Customer Reviews


1,295 Reviews
5 star:
 (773)
4 star:
 (256)
3 star:
 (155)
2 star:
 (66)
1 star:
 (45)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down
I found this book a compelling read. From the moment I picked it up, I found it hard to put down. I liked the style of writing and the sensitive portrayal of the characters meant it was easy to be drawn in. It wasn't Philomena's story, however, it was her son's, but his struggles and the prejudices he faced throughout his life provided a harrowing tale made all the more...
Published 8 months ago by Di

versus
95 of 103 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Misleading!
If you think you are going to read Philomena's story - You are wrong. This is Michael Hess ( Antony) story. It centres on his journey through life feeling rejected and alone. He embarks on a career in Law which takes him to the Whitehouse, rubbing shoulders with the President, and partying in Gay Bars, progressing to a life that includes a sordid and depraved side, often...
Published 10 months ago by N. J. Dearing


‹ Previous | 174 75 76130 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A good story, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philomena: The true story of a mother and the son she had to give away (film tie-in edition) (Paperback)
A good true story with lots of twists and turns, well written, pity the photographs were put halveway through the book, gave the story away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must read!!!, 11 Jan 2014
Fantastic book!! Couldn't put my kindle down! Emotional and harrowing story, but a must read! Can't wait to see the film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars philomena, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great read.I couldn't wait to get to bed so that I could continue reading. Quite an eye opener on the sad past history of the catholic church.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sad story, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having seen the film, I wanted to read the book. A very challenging read and an exceptionally sad story. Very well written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars couldnt put it down, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was one of them books where you couldnt wait to have a few mins spare just to see what happens next brilliant read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a wonderful read, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I started reading this book on Sunday night 4 hours and I only stopped because my iPad died. I have looked forward to reading this book - it's now Thursday and I've finished. How the influence and weight of a church can destroy lives will never really disappear but the love of a mother and her search for her son and his search for his mother is a bond that was never broken. Always take strength from the most desperate of situations and love those around you and in your heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a fantastic life this man led, but also very sad, I could stop reading once I started, it was amazing! I couldn't believe the nuns let the mother's stay with the children for 3 years, it was out right cruelty, but things are different now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How can you go wrong with this paper-back?, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philomena: The true story of a mother and the son she had to give away (film tie-in edition) (Paperback)
Based on a true story this book is by a top writer, now made into a film and starring one of the UK's favourite actresses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars linny king, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Mrs. L. A. King "Lyn King - Bookaholic" (Worcestershire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed the book. Saw the film first and wanted to read more. Martin Sixsmith is brilliant with the book and the film is excellent to. Highly recommend reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real life tear-jerker, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is not quite what I was expecting, since it is more Michael's story, but the sad facts remain the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 174 75 76130 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Philomena: The true story of a mother and the son she had to give away (film tie-in edition)
£3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews