Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Python Domestic Science Textbook?
A few years ago now I was working in a job that required me to code in PERL. My PERL is passable but no better than that so when I found a copy of the PERL cookbook it was something of a life saver and constant companion. The PERL cookbook is deeply pragmatic and addresses real world problems with the language almost as an afterthought. (Which now I think about is...
Published 17 months ago by renaissance geek

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tastes like Chicken
The recipes in it are pretty ok, but at the end of the day, we all know - Python tastes just like chicken.
Published 6 months ago by Matt


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Python Domestic Science Textbook?, 23 Jun 2013
This review is from: Python Cookbook (Paperback)
A few years ago now I was working in a job that required me to code in PERL. My PERL is passable but no better than that so when I found a copy of the PERL cookbook it was something of a life saver and constant companion. The PERL cookbook is deeply pragmatic and addresses real world problems with the language almost as an afterthought. (Which now I think about is actually a pretty good description of PERL anyway!) The Python cookbook is a very different beast and is much more an exercise in learning the intricacies and nuances of the language. I'm not sure cookbook is the right title - if the PERL Cookbook is a cookbook then the Python Cookbook is more of a domestic science textbook. A bit deeper, a bit dryer and not so focused on immediate problems. This is no way meant to imply that it's a bad book, on the contrary it's a very good book just not entirely what I was expecting.

The book itself is divided into fifteen large sections covering the likes of data structures and algorithms; functions; metaprogramming and concurrency with each section consisting of a number of problems. The problems are structured as a definition of the problem, a solution and a discussion of the solution and how it can be extended. Due to the nature of the Python language a large part of solving the problems lies in knowing which module(s) to include in your code so each problem is generally only a couple of pages, but that is certainly enough to give the solution and reasonably detailed discussion. As with all books of this type there is going to be some complaints of why is X included and not Y and to be honest if you tried to cover all the possible problems a practicing python programmer is likely to run across the book would end up so large as to be unusable. That being said there was, for me at least, one glaring omission. I do a lot of data processing with reasonably large data sets, and with the buzz around big data I'm sure I'm not the only one, and frequently find that I have to break down the data sets or I simply consume all the system resources and the program exits. I would have expected at least some treatment of working with very large data sets which seems to be entirely missing. However this is an issue based on what I use Python for and may very well not matter to you. Even though there may not be exactly the solution you are looking for, there are 260 problems and solutions in the Python cookbook so if you don't learn something new you are probably a certified Python genius and beyond manuals anyway.

There are a couple of quick final points to make about the Python cookbook. Firstly it uses Python 3 and as many very useful third party modules haven't been ported from Python 2.X over to Python 3 yet Python 2.X is still probably still more widely used. Secondly although this is a language learning book it's not aimed at the novice programmer, think of it more as language nuances and inflections for the experienced Pythonista rather than a how to learn Python book and you won't go far wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for converting to Python, 27 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python Cookbook (Paperback)
This is another cook book of code snippets and explanations and covers Python 3 in this third edition.

The book is structured in sections starting with the basic language constructs (variables, functions and so on), before getting into more detailed examples on classes, networking, Internet, concurrency and a good section on testing and debugging (all code must be well documented).

As someone converting from PHP this has been a revelation in that each section of code snippets has a 'discussion' section to explain the 'why' as wel as the 'how. Other books tell you what/how but rarely the 'why' as this does. Recommended.

As it is a cook book, it's not been read cover to cover but the possibility is there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview of Python 3, 2 April 2014
By 
WSK (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python Cookbook (Paperback)
This is a really excellent review of Python 3 for those, like me, who have been brought up on Python 2. Section by section, the book describes how to solve programming tasks in a pythonic way, taking advantage of the elegant features made available in the new version of the language. Learning by doing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it!, 9 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python Cookbook (Paperback)
This is by far the best companion for a Python (3) developer. It contains so much recipes and so much advice that using it it's just a pleasure. You are able to produce super elegant code, minimising the lines of code and maximising the code readability. I suggest it to everybody is already a bit proficient in Python and just wants to acquire more immediate and elegant way of coding. Let's say this is a book for who really wants to produce beautiful pythonic code.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm new to Python.., 6 Oct 2013
By 
SaturdayScience (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python Cookbook (Kindle Edition)
so I thought a cookbook would be a good aid to better climb the learning curve. I have the Kindle version as part of my Python library.

The cookbook seems to straddle tutorial and how to accomplish common tasks e,g, how to read a csv file. It also has breadth of coverage including scripting, network and web programming. However don't expect anything on wxPython but numpy is in.

At this point in my learning Python its a good resource. At least you can check it out before buying to see if it's the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all Python coders, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python Cookbook (Paperback)
Its verry good book for all Python coders, that want to learn news from Python 3. This book cover all majors subjects, from trivial matters to complex one. I would recommend everyone to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tastes like Chicken, 14 May 2014
This review is from: Python Cookbook (Paperback)
The recipes in it are pretty ok, but at the end of the day, we all know - Python tastes just like chicken.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Python Cookbook
Python Cookbook by Brian K. Jones (Paperback - 1 Jun 2013)
£20.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews