Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
10
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£33.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 April 2012
Im well versed in SEO and even more so now after reading this book. The authors I believe are members of SeoMoz so their credentials can be verified somewhere between the region of "Guru" and "Godlike".

Everything is covered from your basic on page optimisation (header, title, sub attributes of images and links and meta elements) alongside a very good explanation of passing link juice between pages. Right the way up to external campaigns on other sites. Dirty tricks like "Google Bowling" (refered to as something different in the book) are brushed over, but they are simply highlighting these issues to you to make you aware.

If you dont know any HTML, fear not, the book can be read from start to finish without loosing you in technical jargon. Although, if you are going for SEO on a developer level, you should be able to take techniques from this book and cook up some scripts for some awesome landing pages.

The only other books you may need after this are ones that specialise in certain techniques (such as keyword research etc). This book is primarily theory based and covers a VAST range of concepts you will need to understand. Implementing SEO is evidently difficult, as its different per site.

5/5 because it delivers exactly what I was expecting, I havent needed any other book on my shelf in regards to SEO.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2012
I really enjoyed this book because it shows you different aspects of web search. The best in the book is that when you read it, you say - "I knew that already!", but funny thing is that you still haven't put this knowledge into practice. After reading this book I have gone through my web page HTML and changed few things. I have also tried to put myself in somebody's else shoes and think what they may think when they look for what I can offer :)

I suggest this book to anyone interested in SEO. Not necessarily to people who want to start they SEO based business. If you want to improve your site you will benefit for sure as well.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
SEO is always changing and no book is ever going to be able to fully keep up with it. Also there are so many different elements of SEO and different issues connected with online marketing in general that it is very difficult to get the balance between depth, breadth and everything.

If you want a book on SEO then this book is as good or better as anything else you could get. My only criticism is that there are excellent online resources and articles that you may want to access instead of any book on the matter but this is a great single source and it is able to get across complex and technical information in an engaging and accessible way in ways that enable you to effectively action and develop your SEO skills.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2012
Search Engine Optimisation (SEO) has a reputation of being a rather mysterious, even clandestine practice. The aim of this book is to lift the lid on this art form.

The book's four authors are highly active in the SEO field and have associations with organisations such as the Search Engine Marketing Professional Organization (SEMPO), Stone Temple Consulting, Netconcepts, Science of SEO and SEOmoz. This high-powered meld of business intelligence, technical knowledge and practical expertise has the potential to deliver a rich reading experience.

So, I already had high expectations as I started to work my way through the book. A glance at the table of contents hints at a meticulous eye for detail and comprehensive approach. After reading each subsequent chapter this feeling is only intensified. The tactics and methodology covered range from straightforward but essential SEO information to deep, sophisticated insights aimed at the advanced practitioner.

Subjects discussed include search engine theory and behaviour, key analytical tools, the impact of social media, user-focussed data, effective website creation, result tracking, SEO best practices and much more. The text is full of links to relevant organisations, in-depth reports, appropriate industry analysis and case-in-point websites. In addition the content is supported by a website, artofseobook.com, which contains content updates plus hands-on resources and guides.

The authors also found space to include a chapter on the merits of whether to build an in-house SEO team or outsource the operation. At over 30 pages this chapter is just as comprehensive as any other topic, and of significant value to any manager responsible for delivering a high quality SEO solution.

Despite the detailed coverage I found the material easy to read and understand. My relatively limited SEO knowledge didn't allow me to verify the accuracy or fine-grained quality of much of the book's material. However, I can say my own SEO knowledge was greatly enhanced by this book.

In conclusion I feel The Art of SEO is an absorbing read for anyone interested in SEO, and a book that will become a well-thumbed encyclopaedic reference for practitioners. As the authors note in their final chapter, SEO is an evolving art form, so it's obviously difficult to write a truly definitive book. Yet, I feel the Art of SEO is as close as you'll find anywhere.

After all, in today's marketplace taking full advantage of search technology can be the difference between a dominant success story and a business failure.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2012
This is far the best SEO book I've read. It's full of ideas and techniques, and mercifully completely avoids the 'idiot's guide' technique (It's all going to be so easy if you follow my footsteps). I found it to be at a completely different level of seriousness, honesty, and commitment to informing the reader than any other SEO book.

Sure, it is a little under-edited, it seems the four co-authors were each allotted 'areas' to write about and weren't then properly edited (so subjects covered in one part of the book tend to show up elsewhere).

So it is not perfect but it is very good, and it is not hard, or pretentious. Just an honest getting-to-grips with the subject, and as another reviewer said, chock full of ideas, you can't dip it into it without being inspired and thinking: 'Gosh! I'd better try that!'
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2015
Very informative book on most SEO-related topics and areas.

I recommend this book - along with the wealth of information you can find for free on the internet - to people who are starting out in the SEO field. It also has valuable tips for more experienced SEO practitioners
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
I have a website in a really competitive market. It has taken some time to get the website ([...] to the top of Google. This book has really helped me understand more.Before I really did not spend enough time and effort on things like keyword review.688 pages so take your time getting your site well optimized.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2012
Highly recommended seo book with lots of examples and explanations.Detailed and in-depth description of seo techniques and methodology. Easy to read and follow.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
Mostly updated, but some content still based on 2011 data and information, suggesting a rush job to get the latest version out. That said, the content is excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2016
Good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse