Customer Reviews


151 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Complex thriller with a web of secrets
Snow White must Die is the fourth in a popular thriller series written by German, Nele Neuhaus. In 2008 Tobias Sartorius is released from prison after serving a 10 year sentence for killing two 17 year old girls in September 1997. He returns to his parent's home only to find that they have divorced, the family business has failed and the locals are far from...
Published 15 months ago by C. Bannister

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Engaging without completely convincing
This is am intriguing read and the basic plot keeps you guessing as a young guy returns home after serving a sentence for a crime he may or may not have committed. While I liked the twists and turns and most of the main characters were plausible with interesting side stories there was a feeling by the end that the truth couldn't have been kept hidden for quite so long.
Published 3 months ago by tpryan


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Complex thriller with a web of secrets, 2 Jun 2013
By 
C. Bannister (Jersey, CI) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Snow White Must Die (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Snow White must Die is the fourth in a popular thriller series written by German, Nele Neuhaus. In 2008 Tobias Sartorius is released from prison after serving a 10 year sentence for killing two 17 year old girls in September 1997. He returns to his parent's home only to find that they have divorced, the family business has failed and the locals are far from welcoming.

The Pia Kirchhoff and Oliver von Bodenstein, the local police, turn up to speak to Tobias and his father when it turns out an accident they are investigating involved Tobias' mother. Pia requests the file from the murders and spots some inconsistencies; although told not to investigate further evidence indicates that the full story was not told at Tobias' trial.

This is a well told story although one you have to concentrate on; the cast is huge which combined with unfamiliar names can take a while to get used to. The characters are various, the big businessman, the kindly doctor, a few ambivalent parents, an autistic thirty year old who doesn't talk, the goth teenager who starts her own investigation to name but a few. There is also the personal life of Pia and Oliver which clearly has developed over time making me wonder why the decision was made to start four books into a series.

With plenty of intrigue the complex web of secrets is slowly unwound to reveal the truth and not without a few scary moments along the way this large book is perfect holiday reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow White Must Die (Paperback)
This is the fourth book in this series involving the characters Pia Kirchhoff and Oliver von Bodenstein although this is the first to be translated into English. Tobias Sartorius has been released from prison after serving ten years for the murder of two girls in his rural community. Tobias returns to much hostility and although initially decides he wants a quiet life, circumstances lead to him trying to prove his innocence. Then another young girl goes missing...
This is a well written book and I really enjoyed reading it in only a couple of sittings. The plot moved along at quite a pace and I liked the two main chracters. I also found it quite easy to empathise with Tobias. I am definitely looking forward to 'Big Bad Wolf' which is out in paperback at the end of the month.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unmissable, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although a little slow to start, this book improves rapidly as the reader is immensed in the absorbing storyline. Tobias Sartorius is released from prison after serving 10 years for a double murder, convicted on circumstancial evidence. Soon after he returns to his parents' house, local resentment erupts, intending to make his life a living hell. The locals have closed ranks to hide away their many secrets, secrets that must remain hidden at any cost. Then another girl disappears, just like the two that are still missing, the truth still buried deep in the past. I was hooked on this book from start to finish, it is the first I have read from Nele Neuhaus. I do love the way she writes and the twists at every turn. In one word, brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Engaging without completely convincing, 14 Jun 2014
This review is from: Snow White Must Die (Paperback)
This is am intriguing read and the basic plot keeps you guessing as a young guy returns home after serving a sentence for a crime he may or may not have committed. While I liked the twists and turns and most of the main characters were plausible with interesting side stories there was a feeling by the end that the truth couldn't have been kept hidden for quite so long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you like crime books you will like this!, 4 Nov 2013
By 
G. Cook "jillcook27a" (Essex england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Snow White Must Die (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As it was a vine pick I didn't realize that the book is part of a series so there are points in the book about the two main cops which washed straight over me which if you have read the other books will be more useful. Most of the characters are not very likable which makes it hard for you to fill any sympathy for them and the outcome. Some of the topics are quite deep and would not be suitable for a younger reader. If you like crime books then you will like this but it may take a while to get into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Complex mystery, not a thriller, hard to classify nicely written., 27 July 2013
By 
JK "Julie K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Snow White Must Die (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Complex mystery that's hard to classify. Doesn't read like a traditional police procedural and lacks enough pace/action to fit neatly into the thriller genre.

Snow White Must Die is all about slow building atmosphere and needs concentration to stay with due to the large amount of characters and differing time frames. The plot is centered around the backlash of a serious crime and reflects how all of those involved, from the past until the present, have been influenced.

Central character, Tobias Sartorius, committed a double homicide (or did he?) and now, newly released from prison, returns to the home of his parents only to discover nothing's how he remembered it. The family have changed in subtle ways, and not so much so, and their financial situation has become dire. As the novel moves along several sub-plots involving the family, particularly the mother, are opened up and when it's revealed a young girl has disappeared it seems Tobias could be the link.

From that moment on the police enter the story and the novel takes off in the direction of becoming a cat and mouse chase but; it doesn't really get there and those themes remain quite subtle and in the background.

The plot's complex and moves slowly because the author takes a long time to set the stage and place the characters. There's never any rush to hurtle towards an obvious, firecracker of a finale bur rather a gentle downward slide towards something that's really not too exciting.

I didn't find this particular novel a joy to read but both the standard of writing and detailed plotting are extremely good. I was also impressed with the authors ability to keep the plot under control while dealing with so many characters and the differing time frames. For those reasons I couldn't leave less than 4* but for my own personal reading pleasure I wouldn't leave more than 3*.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting book, good plot, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has quite a complicated plot at the beginning and it was a bit frustrating to begin with. It got better towards the middle and has a decent ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Snow White Must Die, 13 July 2013
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Snow White Must Die (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Nele Neuhaus is a very successful German author, who was initially self published - her very first novel, a standalone thriller "Swimming with Sharks", has just been translated into English alongside this book - which is the fourth in a popular series featuring her characters Detective Inspector Pia Kirchhoff and DS Oliver von Bodenstein. It is a shame that so many European crime series translated into English are published out of order (Jo Nesbo, etc) as I personally prefer to read books in the order they were written in and it was difficult to understand all the relationships between well established characters. That said, this is a very well written and plotted crime book.

Tobias Sartorius has been released from prison after serving ten years for the murder of two girls in his small, rural community - his ex-girlfriend Laura Wagner and Stephanie Schneeberger (the beautiful 'Snow White' of the title). Both girls were seventeen when they went missing and the bodies have never been found. The closed community resent Tobias returning and the only person who kept in touch with him throughout his imprisonment was his neighbour, Nadia, now a famous film star. Tobias returns to find his father's business has been ruined by his absence and, when he sets out to try to rebuild his life, the family are threatened and harassed. Living next door now is young Amelie, another pretty young girl who becomes interested in the case and then goes missing...

This is a complex plot; part involving the case itself, a side story about the discovery of a body and it is also about the established characters Pia Kirchhoff and Oliver von Bodenstein, who have their own personal issues to contend with. Many in the police department seem to think that Tobias was found guilty of the murders all those years ago and deserves little sympathy, but Pia feels that something is very wrong. She also feels, correctly, that the answers to Amelie's disappearance lie in the past and is linked to the fate of two young girls who have never been found. Overall, this is a good read and there is obviously a wealth of fantastic European authors yet to be translated into English and discovered by new readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the dialogue is not good) but if this author is a favourite in Germany then I must presume that the Germans ..., 28 July 2014
This review is from: Snow White Must Die (Paperback)
Perhaps it lost something in translation (the translation of, in particular, the dialogue is not good) but if this author is a favourite in Germany then I must presume that the Germans are easily pleased. I found the book rather childish in plot and very clichéd and there were too many pointless characters who just made the whole book muddled and difficult to digest. Neither of the lead police officers made any sort of impact on me - and the author tried too hard to make them interesting by creating a marriage break-up for one of them. The other had been married to one of the other minor characters in the book who was having his own relationship problems but, quite frankly, so what. Life is too short to read bad books and I shan't be seeking out any more of Ms Neuhaus's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars translated into 'american english', 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow White Must Die (Paperback)
Good, fast paced story telling. The 'americanisms' used in the translation, for me, were not a good fit in a european book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Snow White Must Die
Snow White Must Die by Nele Neuhaus (Paperback - 4 July 2013)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews