Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars29
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I'll admit right now that I'm only about 10% through this book but it's been a brilliant journey so far.

The prose is aimed at just the right level and the examples are perfect for experimenting with the new features of C# 5.0 and dotNet 4.5.

I've found no errors (not that I would spot one) - what I mean is that the code examples all worked as written in the book which is always a cause for concern. After all, if you were to get a compiler error what would you do? So the accuracy of the book so far is giving me great confidence in the other chapters.

I only dip in and out of the book as time permits or as topics arise which I need to study. The one I read was about multi-tasking vs multi-threading and made me re-think my approach after some of the examples showed me how multi-thread race condition could easily arise if I continued my method of working.

So, if nothing else, it's teaching me to be a better programmer!

Recommended.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2013
You may never need to need to know ( or want to know ) everything that this book contains. However, it is the best accompaniment for any developer who works with this technology on a daily basis.
It does not assume reader is an expert, but deveops your knowledge from the fundamentals. One may be suprised at how much of the basic knowledge one has forgotten over the years.

On a cautious note, if you already have c#4.0 version of this book, then it is not really worth spending the money,as the latest version has about 100 pages extra ( it was already over 1000 pages ....)

The writers have an excellent manner with the wriitten word, and the book pays for development of LINQPad (if you happen to be a user of that product)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
I would (and do, actually) recommend this book to everyone I know who shows an interest in programming in C#. It has proven to be endlessly useful to me and it is brilliantly easy to pick up, find what you're looking for, and shove back down on the end of the desk, it's also quite heavy so doesn't frequently fall off!

Worth every penny, would consider paying upwards of £100 for a book which is this well thought out, though for that price I'd much prefer a hardback and slightly stronger pages. Not to say that this book is weak or easily damaged, but wear and tear shows clearly.

A definite worthwhile purchase!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
This is a really good book, it took my skills up a notch and i had a lot of "Oh i did not know you could do that" moments. I have only given it four stars as at the end of some chapters that author continues the chapter on line. I paid for the book so i expect all the discussion to be in the book and not on line although his site does contain useful articles.

The book includes parallel and asynchronous programming, it's ok but it could be better. Overall the book requires more examples. This text is not for beginners!

Overall good but could be better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
Stuck without internet and have questions about C#?
This book is all you need.

It'll help the absolute beginner as well as the seasoned veteran.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2016
Gives a good overview of the language, with a nice amount of detail and pretty straightforward to understand. If you need a general book on C# then this will do you just fine. The only complaint I have is that it has a lot of chapters on non-core parts of the language, such as LINQ and XML, which I think would be better suited to a separate book, as I (and most people I imagine) expect 'XXX in a Nutshell' books to be fairly compact and focused on the core subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
Don't be misled by the title this is a comprehensive C# reference book, and defacto standard. i got my first copy as part of a training course.
I have both the paper and digital copy and like to keep it within hands reach.

It is great too used in combination with an exam prep guide to prepare for the official Microsoft C# certification.

If you only buy one book on C#, it should be this one.

Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
This book has the "in a nutshell" in the title. But it is a hefty book to carry around. That said as a desktop C# 5.0 reference I have seen no better. Each section explains in a clean format, code syntax and usages.

I would have now hesitation in recommending this book to any developer using C#.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
Their writing exhibits a wonderful economy, the code samples illustrate points perfectly. Sometimes one does have to read the the odd passage more than once to comprehend, but that is more a failure of comprehension than explanation.

If only other authors wrote so clearly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
As a long term C# programmer I thought I knew it all. However, this book shed new light in almost all areas. The sections on threading, parallelism, async and await are particularly good. Not a book to read cover to cover, but a thoroughly decent reference guide.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)