Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, not just for Blues, 26 Dec. 2010
By 
Andrew Walker "Andrew Walker" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a very readable history of Everton Football Club from their foundation either to 2002 (the older hardback edition) or up to date (with the 2010 edition). The format is chronological and the writing rattles along. The author has done an excellent job researching the history of the club and the team, but more importantly in expressing it in a readable way. He founded an Everton fanzine in the 1990s and his love of the team shows through in a way that any football fan can relate to. I especially enjoyed the chapters on the early years and the Harry Catterick title winning team of the 1970s. The only criticism I have is that the content is a little skewed towards more recent years - I'm always wary of the Sky Sports "Football Began in 1992" myth.
Overall, you don't have to be an Everton supporter to enjoy this book, but it would probably help if you didn't actively dislike them. Recommended reading for any open-minded football supporter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Declared interest!, 7 Nov. 2003
By 
Charles G Mills (Formby, Merseyside United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I am the uncle of the author so obviously have an interest but as a season ticket holder of 46 years standing really believe this is the authentic account of our beloved Blues from an academic historian as well as 'cradle toffee'. Our family's support go back to the founding of the club and James has done us great credit in maintaining the tradition.
This account is alive and comes from the 'Soul'. Would it be beyond Everton to put it in the club shop?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate Evertonians bible., 4 Nov. 2003
By 
Having spent most of my adult life reading dull sporting picture books this masterpiece describes the life and history of one of the worlds oldest and stylish football clubs. It is possible to read it in bit size segments or to digest the whole thrilling story from Victorian beginnings to the age of Moyes and Rooney. Written from the angle of a trained historian with a background in fanzine wit and irreverence, this book lifts the lid off the stories of footballing glories and puts the reader into a fans eye view of Dixie Deans 60th goal and exposes the trauma and decay of the Johnson era.
This book is thought provoking, funny, and most of all , an enjoyable read. James Corbett has excelled himself. Everton supporters and football lovers in general should put this on their wish list for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nil Satis Nissi Optinum, This Book Certainly Is Worthy!!, 1 Nov. 2003
By 
Mr. S. H. Davies "Darllen Darllen" (Caerwys, Flintshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
As an Evertonian this book has been a long time coming but the wait was certainly worth it. From the foreword by our very own Golden Vision, Alex Young, this book is impossible to put down. The first words of chapter one encapture what it means to be an Evertonian and go to Goodison to see the mighty Blues.
Seriously, this book is impossible to put down because of the sheer quality of the writing. It's brilliant to have a book of such quality written about the Blues.
We all know parts of the story but to finally have the complete story written in such a way is brilliant.
This is a MUST for any Evertonian!!!!! Sheer pleasure.
BUY IT!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everton - School of Science, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have to admit that James Corbett's book is one of the best histories on Everton Football Club, and at a bargain basement price too. One point that was highlighed in the book was that Widnes was a new town created for the Liverpool people who were moved from the city due to redevelopment. Runcorn was extensively revamped for this purpose, but both Widnes and Runcorn were towns in their own right. Undoubtedly a classic that Toffee fans will enjoy again, and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shcool of science, 10 July 2004
By 
D. Morris - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The peason who reveiwed this book captured the total passion, glory, dispair and grief, of a an Evertonian! It tells how a great football club can gain so many honours, but shruggle in a league which is dominated by millilionaires. Not a lot of people know that, in terms of honours, this club ranks 4th in the english league. But this book tells of the days when everton were certainly No1. Happy reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NIL SATIS-NISI OPTIMUM, 16 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book. Captures that inner feeling of every true evertonian.a good insight to what it ment to the players when they put on that blue shirt and ran out to the tune of z cars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars he was a much better played than Cyril Done whose frequent mistakes they seemed ..., 13 Nov. 2014
By 
Dr. Jack (Epsom, Surrey, GB) - See all my reviews
Toffee de luxe as this is one for true Blue Evertonians. The history was well researched and concise; I learned why Liverpool supporters apparently used to barrack Jack Balmer, even though (according to my dad who was from Everton - yes, I know EFC has not been located in EVeron for centuries), he was a much better played than Cyril Done whose frequent mistakes they seemed to forgive. He was a nephew of another Balmer who was full back in Everton's FA cup winning team of 1906. Now put that one in your pub quiz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And if you know your history...., 12 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perfect historical record of Everton football club. Feel another chapter is due following dithering Davies move to the dark side.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 14 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As an Evertonian of over 60 years the book brought back a lot of memories
Can only recommend it to all Evertonians what ever their age
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Everton: School of Science
Everton: School of Science by James Corbett (Paperback - 30 Jan. 2014)
£10.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews