Customer Reviews


394 Reviews
5 star:
 (223)
4 star:
 (94)
3 star:
 (43)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read
This is a good read, I have read Baldacci's books before and always enjoyed them, this takes us into the realms of the President and his family, the plot was sometimes a little imagination stretching, but all good books should have that ability to take the reader away from his/her on life for a while, I thought the final chapters were a bit short and the final end game...
Published on 20 May 2012 by snapperjon

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yet More High Jinks Among the Washington High Muckety Mucks
"True Blue" is an apparent standalone from the best-selling American mystery author David Baldacci, though it does bear all the telltale signs of having been left open ended enough that a series could be fashioned from its leavings. Baldacci, a native Virginian who still resides in his place of birth, boasts the rare distinction of having produced 17 consecutive New York...
Published on 10 Jan. 2012 by Stephanie De Pue


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 20 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a good read, I have read Baldacci's books before and always enjoyed them, this takes us into the realms of the President and his family, the plot was sometimes a little imagination stretching, but all good books should have that ability to take the reader away from his/her on life for a while, I thought the final chapters were a bit short and the final end game was a bit of a let down as to the finish of the 'First family'. all in all I would recommend this book for any fan of Baldacci and crime and mystery books in general
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1st place for first family!, 31 Aug. 2009
This review is from: First Family (Hardcover)
I have read quite a few David Baldacci books so generally knew what I was getting myself in for, from the opening page right through to the end of the book, was an unputdownable story of lust, love, hate and revenge. When after her 12th Birthday party is held at camp David, a little girl goes missing from her home, her mother (and sister-in-law to the most powerful man in the world) found brutually slain, and her brothers and sisters drugged, which all happens in the first 2 chapters you know something good is going to happen in the following 90 or so chapters. What does follow is a touching tale of how far a man will go to get justice for his daughter- even if that means taking out the first family!
Great Book well worth a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Complicated but fun to read, 22 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was unsure about this at first but then once I got into it, I realized it was a good story with some interesting ideas. It was, as always, well written by David Baldacci.
Sean and Michelle, both former secret service agents are brought in to find the kidnapped president's niece, working directly for the, very clever and focused, first lady. Then the plot gets very involved as well as a number of sub-plots.
Great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Blue, 10 Aug. 2010
By 
Ms. Morag Campbell (Norfolk England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Blue (Paperback)
This is a new author for me, but was really surprised that the book was excellent. It kept you wanting to keep reading, and I did. the story is about a sister of a (Female) Police Chief who was wrongfully imprisoned for something she did not do.... but you'll HAVE to read it yourselves to find out what happened.!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yet More High Jinks Among the Washington High Muckety Mucks, 10 Jan. 2012
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: True Blue (Paperback)
"True Blue" is an apparent standalone from the best-selling American mystery author David Baldacci, though it does bear all the telltale signs of having been left open ended enough that a series could be fashioned from its leavings. Baldacci, a native Virginian who still resides in his place of birth, boasts the rare distinction of having produced 17 consecutive New York Times best sellers. The book at hand, as I gather, most of his previous publications, is set in Washington, DC, and concerns high jinks among that city's high and mighty.

There is a high-profile homicide. Mason "Mace" Perry, who was previously a firebrand cop on the D.C. police force, until she, claims, she was kidnapped and framed for a crime has lost everything-her badge, her career, her freedom-and spent two years in prison. Now she's back on the outside and focused on one mission: to be a cop once more. She believes that her only shot to be a true blue again is to solve a major case on her own, and prove she has the right to wear the uniform. But even though her local police chief sister Beth is on her side, Mace has to work in the shadows: A vindictive U.S. attorney, Mona Danforth, is crusading for higher office by looking for any reason to send Mace back behind bars. Then Roy Kingman, a young lawyer who repped the poor until he took a high-paying job at a high-profile law firm, comes into her life. It was, you see, Roy who discovered the dead body of a female partner in a refrigerator at the firm.

Baldacci writes competently enough, however, he's told interviewers that he never edits himself for length, and this is a long book that might have been at least 150 pages shorter with good editing. And the action does eventually rise to fairly exciting. This book is a fairly quick read that demonstrates the writer does know something about bits of Washington that tourists never see. And the author writes with humor. But if this summary screams threadbare "same old, same old" to you, welcome to the club. I've previously read this author's The Camel Club and The Collectors, and disliked both of them, similarly: I never want to read another book about high jinks among the high and mighty in Washington DC if I can help it. But, unfortunately, my mystery book club, which is tied to the local library and accordingly is enduring tough times financially, had to read this. However, somebody must have bought those 17 previous consecutive books to make them best sellers; if you're among those people, you just might like this one, too. I didn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 29 Jun. 2011
This review is from: True Blue (Paperback)
I purchased this book before reading the reviews. Unfortunately, they put me off reading for sometime. I eventually got round to reading last week. On the strength of less than 100 pages i purchase six more of this authors books.
This book may not be the most believable plot but personally that's why i read Fiction.
It's fast paced, entertaining and the main characters are very likeable.
I'm a fan of James Patterson, Harlan Coben,Graham Hurley, Stieg Larsson trilogy, Val Mc Dermid, Karin Slaughter etc
If this book is one of this authors less popular reads i cant wait to read the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars True entertainment, 18 Sept. 2010
By 
This review is from: True Blue (Paperback)
True Blue is a top-class legal thriller, and Baldacci ticks so many boxes that many other writers don't even bother to consider. Set in two polar opposite worlds: the rich middle and upper classes of lawyers, police chiefs and millionaire philanthropists, and the scrape-off-your-shoe estates of junkies and gangs, Baldacci leads you deep and believably into each. Whether in a top-notch restaurant with a motorcade of bodyguards or escaping a drug-laden shack of a flat, we are immersed so deep into their worlds that we can live two lives in one book.

Mace Perry and Roy Kingman are fantastic lead characters, with Mace as a kick-ass ex-cop and Kingman the wimpy sidekick. The sizzling chemistry between them is gripping in itself, and even moreso the relationship between Mace and her police chief sister.

One of the best characters in the book, though, is villainous supporting character Mona Danforth, the culmination of every dragon headteacher, every grade-A student and Connie from Holby City.

Many sub plots are introduced at the beginning of the book, which makes it hard to see which one is going to be the book's subject. It takes a while for the wheels to start grinding because not enough time is spent on any one plot in order for anything to happen. But when they do start turning, they just keep speeding up and there is barely a moment to breathe along the journey. We zip from one twist to the next, and the shocks just keep on turning.

My only criticism is the book's 114 chapters. A single scene can be broken up into several tiny chapters for no apparent reason, and this sometimes interrupts the flow of the narrative. But that is just a small irritant in what is a tremendous story, with tremendous characters who live on long after the Ducati is fired up for the final time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Baldacci needs to up his game, 13 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Blue (Paperback)
It's not too long ago I read my first Baldacci book (the first Camel club) and I loved it. Since then I have read most of his books and they have been a delight. I had the same feeling with James Patterson's first books and especially the Alex Cross novels. But Mr Patterson has lost it, become too commercial and seems to have students writing his books and him lending them his name for the cover (I've dropped Patterson all together now). I'm saying this because I fear that Baldacci is going that way and what a shame that would be. 'Mace' is a lively character, but the whole book isn't written in what I would call Baldacci's usual style (what happened?) and the number of Baldacci releases within a year are going up (exactly as they did for Patterson). With the most recent reviews of 'deliver us from evil' I'm getting even less inspired. David - pleeaasssee don't do this to us.... Up your game and get back on the horse and deliver as you have done in the past!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As always fantastic, 13 Feb. 2010
By 
Ms. Kristena Woolford (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: First Family (Paperback)
So what did become of Sean King and Michelle Maxwell?? Never a dull moment with David Baldacci, Ive read all his books and still find myself holding my breath in anticipation. Just when you think you have sussed the plot in comes that always lurking tail spinner that makes you tut at yourself for missing it. Absolutely Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed..., 27 July 2009
This review is from: First Family (Hardcover)
I like Baldacci's books, I've read all the Camel Club series and this is the first of the King and Maxwell thrillers I've been enticed to read.

Lately, and this book is no exception, I've felt that his books lack that certain something. Don't get me wrong, they're well written, short chapters, genuine mysteries that leave you wanting to read on, etc but I think his character development could be better. King and Maxwell are not exactly appealing, so who should I care for? And adding in personal stories for maxwell here lack depth.

Baldacci is a better writer than to head down Lee Child territory of a no-brainer of a novel.

Good story, could be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

First Family (King and Maxwell)
First Family (King and Maxwell) by David Baldacci (Paperback - 7 Nov. 2013)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews