the page headers back, then this book would deserve four and a half stars out of five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is a reference book and is small and useful for web developers who prefer an off-line source of ..., 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTML5 Pocket Reference (Pocket Reference (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
This is a reference book and is small and useful for web developers who prefer an off-line source of information. I would have given it 5 stars if the publishers and kept the top of page dictionary type indication of where you were, that made accessing the definition you wanted really quick, now it is more hit and miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A handy reference, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTML5 Pocket Reference (Pocket Reference (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
For at-a-glance reference of the syntax of HTML tags in alphabetical order, you can't go wrong with this cheap, pocket sized book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A helpful companion for beginners, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTML5 Pocket Reference (Pocket Reference (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
As a beginner to HTML this book certainly helps a lot, whenever I am reading through or watching a video on HTML this book certainly helps to jog my memory, or even if I'm writing my own HTML I can pick it up to ensure I am using the correct tags etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars html, 19 Nov 2013
This review is from: HTML5 Pocket Reference (Pocket Reference (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
The book was in perfect condition, but I was expecting a much voluminous book. The delivery was poor as it exceed the estimated time that was given.
All the same, it is a perfect text for programmers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

HTML5 Pocket Reference (Pocket Reference (O'Reilly))
HTML5 Pocket Reference (Pocket Reference (O'Reilly)) by Jennifer Niederst Robbins (Paperback - 11 Aug 2013)
7.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews