Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 200 recipes in this Arduino Cookbook
This (second edition) is an outstanding guide to the Arduino environment. It is probably not for the absolute beginner, who would find "Getting Started with Arduino" by Massimo Banzi a clear and concise introduction. By contrast this 700 page Cookbook covers a huge range of topics, from using the C++ language to do simple arithmetic to detailed control of associated...
Published on 3 Jun 2012 by Kingjohn

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not very easy to understand
The book has an excellent content with a various amount of information. However is not very easy the understand and sometimes the author choose not the simple way to describe a principle. I don't think he has the gift to explain what he allready knows. I didn't find it very pedagogical even that I'm not really a beginner in Arduino boards and programming. I found also a...
Published on 8 Jun 2011 by Birbal


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 200 recipes in this Arduino Cookbook, 3 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arduino Cookbook (Paperback)
This (second edition) is an outstanding guide to the Arduino environment. It is probably not for the absolute beginner, who would find "Getting Started with Arduino" by Massimo Banzi a clear and concise introduction. By contrast this 700 page Cookbook covers a huge range of topics, from using the C++ language to do simple arithmetic to detailed control of associated hardware. The 18 chapters are arranged in a total of over 200 sections, each of which contains a recipe describing a task, a circuit diagram and sample computer code where appropriate, followed by a detailed discussions which are in effect mini tutorials. The style is concise, extremely clear and objective - the author being able to make his point without being patronising and without any misguided attempts to liven the text with unnecessary humour. It is extraordinarily comprehensive; with four different recipes for controlling ordinary DC motors, as well as sections on stepper motors and servos. Using these recipes you will be able to communicate with other Arduinos, with your PC and with Web pages. You will also be able to send Twitter messages containing sensor data, keeping you informed even when off-site. It does not stop there, as with other O'Reilly books, there is comprehensive on-line support. I did find a diagram with one unlabelled component. If I had not been an absolute newcomer to this world I would have been able to guess the component value, but instead I asked for clarification by email and received a response from the author within hours. With this kind of support you cannot go wrong! Heartily recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Book for Arduino enthusiast, 11 Sep 2011
By 
A. O'Hara "AOHara" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arduino Cookbook (Paperback)
I am a beginner using Arduino and the C++ programming language.
I cannot rate this book high enough for Arduino newcomers and am surprised at the low number of reviews compared to Amazon US. My first sketch was using the Servo which worked first time with the help from the excellent schematic diagrams.
My second sketch was driving two motors using a H bridge. Again, with the schematic diagrams I had a small track tank running backwards and forward using modifications of Michael's code. My next sketch used an ultrasonic transducer for distance determination for the above tank. I was able to download all the code from O'Reilly's website. Contrary to a previous reviewer I find the explanations clear and easy to understand. The code is well documented and I am already creating my own functions instead of copying willy nilly. With twenty pages of an Index it is not difficult to locate information. There are numerous tips and tricks covering code problems, electronic components, reading data sheets and other resources. From being a failed hobbyist assembly code programmer trying to get PICs to work, I now can realise my projects with ease thanks to this cookbook. Yes, you can find most of the examples on the web but having a 600 page reference saves a great deal of time. If you are new to Arduino this is the only book you will need. Look at the US reviews from the experienced Arduino programmers for confirmation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Go For It!, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arduino Cookbook (Kindle Edition)
There seem to be lots of starter books for those starting out with the Arduino. This book is about twice the price and starts out with the most basic steps but takes you as far as you wish to go. I bought it because it seemed a false economy to buy a beginners and finding that once I'd 'got the lights flashing' I couldn't get any further. I think I did the right thing

The book is well written and takes you step by step through programming the Arduino. It will still be useful to you a long time after you progress beyond beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for beginners, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arduino Cookbook (Paperback)
As a complete beginner to Arduino I can't overstate how helpful and comprehensive this book is. The sketches and associated diagrams are great and they work first time. There is lots of information on the Internet and I have tried to use it . Mostly there are errors and differences of opinion from experts which only confuse. This book is simple to understand and will get you going quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful Reference, 22 Nov 2011
This review is from: Arduino Cookbook (Paperback)
I've been dipping into Arduino occasionally for the past few years and could in no way call myself an expert. I've had the book a couple of months now and it has proved extremely useful on a number of occasions.

Of course the internet is a valuable resource but books are useful too!

The book is clearly written and is useful for reference, as I have been using it, or indeed as a cookbook, for people wanting to try out some projects.

Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb book for beginners through to advanced user, 1 Feb 2013
This review is from: Arduino Cookbook (Paperback)
As an intermediate level arduino user, I couldn't be happier with this book. It provides all the information you could ever reasonably need, presented in a cosistent style that you simply don't get looking for solutions online.

It does not provide projects, rather than code snippets and explanations that you can piece together. If there is something that you often can't remember, that you're struggling with or that you are just starting out with, I would recommend this book highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books on arduino, 7 April 2012
By 
N. Elliott "Linux 4 me" (Isle of Bute - Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arduino Cookbook (Paperback)
I bought this book because I had read that it gave anyone reading it a clear understanding of both the hardware and software within it and I was not disappointed. I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arduino Cookbook, 31 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arduino Cookbook (Paperback)
Having migrated to Arduino for microcontoller projects, this book is a very usefful source of "C" code examples. As a "C" novice, It has helped me enormously. Arduino Cookbook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good reference book, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arduino Cookbook (Paperback)
Decent book of recipes. It could do better sometimes in explaining the theory behind some of the circuits though, but is still a great book to refer to in physical form when you quickly want a snippet of code that will do what you want, AND an explanation that it will work - sometimes it's easy to find something on the internet, but not so easy to determine if it's the best way of doing it or not.

It could do with being updated though - it's lacking in the latest sensors/displays (e.g. OLED displays).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arduino Cookbook (Paperback)
Everything that you need for your Arduino projects. The best collection of Arduino sketches, and a good reference for the robot builders
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arduino Cookbook
Arduino Cookbook by Michael Margolis (Paperback - 2 Jan 2012)
23.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews