Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Updated and revised yet again; still one of the best
One of O'Reilly's long-established 'Missing Manual' series that individually cover an established and market-leading software product. They are mostly practical in their content and can be relied upon to cover the most commonly-used and useful features. Rarely-used features, if and where they exist, are usually either ignored or mentioned rather briefly in order not to...
Published 9 months ago by Andy_atGC

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but hardwork
Everything you need to know about PSE 12, but my God it is difficult to find quickly. PSE 12 is wonderful, but this product is slow over complicated, and the index is abysmal. I wouldn't bother with it, PSE 12 is pretty good if you delve into it. Don't buy this guide it is overcomplicated.
Published 10 months ago by Halfpenny


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Updated and revised yet again; still one of the best, 16 Dec 2013
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Photoshop Elements 12: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
One of O'Reilly's long-established 'Missing Manual' series that individually cover an established and market-leading software product. They are mostly practical in their content and can be relied upon to cover the most commonly-used and useful features. Rarely-used features, if and where they exist, are usually either ignored or mentioned rather briefly in order not to overload the reader.

Photoshop Elements has been Photoshop's baby brother for many years and offers most, if not all, of the features from Photoshop that the average non-power user is likely to need. Admittedly, many more advanced and infrequently needed features have been left out and probably always will be but the products sell at very different prices - Photoshop is no longer sold as a full commercial package and can only be obtained on a monthly or annual subscription. Elements also recognises that many photographers submit photos to sites that require some technical or other information and provides a photo management facility that its big brother omits. For those who work exclusively in RAW mode or who use it sometimes, Camera RAW is included in the package and the book uses many of its pages to cover that important function in some depth.

This book has for several years mirrored Photoshop Elements' various releases and is updated whenever a new version appears. Sometimes, features previously offered by the software may be removed or modified in the current version and the book tends to list those as and when they happen, and that is no less true for this update. All the program's possibilities are covered in a friendly and ususally easily understood fashion. For those features where there may be several steps, and photo optimisation where colour balance, noise reduction, contrast and brightness (levels) and other image properties may be changed are covered in a logical and progressive fashion.

In addition to its main chapters there are appendices including one for installation, and a comprehensive and seemingly complete Index. If there is an omission, it is that of a Glossary which may be helpful for the less experienced photographer or one unused to the program. However most unfamiliar terminology used could, if necessary, be researched on-line with ease and speed.

One of a relative few books that cover this affordable and important graphics management package. There are so few relative to Photoshop that you could easily and quite quickly compare them all at a good bookshop and decide which best suits your personal needs. It is certainly worth consideration and purchase at the lower prices offered by Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but hardwork, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Everything you need to know about PSE 12, but my God it is difficult to find quickly. PSE 12 is wonderful, but this product is slow over complicated, and the index is abysmal. I wouldn't bother with it, PSE 12 is pretty good if you delve into it. Don't buy this guide it is overcomplicated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just as well there is one., 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photoshop Elements 12: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
I am always surprised that software comes with no manual. However this series of missing manuals is very good and covers all of those complex technical areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You cannot go amiss with this manual, 5 Feb 2014
This review is from: Photoshop Elements 12: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
Photoshop Elements 12 is, like its predecessors, a powerful program but with its wealth of features not particularly easy to learn. I have found the Kindle version of this book to be a good buy and a better guide than the rival publications I have bought in the past.
Like others, I have found the lack of an Index a nuisance, but the linked topic headings in the Table of Contents is a help.
My 'work-around' has been print the Contents, complete with page numbers, from the PDF version and then use the handy navigation feature in the Kindle to home in quickly on the relevant page and topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!!, 12 Dec 2013
By 
D. Chopping (N Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photoshop Elements 12: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
Just what I needed!! I upgraded from PSE9 and Adobe has given Elements a complete makeover and despite all the 'how to' videos etc. a book was needed and this filled all the criteria and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Manual for Photoshop Elements 12, 6 Jun 2014
By 
John Busby (Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photoshop Elements 12: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
The manual arrived in new and good condition. It is adequately written for using the photo application and will help me edit my images
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is clearly written and helpful. I haven't yet found the way to move to other chapters on the Ipad, other than going through the book systematically. Maybe it is lack of experience on my part. I have the Kindle edition. I would have given five stars otherwise as the book is very understandable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Indeed the easily readible manual, I've missed, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photoshop Elements 12: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
Give so far all answers to questions, problems, unknown specs to this wonderfull program and above all it's easy to handle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for learning about Photoshop elements 12, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photoshop Elements 12: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
This book is very well written. I have been learning how to use the Photoshop elements 12 programme using this book. I find it better than trying to use the help supplied with the programme as the book explains everything in terms I understand and I can follow the instructions from the book as I go along. It is a very comprehensive guide. However it can become a bit overwhelming sometimes, as there is so much to take in. This is probably down to me rather than the book. I would recommend this book if you are wanting to learn about Photoshop elements 12 and how to use it, as long as you have time to really sit down and go through the basics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photoshop Elements 12: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
Just what I needed, pity I had to pay extra to get the information
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Photoshop Elements 12: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals)
Photoshop Elements 12: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) by Barbara Brundage (Paperback - 4 Oct 2013)
£18.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews