Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good reminder for occasional Perl user
Like a lot of developers, I don't use Perl every day as my main development tool. Instead I use Perl occasionally to update configuration files, mass source code changes, development utilities etc. As a result I find myself forgetting the syntax, semantics, packages that I need to write effective (though perhaps not wonderful) Perl scripts to get the job done. I bought...
Published on 27 Jan 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No more useful than a reference card - but priced as a book
This book is grossly overpriced for what it is. The level of information is comparable to the reference card that came with a Perl book I bought years ago. It has more words, but the words are not more useful. For example, under "Smartmatching", there is a paragraph that is word-for-word identical with the online (perldoc) documentation, then a table which is less useful...
Published on 3 Mar 2012 by njdj


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good reminder for occasional Perl user, 27 Jan 2003
Like a lot of developers, I don't use Perl every day as my main development tool. Instead I use Perl occasionally to update configuration files, mass source code changes, development utilities etc. As a result I find myself forgetting the syntax, semantics, packages that I need to write effective (though perhaps not wonderful) Perl scripts to get the job done. I bought this book on a whim and have found it very useful to remind me about Perl when I need to use it - often in a rush. The O'Reilly "Programming Perl" was excellent to start with but too hard to use as a concise reference.
However the price tag / content for this book is too high in my opinion. Around the five pounds mark would be more reasonable hence four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good pocket reference, 10 Dec 2013
By 
SBno1 - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The O'Reilly books reference books are always a good comprehensive set of notes and the Perl book is no exception. Once you have an understanding of Perl the book will start to make a bit of sense. It is by no means a teaching aid, but it can provide you with a place to find the essential commands and switches in one place. It is a bit like a glorified 'man command' page, but with some examples.

I found this useful when I was getting to grips with Perl. I don't use the language so much now, but I still keep this book to hand as I can never remember the main command structure switches when I need them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No more useful than a reference card - but priced as a book, 3 Mar 2012
This review is from: Perl Pocket Reference (Paperback)
This book is grossly overpriced for what it is. The level of information is comparable to the reference card that came with a Perl book I bought years ago. It has more words, but the words are not more useful. For example, under "Smartmatching", there is a paragraph that is word-for-word identical with the online (perldoc) documentation, then a table which is less useful than the table in the online documentation, and finally a little "info" icon that refers you to the online documentation.

It's difficult to imagine a class of users who will find this book useful. If you have been using Perl for 10+ years and want to become aware of recently-introduced features (like smartmatching), the book's lists might be helpful. For anyone else, the book is really too superficial to be useful. Being a book, it's not as quick or convenient to consult as a reference card, but it doesn't have enough additional information to be worth the trouble of looking things up in it. For anything more than checking the existence or spelling of a keyword (elif? elsif? elseif?) you're going to have to look at a more detailed description anyway, so why waste time on this booklet?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reference Book, 13 Feb 2012
By 
Richard (Baden-Wurttemburg) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perl Pocket Reference (Paperback)
I brought this book hope to have a great reference book and guess what it is as expected. I could put it down. I definitely recommend this to any developer who needs to learn Perl in two weeks or less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and portable, 15 Nov 2006
By 
R. Bland (Dunblane, Perthshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I keep a copy of this in my briefcase, so I'm never stuck when I can't remember the name of a function, or the order of its arguments. It isn't a replacement for the full Camel book, though. This book will only jog your memory: it won't teach you concepts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Perl Pocket Reference
Perl Pocket Reference by Johan Vromans (Paperback - 2 Aug 2011)
6.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews