Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book on the programmer-oriented use of PowerShell
I have not yet read it from cover to cover (which I do with almost all my books) but the stuff there is interesting and certainly helpful in understanding the inner workings of PowerShell. If you want to know PowerShell from a developer's perspective, I'd recommend this book but be prepared that it might be difficult to understand stuff from time to time. But that's what...
Published on 22 Feb. 2013 by Darek

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hodge-podge of random topics
No coherent structure.
No systematic approach to anything at all.
No details about developing cmdlets or providers in a book ostensibly for developers.
Frequently refers you to online resources.
It is essentially just a bunch of unrelated examples.
Each chapter is interesting enough in its own right but that doesn't make it a good book.
Published 22 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hodge-podge of random topics, 20 April 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows PowerShell for Developers (Paperback)
No coherent structure.
No systematic approach to anything at all.
No details about developing cmdlets or providers in a book ostensibly for developers.
Frequently refers you to online resources.
It is essentially just a bunch of unrelated examples.
Each chapter is interesting enough in its own right but that doesn't make it a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A fairly random assemblage of topics. Many of the ..., 6 Feb. 2015
By 
Nicholas V. Dowling "Nick Dowling" (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A fairly random assemblage of topics. Many of the examples use internet APIs such as Twitter, or screen scraping search results from Google or Bing. These APIs have changed since the book was written as have the CSS class names in search results that are relied upon, so the examples no longer work. On the cover it says "enhance your productivity and enable rapid application development", but the book certainly does not live up to this claim. Not up to the standard one expects from O'Reilly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but very incomplete, 17 May 2013
By 
Mr. C. Street (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows PowerShell for Developers (Paperback)
This book seems incredibly disjointed - it's a pile of interesting examples with no logical coherence or structure. Although useful, it has glaring holes, nothing about roll your own cmdlets, vast references to online resources that are no longer there... a paucity of interfacing to the outside world unless via .NET.... If fleshed out a lot - like if you tripled the amount it could be useful but at the moment it's simply not worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book on the programmer-oriented use of PowerShell, 22 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have not yet read it from cover to cover (which I do with almost all my books) but the stuff there is interesting and certainly helpful in understanding the inner workings of PowerShell. If you want to know PowerShell from a developer's perspective, I'd recommend this book but be prepared that it might be difficult to understand stuff from time to time. But that's what I call NORMAL. Just don't give up and press on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor would be an understatement, 16 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows PowerShell for Developers (Paperback)
This book is a bunch of mumble tied together in an incoherent format. I don't know what it's for, providing neither reference nor instruction. I learn't a whole lot more in a lot less time by going through a few well commented examples I found on the web.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Windows PowerShell for Developers
Windows PowerShell for Developers by Douglas Finke (Paperback - 22 July 2012)
£16.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews