Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent tool
If you are looking for a great Filemaker resource -this is it as far as I am concerned.
I only downloaded this book yesterday and in 1/2 hour I have learned or been reminded of some amazing time saving tips. Having as a kindle version is also brilliant as it means I always have it with me (even if only on iphone) also am able to annotate it so I can find the bits...
Published on 8 Aug 2012 by Zoot

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not at all complete
I have always purchased the missing manuals when buying softwares, and normally they are 5 star. However, this manual let me down badly on one of the most important functions.... that is emailing to found records. The setting up advice was sparse to say the least, no tips on trouble shooting, no mention of a plug in required to run with Outlook and generally in this area...
Published 17 months ago by nepule


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent tool, 8 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are looking for a great Filemaker resource -this is it as far as I am concerned.
I only downloaded this book yesterday and in 1/2 hour I have learned or been reminded of some amazing time saving tips. Having as a kindle version is also brilliant as it means I always have it with me (even if only on iphone) also am able to annotate it so I can find the bits that were important to me without having to make notes on scraps of paper.
This book is really well written and I would imagine it being of benefit to new users as well as Power users that are referred to with extra more tehcnical tips in each chapter.
I have been developing with Filemaker "in house" for 8+ years and this is the best resource I have come accross.
The Filemaker Traiing Series is very good but I am actually finding this more "real world" and better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are starting out from scratch its a good book, I've managed to write a database, and wanted learn more about scripting, the book does go into scripting but there isn't many examples or explanations to help a beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can highly recommend this Missing Manual, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FileMaker Pro 12: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
Excellent Guide - lots of information and written in a logical, clear, easily understood manner. Plus, a good Index makes it easy to find out how to do a specific task. I haven't found any errors so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent reference book for beginners and intermediates, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FileMaker Pro 12: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
As an experienced programmer of 'old-fashioned' IT systems, I struggled with FileMaker until I read this book. Some popular series of manuals can be frivolous and patronising towards dummies, but this one just tells you what you need to know. At 900+ pages, it's packed with useful info. Just don't try to read it all at once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not at all complete, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always purchased the missing manuals when buying softwares, and normally they are 5 star. However, this manual let me down badly on one of the most important functions.... that is emailing to found records. The setting up advice was sparse to say the least, no tips on trouble shooting, no mention of a plug in required to run with Outlook and generally in this area a big let down. I have used Filemaker over the past ten years, but feedback tells me this software has had it's day. I maybe wrong on this, but when seeking advice, met mostly with - you are still using that software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FileMaker Pro 12: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
I have found this book packed with lots of practical tips for developing FileMaker Pro 12 databases. I highly would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Comprehensive Manual, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FileMaker Pro 12: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
And a useful doorstop / small step too!
A must for every Filemaker home.
I'm only adding more words as I have to to post this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Filemake Pro12 review, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FileMaker Pro 12: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
I am looking for a book to give a complete newcomer a quick start in creating and using a Filemaker Pro12 db. I am previously an Access user and moved to MAC. Maybe Filemaker is as easy as Access but I haven't been able to find it through this book as yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good way to start, 7 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FileMaker Pro 12: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
As everybody else I checked the reviews. So far the book is quite good, better than many others. Recommended for beginners
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent all rounder, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FileMaker Pro 12: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
I am familiar with databases but didn't have the first clue about FileMaker (a recent Mac convert), so I wanted a book that was comprehensive. This book starts from the beginning; what is a database... What surprised me was my reluctance to skip bits, I thought-I know all this, yet I was still compelled to read on. Nice style of writing, not too formal, all terms explained clearly without being condescending to migrating database programmers.

If you need a comprehensive FileMaker Pro 12 manual - this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

FileMaker Pro 12: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals)
FileMaker Pro 12: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) by Stuart Gripman (Paperback - 3 Aug 2012)
18.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews