Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid introduction, well written
Have you heard about Git but not sure what is it? This book will give you nearly complete explanation of what Git is all about. In my personal opinion, one of the best introductions to Git. Ever. The book covers most common topics and does it right. In case you are complete beginner, it provides initial Git setup section. So, be afraid not. If you prefer to use Windows...
Published on 15 Jan. 2013 by mko

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amusingly titled, this Linux software guide is reasonably clear ...
Amusingly titled, this Linux software guide is reasonably clear but perhaps a little basic according to the feedback I've been given. Other titles or workshops may be of greater use
Published 3 months ago by Awesome_Outlaw


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid introduction, well written, 15 Jan. 2013
Have you heard about Git but not sure what is it? This book will give you nearly complete explanation of what Git is all about. In my personal opinion, one of the best introductions to Git. Ever. The book covers most common topics and does it right. In case you are complete beginner, it provides initial Git setup section. So, be afraid not. If you prefer to use Windows over Linux or OS X, you will be told how to setup things as well. What's most important is that all the concepts are well illustrated and well explained with pictures and examples. However, sometimes you will have to focus on what you read to get the complete knowledge of the topic. It's not just that you flip the pages and that's it. When it comes to scientific jargon I'd say it's on the moderate level. For readers, having knowledge of the terms related to source management systems would be a plus here, but is not necessary.

Just one warning, in case you are purely Windows user and you have got used to work with GUI only. You will have to go back to CLI while reading this book. I don't say this is wrong, not at all, but it might be a challenge for some Windows users.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, could be improved by including more detail on OSX and Windows with some links to graphical tools., 3 Jan. 2013
By 
Ryan O'neill (Ludlow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Version Control with Git: Powerful tools and techniques for collaborative software development (Paperback)
An easy read and makes a lot of sense for someone with existing version control knowledge (Subversion, CVS etc.).

If you are starting from scratch and have not used source control before then you'll find all the new concepts too overwhelming. That's not an issue with the book, it's just not pitched at the beginner level.

The content is primarily focussed on the Linux tools but that's not a problem as these have all been ported to the other platforms (client installation is covered early on). Because of this Linux focus the graphical tools are not shown which would be an easier way in for non-command line oriented developers. To get a decent understanding of Git I'm going to be using the command line for a month anyway.

My (minor) gripes over with, I would really recommend this book is used as a training aid, working through a chapter every day perhaps (some chapters are heavy or can be skimmed, you can always come back to them later). New concepts and terminology are covered well which is really useful as I'd no idea what Stash, Rebase and Reflog were about.

If I could have a wishlist for the 3rd edition it would be to include chapters on both Windows and OSX, plus a chapter on the top rated graphical clients.

In summary, buy this book. If you are new to source control or just don't like the command line, supplement it with a decent graphical toolset such as TortoiseGit (you can find tons of them for most platforms at[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive but not a quick-start practical guide, 21 Feb. 2015
By 
This review is from: Version Control with Git: Powerful tools and techniques for collaborative software development (Paperback)
This is the best introduction to git I've found. It explains things clearly, and step-by-step, in non-confusing terminology, which already puts it ahead of 95% of the competition. It also explains things incrementally.

The reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because it takes till page 97 before starting to explain "checkout" and page 154 before explaining how to restore an old stage of the project (a previous "commit", in the jargon). My suspicion is that a lot of people will just want to start using the simplest functions of git, on a single branch (line of development): stashing away successive versions and, if catastrophe strikes, returning to a previous version. After that they will hopefully keep reading, when they need to.

Unfortunately, also, gitk (GUI tool for displaying "change graphs") doesn't work out of the box with (64-bit) cygwin (you have to install Cygwin's xinit component... google for enlightenment).

Given the pace of change in apps these days it might be nice if books like this had a webpage associated with them where the author could jot down notes about handling "change management" after the book comes out. Slightly ironic given the book's subject, as git is the world's 21st century "change management" tool
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful guide to the 'Information Manager from Hell'., 4 May 2014
By 
P. A. Bristow (Kendal, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Version Control with Git: Powerful tools and techniques for collaborative software development (Paperback)
Clearly and nicely written with many worked examples, but Linux-centric - no mention of Windows, and little on GUI interfaces, so expect to use the command line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amusingly titled, this Linux software guide is reasonably clear ..., 12 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Version Control with Git: Powerful tools and techniques for collaborative software development (Paperback)
Amusingly titled, this Linux software guide is reasonably clear but perhaps a little basic according to the feedback I've been given. Other titles or workshops may be of greater use
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars reasonable book, 4 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Version Control with Git: Powerful tools and techniques for collaborative software development (Paperback)
The target audience is the one that want to understand what is under the hood.
The version 2 has no much added value.

But for daily use it is insuffient.
With daily use I mean cherry-pick problems, cleaning, showing what files are in commit. Cherry picking from a different repository. Egit corrupting your git. etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Version Control with Git: Powerful tools and techniques for collaborative software development
£24.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews