Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This summer's must - read
This is the second book by Karen Swan that I had pleasure to read and be sure that I will be keeping my eye on her every next release. And I hope it's going to happen sooner rather than later because Karen is going to write two novels a year from now! Result!

The story follows Rowena Tipton, who is a professional photographer and who settles very comfortably...
Published 3 months ago by Agi

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A deep disappointment!
I was really looking forward to this book coming out. I loved some of Karen Swan's other books particularly 'Christmas at Tiffanys', but this one was tiresomely dull. The heroine was basically irritating, the hero was wooden and mainly absent and the plot about land reclamation in the Hamptons very boring. There was contrived tension between Ro and Ted based on the...
Published 3 months ago by Jolly Roger


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This summer's must - read, 28 May 2014
This review is from: The Summer Without You (Paperback)
This is the second book by Karen Swan that I had pleasure to read and be sure that I will be keeping my eye on her every next release. And I hope it's going to happen sooner rather than later because Karen is going to write two novels a year from now! Result!

The story follows Rowena Tipton, who is a professional photographer and who settles very comfortably into her life with her business and a long - term boyfriend Matt. You can imagine her surprise when Matt decides that he needs a "break" from this relationship, that he needs to start missing Ro again, and goes travelling to Asia for six months. And it's actually fait accompli. So Ro, after the initial shock, decides to spend her summer in the US, in Hamptons strictly speaking. She has luck to find, in a very funny way, a houseshare with three other flatmates, Hump, Bobbie and Greg. There is everything she can dream of: glamorous parties, tennis courts, horses, wonderful house to live in, fantastic new friends, brilliant scenery and there are endless chances for her to takes photos, the sky is the limit, so perhaps this once the summer without Matt is not going to be so bad?

The characters couldn't be more different from each other if you asked for it and this was a totally enjoyable fact. I loved Hump (the strangest name I have ever come across in the book) and his laid - back life attitude, Bobbi with her sharper than knife tongue, Florence with her ideas and I liked Ted, although he entered the story in a very stormy way. Greg was the one that I don't feel so much connected as to the others because well, he comes and goes as he pleases, although he was also likeable and in the end he proved to be the fourth musketeer:) But those were the four flatmates and their interactions that made the book so sparkling, so interesting, there was so much chemistry between all of them, so much friendship, they were functioning almost like a family. Rowena was totally open and could make friends with almost everybody in the world. In my opinion Ro behaved totally different around her boyfriend than in other situations and among other people. With Matt she was whingy, needy, tearful, not independent little girl and without him she was like Amazon, funny, strong girl. I absolutely preferred this Ro. Through the whole book, after every Skype conversation with Matt, I've been wondering if he is really the Obvious One for her, if he deserves her, such loyal, funny, bright girl. Her passion for work shines through the pages and feels very realistic, the way she speaks about her job shows that she really loves what she does. She is a new candidate for my best book friend, I could really imagine her to be a part of my life, as she felt so full of life.
Karen can describe the characters in a fantastic, engaging, realistic way and they all felt to me real. They were popping out of the pages and all what they said and did felt the same way. The dialogues were flowing and every situation could really happen. There was nothing uncomfortable in the story and everything fitted just right.

This book is built with many subplots but I have never lost my overview. It also deals with issues that I have never heard about before, such as flooding caused by the hurricanes, especially the last one Catherina. The hurricanes influence the environment and the flooding are a threat for the houses in Hamptons. Ro, after getting to know Florence, starts to be involved in this issue, which leads to a very unexpected (and I mean, VERY) twist in the story. I have never been into Hamptons myself, this idea of rich people spending summer there is only taking parts in sophisticated parties wasn't my idea of fun, but Karen has done a great job with presenting the life of Hamptons and showing that there is something more to this then only money. The descriptions of the beach, sunsets, of every place were brilliantly and interestingly written and they were very, very vivid, and I assume it must have been great for Karen to do research for this book:)

"The Summer without You" is a massive book, one of the longest I have ever read, but do not feel put off by this fact. The pace of the story is just right, it flows comfortably, there aren't any low points to this book, on the contrary, you can only expect twists and turns that take you totally by surprise. It was one of the most unpredictable reads for me and when I was finally peacefully reading, after some exciting action, there totally unexpectedly, came another twist, and then another and another, and this book has me hooked. Literally.

I have enjoyed every single page of this book. This is the second story that I've read in a short time that left me feeling very content and glad, and although I really didn't want this book to end, after finishing it I felt happy and was full of warmth and optimism. This is a glamourous, sexy read that you really can't miss, it is absolutely one of this summer's must - reads! It has it all: adventure, romance, travelling, potential love - triangle, drama, sun, beach and cold drinks - please go and get your copy, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous holiday read 5* is not enough xXx, 25 May 2014
By 
realovesbooks (South east London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I read my first Karen Swan book at Christmas and I loved it so I couldn’t wait for her new release The Summer Without You, what I didn’t expect was the hefty size! This book would be hazardous if you was to fall asleep reading it but luckily enough the storyline is so compelling there is no chance of drifting off!

Rowena or Ro as we come to know her has just bagged herself a Summer in the Hamptons after her partner decides he is having a pause in their relationship to go trekking! Ro is in for an adventure herself, she finds three fun and lively friends in her new housemates who show her a life far from her what she is used to. As she begins to make friends and work comes rolling in will Ro be able to go back to her old life and still have the same feelings for Matt?

I adored this book! I was put off by the size of the book as I usually find with larger books like this that they seem quite drawn out but I can’t say that about this book. It flows at a comfortable pace and there are no low points to the book in fact it is anything but! This author sure does like her unexpected twists and turns, this is what makes this book impossible to put down as you have to keep turning the pages to see what the next revelation will be.

There is a delightful group of characters in this book I loved each and every one of them they create such a light fun read just from their personalities alone. Ro was a fabulous main character, I thought she was going to annoy me and be a bit feeble after allowing her partner to put a pause on her relationship but I think she handled it pretty well and I think her time in The Hamptons made her find out who she really is. Her passion for photography really shines through and the pictures she takes are captured beautifully in the book I felt as though I could actually picture them. I loved Hump he sounded sexy, care free and fun which was just the kind of friend Ro needed.

The storyline was very unexpected it had a fresh, summery, fun feel to it but then it suddenly took a turn and had a more intriguing and eventful part to it. The descriptive writing was beautifully detailed which was something that I remember I loved from her previous book so this is obviously a strength for this author. I loved this book so much and I really don't think my review can do this book the justice it deserves, this author is fast becoming a form favourite of mine.

If you are looking for a holiday read that has a Summery feel but will also have you hooked from the first page with twists and turns then this one is pure perfection and should be top of your list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic read for the summer!, 22 May 2014
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Summer Without You (Paperback)
Rowena Tipton is looking for a new adventure, something exciting to take up her time as her long-term boyfriend has pressed pause on their relationship. Following a chance encounter at a wedding, Rowena finds herself auditioning for a coveted houseshare in The Hamptons – the ELITE beach scene – and suddenly a new life is what she has! Ahead of her is a summer with her three housemates, days on the beautiful sandy shores and parties on tennis courts. But with high rewards brings high stakes and soon Rowena finds herself caught in the crossfire of an intimidation campaign. And she finds the only person she can turn to is a stranger who is everything she doesn’t want, but maybe everything she needs…

I thoroughly enjoyed this! As with all of Karen’s novels that I have read – I was sucked in from the very first pages, I was immediately intrigued and wanted to jump head first into everything that was going on.

I absolutely LOVED the setting! I’ve read books previously and watched TV shows set in The Hamptons and that setting is a personal favourite of mine – I love everything about it – the lifestyle, the beaches, the views, wow. Karen’s writing is stunning – her descriptions are beautiful and really brought the Hamptons to life. I could imagine walking along the beautiful sands, looking out at the ocean, I could feel the atmosphere and picture each characters clearly in my mind. At times it genuinely felt as though I had been transported abroad and was watching every scene unfold in front of me.

I liked the characters, I found them fascinating and I liked how each character really had their own ‘voice’. I especially liked Rowena, from the beginning her story captivated me and I thoroughly enjoyed following her on her journey. I liked Rowena’s personality, I found I could relate to her and I spent the novel really cheering her on and wanting to find out what would happen to her.

The Summer Without You is a fantastic read for the summer, so make sure you buy yourself a copy, relax and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A deep disappointment!, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was really looking forward to this book coming out. I loved some of Karen Swan's other books particularly 'Christmas at Tiffanys', but this one was tiresomely dull. The heroine was basically irritating, the hero was wooden and mainly absent and the plot about land reclamation in the Hamptons very boring. There was contrived tension between Ro and Ted based on the daftest misunderstandings on Ro's part and little passion. The characters seemed very unrealistic and there was some bad editing.

I think Karen Swan can do much better than this, but I won't be waiting with bated breath for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 18 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I absolutely love Karen Swan's books, I have read all of them to date and have loved each one. This book i found i couldn't put down (like all the others too) some parts were alittle obvious in what would happen but then theres twists and turns and you doubt whether you do know whats going to happen right til the last chapter. Its a fantastic read and i thoroughly enjoyed it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great summer read, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book and couldn't put it down! All the characters feel so real and the pace of the story pulls you along desperate to find out what happens next! It has plot twists and turns that you don't always see coming.
I've now read all Karen Swan's books and have enjoyed them all - and each one is so different.
Now looking forward to the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Page Turner, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Could not put this down........ thoroughly enjoyed it! Already I am looking forward to the next book by this wonderful author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 7 July 2014
This review is from: The Summer Without You (Paperback)
I thought it was really good, especially towards the second half of the book. I found it extremely hard to put down the book and thought it was really interesting to find out about the Hampton's elite. I loved all the characters as well, and the love story was really different but interesting, and a few great plot twists, while always keeping mystery over all the characters and the story. Overall I really enjoyed it and would recommend to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Summer Without You (Paperback)
Not the best book I have ever read but was very enjoyable and found it difficult to leave down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Summer Without You (Paperback)
Its on my to read list
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Summer Without You
The Summer Without You by Karen Swan (Paperback - 22 May 2014)
£3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews