Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AQA AS English Literature (spec B)
This revision guide was beneficial to my studies, it contained the exact information that i required and helped me prepare for my ASexaminations. I would recommed these York notes for anyone who is sitting the AQA ASEnglish Literature spec B examinations
Published 21 months ago by Frakhanda Shah

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing but still good value for
It's alright. As far as A2 revision goes it covers the bare basics and does the themes really well. However it is lacking detailed analysis of all themes and characters, and doesn't touch on the settings of the novel much despite them being key details. It does the trick for an introduction into the novel, but doesn't really do it for me when it comes to analysis. A...
Published 4 months ago by Hannah Tjandra


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AQA AS English Literature (spec B), 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby (York Notes for AS & A2) (Paperback)
This revision guide was beneficial to my studies, it contained the exact information that i required and helped me prepare for my ASexaminations. I would recommed these York notes for anyone who is sitting the AQA ASEnglish Literature spec B examinations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing but still good value for, 30 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby (York Notes for AS & A2) (Paperback)
It's alright. As far as A2 revision goes it covers the bare basics and does the themes really well. However it is lacking detailed analysis of all themes and characters, and doesn't touch on the settings of the novel much despite them being key details. It does the trick for an introduction into the novel, but doesn't really do it for me when it comes to analysis. A little disappointing but still good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wasn't very helpful, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby (York Notes for AS & A2) (Paperback)
Most of the content wasnt in much depth as i would have preferred it to have talk specifically about language form and structure in each chapter, rather than talking about the basic plot. some stuff was useful but the majority of the stuff wasn't particularly relevant or helpful for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good summaries but lacking in thematic analysis..., 22 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby (York Notes for AS & A2) (Paperback)
As said,

This is a good revision guide, giving a comprehensive and thorough approach to summaries and character descriptions.
However, it lacks in detailed thematic responses/analysis.

Nonetheless, great book which covers the basic motifs and themes of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent notes for As studies, 15 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby (York Notes for AS & A2) (Paperback)
I ordered this for my daughter and she has found this an excellent product the notes are very informative and has greatly helped her in her studies. The product when ordered arrived promptly and in excellent condition well packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny!, 20 May 2014
By 
Lisa (LANCASTER, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby (York Notes for AS & A2) (Paperback)
My daughter used this as a revision aid for her recent AS and she said it was brilliant. It clarified certain things and supported her original understanding so she knew she was on the right track!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great revision notes, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby (York Notes for AS & A2) (Paperback)
This really helped me revise for my exam. Great hints and tips for writing your essay and gives you more insight into the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 30 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby (York Notes for AS & A2) (Paperback)
bought this for my daughter who's doing A levels and she's found it very helpful , along with the dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great revision tool, 31 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby (York Notes for AS & A2) (Paperback)
Great revision tool, good for providing background and context to the novel. Useful to go back to again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars but some really good notes so definitely worth the money, 18 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby (York Notes for AS & A2) (Paperback)
Expensive, but some really good notes so definitely worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great Gatsby (York Notes for AS & A2)
The Great Gatsby (York Notes for AS & A2) by Julian Cowley (Paperback - 20 July 2012)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews