Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Item for the Ultimate Hitchhiker
This is truly the ultimate item for the ultimate Hitchhiker's fan who thinks they have everything Douglas Adams ever wrote. There are those who collected the books through the years, but some of us weren't around back then. Celebrating the success of the books, PAN has reissued all the books in facsimile editions the way they were originally published, but in this package...
Published on 29 May 2003 by A. Perdiue

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars so obviously a fake
Bought this as a gift for someone.
They were desperately disappointed, with the paperback cover images.
They are so obviously a fake.
It looks as if the person who created the cover images could not be bothered to do a decent job in scanning the original paperback covers.
However, the content of the books. Brilliant.
But why would you wish to buy...
Published 19 months ago by CJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Item for the Ultimate Hitchhiker, 29 May 2003
By 
A. Perdiue "sybersatyr" (San Antonio, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is truly the ultimate item for the ultimate Hitchhiker's fan who thinks they have everything Douglas Adams ever wrote. There are those who collected the books through the years, but some of us weren't around back then. Celebrating the success of the books, PAN has reissued all the books in facsimile editions the way they were originally published, but in this package you get a nice slipcase for the five books. This is the way to time-travel back to the early days of Hitchhiker and ending with the tragic but enjoyable last book. If you think you have read every word of the Hitchhiker's Trilogy of Five Books, you probably have. But read them again the way they were first published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully bonkers, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Douglas Adams Collection (Hitch-Hikers Guide to the Galaxy) (Paperback)
i love hitchhikers, and these are replacements. my only comment is the cheap covers. they're that horrible gritty printing, with the lamest designs on the covers i've ever seen.
apart from that niggle if you haven't got a copy of these in your house somewhere you are living a life all the poorer for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Douglas Adams is a Genius, 20 Jun. 2008
By 
John Moseley (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is pure genius. The best thing to come out of the great publishing houses of Maximegalon Five since 'How to bury yourself alive in cream cheese', more popular than '65 ways to get the best out of your pet donkey' and altogether more bizarre than 'Beards: A history through time and space'.

In truth the series of five starts magnificently with the first 2 books, then fades a bit at book 3, which is a dog, but rallies magificently with book 5, which once again marks Douglas Adams as one of the cleverest and funniest people most of us never met at a party in an Islington flat once long ago.

I love the sound time makes as it goes whooshing by while I read this magnum opulence. I hope you will too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get in to the HHG universe at this great price. Douglas often surprises with his depth of ..., 22 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Douglas Adams Collection (Hitch-Hikers Guide to the Galaxy) (Paperback)
Hoopy frood dudes know where their towel is. Get in to the HHG universe at this great price. Douglas often surprises with his depth of wisdom as well as his easy touch at humour. HHG will make you laugh and think. Do not mistake HHG as 'sci-fi' or you will be bitterly disappointed. Think of it more as a wistful look at the Universe around us through the eyes of a witty, intelligent, tech-savvy Englishman. The earlier books have a lighter tone than the later ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice, 15 July 2013
TThe first book was the best and then they trailed off. The first and possibly second books are the only ones that are good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes for a good read, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought as a present, but then decided to keep it.

so my partner is now viewing the books in detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars so obviously a fake, 4 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this as a gift for someone.
They were desperately disappointed, with the paperback cover images.
They are so obviously a fake.
It looks as if the person who created the cover images could not be bothered to do a decent job in scanning the original paperback covers.
However, the content of the books. Brilliant.
But why would you wish to buy a box set of the original paperback editions?
To have the originals, or a very good copy of them. And this is a very poor copy of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My son loved them., 13 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Douglas Adams Collection (Hitch-Hikers Guide to the Galaxy) (Paperback)
Bought for my 12 year old son for this birthday. He loves them (I knew he would, I read them all at University, so being a good dad I thought get them a bit earlier, to stop the wasted revision time ;) ).
Can't really comment on the actual paperbacks themselves, as my son takes care of his books, so I expect they will last a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What do you mean?, you never heard of it!, 24 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you have not read it, why not?
Where have you been?
On the other hand you have it all fresh to discover - that is so unfair.
Still, our consolation is that we have taken solace in it for years.

Once you have read it, get the original BBC broadcasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good set, 13 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arrived quickly. Bought as a set of individual books for someone who has the complete set in one book but wanted to re-read the stories in separate books as easier to carry to and from work. Excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Douglas Adams Collection (Hitch-Hikers Guide to the Galaxy)
Douglas Adams Collection (Hitch-Hikers Guide to the Galaxy) by Douglas Adams (Paperback - 21 Oct. 2013)
£39.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews