Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most comprehensive books for Photoshop
O'Reilly's series of 'Missing Manual' books is one of the few that very comprehensively cover their respective subject. The other major contenders are Wiley's 'Bible' or 'For Dummies' series and there are others which may usually hit the short-list, but not consistently.

It is difficult to say whether one series or which of the corresponding titles from each is...
Published on 16 Aug 2012 by Andy_atGC

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Photoshop guide to CS6
A heavy volume - I have found a different book on CS6 that is much easy to read and understand
Published 21 months ago by Ted Burnham


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Photoshop CS6 "the missing manual", 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photoshop CS6: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
This book focuses on the Standard edition of Photoshop CS6 and in my opinion really lives up to the "Missing Manual" name. I am a Photoshop newbie and I can honestly say this book has been a godsend. The book covers all the previous edition tools, tricks and tips in addition to fully explaining all of the new features available in CS6. Be aware though that the extra features of CS6 Extended are not covered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars well titled 'THE MISSING MANUAL', 18 Feb 2013
By 
Jim Dunne (ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photoshop CS6: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
Just started in to this title,initial impression is good.appears to be a lot of information in here. look forward to reading sections from it and trying them out on CS6.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Photoshop CS6 Bible, 4 Jan 2013
By 
John Dowsett (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photoshop CS6: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
At last a book that teaches you the facts without unnecessary jokes and banter. Not a book to read from cover to cover but ideal to look up detailed instructions on using the many hundred techniques available in Photoshop
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Should be shipped free with CS6, 22 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Why can't Adobe themselves do this sort of manual?
Until that question is answered, you'll be glad someone else does; and does it very well indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy Two and Pay for Two, 17 Sep 2012
By 
G.W.P. "woodpecker" (Lancashire, England.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photoshop CS6: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
I started "Shopping" as an hobby seven or eight years ago with Elements 6 and have slowly progressed through the series to my latest version - CS6 Extended. My main tutorial source has always been "The Missing Manual" title, usually backed up with a cheaper supplementary volume. These extras were looked at once or twice and then forgotten. This time, after reading all the reviews, I opted for the "Bible" to be my second source. To date, I have not opened my "Photoshop CS 6" manual as the "Bible" is so well and clearly written. However, based on my past knowledge and experience of Lesa Snider's work I feel that a fair critical comparison would be 50.5/49.5% in favour of the "Bible"; both are invaluable works!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great For New and Seasoned Photoshop Users, 26 Jun 2012
This review is from: Photoshop CS6: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
Excerpt from the full review at TipSquirrel.com:

Might one expect that with the new book might come a shiny new layout? Not a bit of it, and that's great. The beauty of the Missing Manuals are their simplicity to use, while giving a depth of information. Lesa strikes this chord amazingly well and incorporates something that, as a user of this type of book every day, I have come to appreciate; personality.

A quick scan through the book will tell you that many, if not all, the images have been taken by Lesa and as such we are connecting with her. Along with this is the feeling that these are real world projects, with real world techniques and solutions. Each tool, Filter, Pallette has it's own image to explain what's happening and how to best use it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Photoshop guide to CS6, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photoshop CS6: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) (Paperback)
A heavy volume - I have found a different book on CS6 that is much easy to read and understand
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Photoshop CS6: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals)
Photoshop CS6: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) by Lesa Snider (Paperback - 28 May 2012)
£28.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews