Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what it says on the cover
I'm a MySQL user wondering about other open source options (and wondering where Oracle is going to take MySQL) and this book was a good introduction to modern PostgreSQL and what's good/different about it.

I already have some PostgreSQL books but they are for older versions - I wanted a good introduction including some of the 9.x features, and this book didn't...
Published 22 months ago by richardtoohey

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Rather too much in too few pages
It's got some good material, but is rather short, and the examples are rather hard to read because they don't have entities with intrinsically meaningful names (well, not to this reader!)
Published 14 months ago by Nigel2357


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what it says on the cover, 30 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PostgreSQL: Up and Running (Paperback)
I'm a MySQL user wondering about other open source options (and wondering where Oracle is going to take MySQL) and this book was a good introduction to modern PostgreSQL and what's good/different about it.

I already have some PostgreSQL books but they are for older versions - I wanted a good introduction including some of the 9.x features, and this book didn't disappoint.

It is a short text - but it is about "Up and Running" - and that's exactly what you get. It's good for giving you ideas (and links to where you can find out more) - so it touches on lots of things and if you are interested, you'll know where to go to find out more.

There's no padding to boost up the page count.

If you are looking for an in-depth tome on every feature - this won't be the book for you. If you want an introduction to SQL, it's not here. BUT if you want something easy-to-read that gives you a good overall feel for PostgreSQL and what it is capable of - buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the right amount of information for me, 17 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PostgreSQL: Up and Running (Paperback)
I have just started using PostgreSQL. Having tome experience with other databases, I just needed to get an overview of what Postgres was about and what it is capable of doing. The format of this book is perfect for that - no in depth tutorials, no explanation of what a database is, and no deep SQL theory. It is a great overview with references to where you get more information. It is excellent at describing what makes Postgres unique and better and points you in the right direction for getting the most out of the database.

Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but no index, 22 Feb 2013
By 
CC (Oxford, Oxfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: PostgreSQL: Up and Running (Paperback)
As others have noted, the book is relatively short, with link to the official documentation are sprinkled liberally throughout.

The best way of describing this book is (to borrow a phrase Donald Rumsfeld) that it turns unknown unknowns into known unknowns. There is enough information here to whet your appetite as to what Postgres is capable of but I wouldn't for a second suggest that you do many of the things they are showing you without reading the official documentation (even if it is technically possible, you would have such large holes in your understanding that it would be a recipe for disaster.) Before I read this book, I was administering several Postgres servers but doing nothing that couldn't be achieved in other databases (MySQL for example). This book showed me various tricks and Postgres specific commands that I would otherwise have not known existed.

Given its use as a tour of Postgres rather than a reference, the omission of an index might be almost justified. I have however been left frustrated on more than one occasion where I knew something was in the book but couldn't find it easily. There is a table of contents, but it just doesn't cut it. It is for that reason that I knocked it down a star. If you are happy without an index, or are reading an ebook edition with search, you can add a star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but has errors, 16 Oct 2012
This review is from: PostgreSQL: Up and Running (Paperback)
Very good book for those starting to work with Postgre SQL or those moving from MYSQL to Postgre SQL however there are a lot of errors in the book, it is worth checking on the author's website to help solve any confusion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Rather too much in too few pages, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PostgreSQL: Up and Running (Paperback)
It's got some good material, but is rather short, and the examples are rather hard to read because they don't have entities with intrinsically meaningful names (well, not to this reader!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars looks really useful, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Seems easy to read and has just the facts. I am sure this will come in very handy for a newbie to Postgres like me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing - Far too short, 24 July 2012
By 
Gary Clarke (Caerphilly UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unfortunatly there are very few recent books for Postgres.
I got excited therefore when i saw his new book - but was surprised to find myself at the end of the book after about 45 minutes !
For over 10 - I expect at least a few hours reading.
Also i don't think i learnt anything - beginners with Postgres may find useful, definitly not for advanced users.
Please somebody write an advanced book for Postgres - especially aimed at its powerful development capabilities - all recent publications have been boring admin books - this one not quite so bad about 70% admin related.
The book is nicely written and good at extolling the virtues of this wonderful database, but is not very educational, because of its very limited and quite simple content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

PostgreSQL: Up and Running
PostgreSQL: Up and Running by Leo S. Hsu (Paperback - 21 July 2012)
13.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews