Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Good Starting Point.
I used to design web pages in the 1990's, when pictures were just being introduced to the web.

All we had back then was HTML. I made use of tables and yes, the Comic Sans® font. When CSS started to come along, I lost interest. I soon realised that web design was becoming a multi-disciplined environment, and I was neither a programmer, or a designer...
Published 19 months ago by Mr. L. Baker

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Learning Web design
this book is a bit difficult to follow as the examples are not explicit.
The author does not give examples of what she talks about, for the reader to really see their outcomes.
Published 9 months ago by Denis Kouassi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Good Starting Point., 23 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. L. Baker (Cowes, Isle of Wight) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Web Design: A Beginner's Guide to HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and Web Graphics (Paperback)
I used to design web pages in the 1990's, when pictures were just being introduced to the web.

All we had back then was HTML. I made use of tables and yes, the Comic Sans® font. When CSS started to come along, I lost interest. I soon realised that web design was becoming a multi-disciplined environment, and I was neither a programmer, or a designer.

I started to learn web design again in 2012. I bought some very good books that were either too specific, or very tedious to read - I could name them, but there's no point as they are very good books if you have enough ground knowledge.

To the book:

1. The page layout makes it very readable, because it's been written by a Designer - Programmers take note! Many books on Web Design/Programming are rushed out with little regard to their readability, and layout.
2. The use of colour in the book is put to good use. You'd be surprised at how many similarly priced books have no colour at all.
2. It's takes the reader from the very basics to quite advanced topics in a structured way.
3. The latest edition includes information about Responsive Web Design (designing for all screen sizes). It's also bang up to date for CSS3 and HTML5. Web Design is on the move again - now is good time to learn.
4. It's been written by a woman - i.e. no silly jokes.
5. The plethora of links to other books, and online resources is very useful.

I wholly reccommend this book, to anyone that wants to make a start in Web Design, or who needs updating on the latest tools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Learning Web design, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Web Design: A Beginner's Guide to HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and Web Graphics (Paperback)
this book is a bit difficult to follow as the examples are not explicit.
The author does not give examples of what she talks about, for the reader to really see their outcomes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Web Design: A Beginner's Guide to HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and Web Graphics (Paperback)
Although I have a programming background and basic knowledge of HTML, version 5 is new to me as are CSS. My preferred style of learning is very much step-by-step with narrative closely linked to those steps. I like to see a clear a-z path that those steps will take me along. While this book is partitioned logically, it doesn't have a strong enough roadmap for me to make it a 5/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent starter book on web design, 22 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Web Design: A Beginner's Guide to HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and Web Graphics (Paperback)
I came to this book with some coding experience but none whatsoever on web design. The book is well laid out gets you started quickly; it explains the clearly what you need to do, why you have to do it and seems very focused on 'good practice'.

The way it is laid out makes it also ideal as a reference book once you start designing websites. It also has a couple of chapters on JavaScript (although I haven't got to those yet)

If you want to learn the basics (and beyond) of HTML 5 and CSS this is the book to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to follow and great for beginners!, 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Web Design: A Beginner's Guide to HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and Web Graphics (Paperback)
Easy to follow and great for beginners. I would advise anyone looking to start webdesign to give it a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book for web design beginners, 15 Dec 2013
By 
Denis Vukosav - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Learning Web Design: A Beginner's Guide to HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and Web Graphics (Paperback)
"Learning Web Design" written by Jennifer Niederst Robbins is book intended for beginners in web design profession. On its 600 pages student will be taught about basics of HTML, CSS, JavaScript and jQuery but also there can be found some additional information about graphics and their implementation in web design process.

The book main quality is the way it's laid out - with lot of nice illustrations and different colors most important things are highlighted, examples for each and every thing mentioned is included, there are even some small funny comics inside making it a very well put together book. The author intended to graphically show her ideas, to show how to implement them and she did it successfully. Where this book excels is with the introduction of new HTML tags and CSS rules with useful information about browser support and techniques that allow older browsers to benefit from the features of newer language code. The book mainly discusses more restrictive XHTML structure, but in the examples HTML markup is being used.

Book great add-on is inclusion of the links to websites related to topics discussed allowing student to see live examples. These links would help student e.g. how to improve page loading speed or use tips and tricks about most useful JavaScript libraries available. The students are encouraged to continue developing their skills exploring subjects introduced in the book, like responsive design and progressive enhancement.

The book doesn't have major flaws, for some readers maybe additional information could be given about integration of social media into websites and more information about jQuery would be welcome, but in my opinion for those interested there are many books on the market (few of them I already reviewed - JavaScript: The Definitive Guide, JavaScript: The Good Parts, JavaScript & jQuery: The Missing Manual... - feel free to look) where all necessary information can be found.

To be able to design websites many skills are needed, including writing content in HTML and style web pages using CSS. "Learning Web Design" in its fourth edition covered the latest advancements in HTML5 and CSS3, gave introduction to JavaScript and graphics needed to create first efficient and nice looking webpages but also included lot of reference where to go next to be able to continue learning process. Evolution of web design is anyone's guess, but with this book every beginner in web design will get a good foundation what can be done with technology these days.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book and example exercises downloaded are great., 2 Dec 2012
By 
D. G. Sinclair (Horsham, Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Web Design: A Beginner's Guide to HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and Web Graphics (Paperback)
Got this as recommended by tutor on Web Design course I'm doing. It would be possible to get relatively proficient using this alone, but alongside the course I'm doing it's great. You won't become the world's premier web designer from this but it'll let you design reasonable websites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Starter, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Web Design: A Beginner's Guide to HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and Web Graphics (Paperback)
This book really emphasizes on the basics of web design and does so very well, it will set you off to a good foundation for more advanced coding and such.
However as I said, it is only for those who are completely new to the web design world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Learning Web Design, 11 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning Web Design: A Beginner's Guide to HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and Web Graphics (Paperback)
I particularly like the ease of use of the index in order to find subject matter I require but is not 'next in line' in the text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Learning Web Design: A Beginner's Guide to HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and Web Graphics
Learning Web Design: A Beginner's Guide to HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and Web Graphics by Jennifer Niederst Robbins (Paperback - 24 Aug 2012)
£22.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews