Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great place to start, small but perfectly formed.
I think this is a very accessible introduction for someone wanting to 'get started in Arduino' (!?)
It gives you a bit of history and the philosophy behind Arduino straight from the horses mouth (the author being one of the founders of Arduino).
Some very basic and bite sized electronic theory is explained and then you are straight in being taught by actually...
Published on 15 May 2012 by Trev Jones

versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too simple by far for even just slightly geeky readers
Quite a few people have given this book a five or four star review (more so on the Amazon US site than the UK site).

So why am I giving it a one star review?

It seems mean to give it such a low rating as it's quite a cute little book.

However I suspect two distinct groups of reader are going to buy this book - and one of those groups...
Published 22 months ago by George Hawkins


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too simple by far for even just slightly geeky readers, 22 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting Started with Arduino (Paperback)
Quite a few people have given this book a five or four star review (more so on the Amazon US site than the UK site).

So why am I giving it a one star review?

It seems mean to give it such a low rating as it's quite a cute little book.

However I suspect two distinct groups of reader are going to buy this book - and one of those groups should steer clear.

This book may appeal to people who want to light up LEDs but never really liked maths and have never seen a resistor.

However if you have even the most basic idea about programming - assigning values to variables and calling simple functions - and are vaguely aware of things like resistors then this book is NOT for you.

It's just too simple - there is absolutely no maths (some might say great). One formula is introduced in passing (V = IR) but is never actually used. You just build the circuits as shown - you're given the what-part but not the why-part.

So while the purpose of some parts in a given circuit are obvious, e.g. an LED that you want to switch on and off, the supporting parts, e.g. resistors, are shown but why they are needed is not explained.

Basically this is a set of recipes which you can run through quickly with a child or a very non-technically inclined person.

I bought this book as I thought it might be a good refresher on basic electronics before going onto more advanced material. But if you've seen a resistor before, even if you've forgotten everything about them and voltage and current, and done a little simple programming then you already know as much as this book will teach you.

You're better off going for the much larger Arduino Cookbook, also from O'Reilly, note that this book too can be used by people who have no knowledge of programming (this is handled in a self contained module of the book that can be skipped by those who can already program).

If the Cookbook looks a bit too hefty and dense to start with then I'd recommend The Arduino Starter Kit (lots of people are supplying different starter kits now but I mean the one actually produced by Arduino - which oddly isn't available via Amazon) - it includes a much better book that covers a set of simple introductory projects that cover way more things (and the kit includes all the parts you'll need) along with more discussion of what is going on without being scary (an adventurous child, who's already a bit interested in computers and motors etc., would have little problem with it).

This book may be a good book for a certain audience but if you're even the slightest bit geeky look elsewhere.

To be fair in the book itself it has an "Intended Audience" section where the author states "This book is written for the 'original' Arduino users: designers and artists. Therefore, it tries to explain things in a way that might drive some engineers crazy." I'd be inclined to say though that there's very little explanation full stop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great place to start, small but perfectly formed., 15 May 2012
By 
Trev Jones "JONA" (Lincoln, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting Started with Arduino (Paperback)
I think this is a very accessible introduction for someone wanting to 'get started in Arduino' (!?)
It gives you a bit of history and the philosophy behind Arduino straight from the horses mouth (the author being one of the founders of Arduino).
Some very basic and bite sized electronic theory is explained and then you are straight in being taught by actually doing, some of the masses of things that you can er? do with Arduino!
I feel that the low ratings are by reviewers that should never have bought an introductory book in the first place.
That said it's a small book and when I'm ready I'll be buying a book at more advanced level but I'm not knocking this one at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointed, 12 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting Started with Arduino (Paperback)
This is the second book in this series that I ordered together. This book has 118 pages. The first 16 pages, are some cartoon figures and I just can't see how they are useful for a beginner! From page 95 to the end, is just the index, advertisements and C-keywords. The rest of the book is badly explained, there are no clear explanation of the tasks, NO real circuit diagrams, flowcharts but hand drawings of breadboard and the Arduino board. There are far better Arduino exercises and tutorials available in many web sites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A real beginners book., 8 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting Started with Arduino (Paperback)
I'm an experienced programmer but an absolute beginner when it comes to electronics and what I wanted was something that would help me with the electronics. This book doesn't really go into enough detail for me but does labour the programming too much for my needs. Maybe I'm being unfair because of my particular needs. This would be a great book for someone with little or no programming or electronics experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's too beginners-oriented, but it's ok. I was expecting more advanced stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not a book that explains getting started., 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book spends too much time on what is Arduino, what it can do etc. but not how to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money but not much detail., 16 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book does indeed 'get you started', but it leaves you wanting a lot more description and detail on the programming code. I also felt that there could be more detail on 'the sorts of things you can do with an Arduino'. Overall, a good first port of call for the subject, but you will want to read more widely to get fully up to speed. Suitable for those completely lacking in technical knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not so straight forward, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found the book a little short of explanations in some areas. It is also not very long, read it in a couple of hours
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Arduino book, 20 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Informative and a good introduction to Arduino devices. Quick to download on my Mac devices. Worthwhile addition to my Kindle library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars FAB Arduino starter book, 6 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting Started with Arduino (Paperback)
Does what it says on the cover, it provides an sound introduction to building projects with arduino.
well happy with this one.
After reading this I spent more time on the internet adding to my recently gained knowledge..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Getting Started with Arduino
Getting Started with Arduino by Massimo Banzi (Paperback - 23 Sept. 2011)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews