Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relevant stories to make you smile
As a frequent public speaker I very much enjoyed this book. I think the enjoyment came from the empathy I felt for Scott Berkun as well as his humour - he has a nice turn of ironic simile, almost on a par with that of Douglas Adams or of Raymond Chandler.

The empathy arose from the approach he as taken, which is an unapologetic personal take on his journey to...
Published on 1 May 2010 by Patrick Mayfield

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Incorrectly titled an interesting in parts
I'll preface this review by saying I read this as part of a book group. I was told that although it was a public speaking aid, it was in itself a piece of entertainment. This review is based on the Kindle version.

Scott Berkun launches into Confessions of a Public Speaker at great speed with a hugely entertaining chapter on why public speaking really isn't as...
Published on 24 Mar. 2010 by David Bowers


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Witty, conversational guide to making public presentations, 1 Nov. 2011
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Confessions of a Public Speaker (Paperback)
Futurist and best-selling author Scott Berkun knows all about public presentations. He speaks often at high-tech conferences and other pressurized gatherings. His easy-going, colloquial approach and unpretentious, folksy advice make this an quick, entertaining and useful read. Although about half of what he says is not new, the book is memorable because of his candor about the self-consciousness and awkwardness that most people experience when speaking in public. Berkun convinces you that anyone can excel at public speaking. He offers many techniques to help with the most difficult aspect: being yourself. getAbstract recommends this amusing guide to anyone who has to get up and talk to a roomful of strangers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An engaging and confidence boosting read., 23 Jan. 2010
A well paced read with memorable stories and points which you can easily draw upon when faced with a public speaking situation. Well rounded knowledge from every type of public speaking drawing on many others' experiences. Practical and thought provoking, I highly recommend this book for anyone else already or wishing to improve their presentation skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Packed full of great advice, 21 Jun. 2012
By 
P. Whitehouse "Phil Whitehouse" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confessions of a Public Speaker (Paperback)
Enjoyable, entertaining and very informative - this book is highly recommended for anyone who does public speaking. Hundreds of tips and pointers chip away at any shortcomings you think you might have. Terrific stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You'd be a wetty without it, 15 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Imagine reading a book that makes you x10 smarter than you were before on the subject of public speaking and laughing throughout it. thats is this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish I had read this some years ago, 27 Aug. 2010
excellent insight into the professional public speaking world in a relaxed and informal way. Some excellent hints and tips. Used in conjunction with Made to stick by Heath and Heath becomes very powerful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everybody has to speak in public, 24 Dec. 2009
And once you've got to do it, it's better to do it well. This book offers good advice on how to do that: practice, concentrate on the audience, plan for contingencies (what to do if your zipper catches fire from your laser pointer?), and try to deliver what the audience asks. It's an useful book even also for teachers and university lecturers; in fact, for anybody who has to deliver a message in front of a live audience. Even if I don't give it a 5 star review, I recommend it heartily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars highly recommended, 7 Dec. 2009
By 
M. Smith (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the best book on public speaking I've ever read. It tackles a serious subject in a highly readable and entertaining way. The suggested reading list in the back of the book is worth the cover price alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Confessions of a Public Speaker
Confessions of a Public Speaker by Scott Berkun (Paperback - 8 Jan. 2011)
£11.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews