Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully illustrated imaginative story for children about being yourself
"Mr. Tiger Goes Wild" by Peter Brown is an imaginative story for children about being yourself, about routine and the things and people that sometimes go on our nerves, but when we lose them, then we will realize how much we actually miss them.

Mr. Tiger lives in a city where everyone is polite, working every day the same usual stuff, never allowing them to do...
Published 7 months ago by Denis Vukosav

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Didn't think it was worth the money. Disappointing
Published 11 days ago by Helen Gee


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully illustrated imaginative story for children about being yourself, 2 Jan 2014
This review is from: Mr Tiger Goes Wild (Hardcover)
"Mr. Tiger Goes Wild" by Peter Brown is an imaginative story for children about being yourself, about routine and the things and people that sometimes go on our nerves, but when we lose them, then we will realize how much we actually miss them.

Mr. Tiger lives in a city where everyone is polite, working every day the same usual stuff, never allowing them to do something silly and different from the way things should be. Our hero after a while could not stand it anymore, so one day he had enough and began to perform all manner of nonsense, even intimidating his fellow citizens, that will eventually drove him into the jungle.
There Mr. Tiger had opportunities to go completely wild, but after a while he got tired of it all, started to miss his friends and decided to be again polite and return to the city.
Fortunately for him, while Mr. Tiger was gone people in the city changed as well, they were not so uptight anymore, what made our main character even happier...

With this book once again the rule is proven that a picture says more than a hundred words - although the book text is also good, the author did excellent job with his illustrations that made his work exceptional.
Brown, using India ink, watercolor, gouache and pencil, is making great choices for colors but also with slight differences in facial expression of book characters he manages to show a wide variety of emotions, far more than it can be done with sentences.
Also on the diversity of colors is greatly shown how a character can fit into some environment or doesn't belong there as was the case with Mr. Tiger being different than any other animals.

The theme and lesson of this picture books are also wonderful, its story being a metaphor teaching us on the one hand that we should not be ashamed of what we are, but also that we sometimes need to work on compromise to make people around us happier - we cannot expect for others to change if we are not ready for the same.

Therefore, "Mr. Tiger Goes Wild" is a book that can be recommended not only for children who will fully enjoy its pages, but also to those who want to make a picture book with beautiful and distinctive illustrations because from Peter Brown one can really learn a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely book, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Tiger Goes Wild (Hardcover)
This is a clever tale with gorgeous illustrations. I love reading this with my 3 year old. I would highly recommend this lovely book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Tiger Goes Wild (Hardcover)
I enjoyed it, i think my great niece did too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite contemporary children's books, 21 April 2014
By 
Ms. Madeleine B. Burrows (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr Tiger Goes Wild (Paperback)
Brown has the expressions of the tiger perfect in this book. The spreads are detailed and well composed; the story is original and well thought out. 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We Love Books!!, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Tiger Goes Wild (Paperback)
This is a great book. I has lovely illustrations and it explores an interesting subject (the taming of wild things) in a playful and children centred way. My 5 year old daughter and 2.5 yr old son, who are both crazy about animals love this book! We recommend this book to any child who loves animals and humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book, 17 Feb 2014
By 
T. neill - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr Tiger Goes Wild (Paperback)
Myself, my 5 year old and my 2 year old all love this book. Beautiful illustrations, a really sweet little story about being yourself. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Has a good moral message for little ones about self worth, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Tiger Goes Wild (Paperback)
Well received by grandchildren. Has a good moral message for little ones about self worth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Tiger Goes Wild (Paperback)
A beautiful book, my 18 month old son adores Mr Tiger. Money very well spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Tiger Goes Wild (Hardcover)
Didn't think it was worth the money. Disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mr Tiger Goes Wild
Mr Tiger Goes Wild by Peter Brown (Paperback - 30 Jan 2014)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews