Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sir Patrick was my hero
The book is the usual mix of facts and predictions in the best possible astronomical way. Sir Patrick Moore was my all time hero and it is a pleasure to read the tributes to him.
Published 17 months ago by Donald Tinkler

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars PATRICK MOORE
THIS WAS A MISTAKE AS A PRESENT FOR SOMEONE WHO PREFERS AUDIO BOOKS AS THE PRINT IS TOO SMALL AND ALTHOUGH AN AVID FAN OF THE TV PROGRAMME AND PATRICK it will not be read
Published 15 months ago by enid armstrong


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sir Patrick was my hero, 5 Dec. 2013
By 
Donald Tinkler (Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patrick Moore's Yearbook of Astronomy 2014: Special Memorial Edition (Hardcover)
The book is the usual mix of facts and predictions in the best possible astronomical way. Sir Patrick Moore was my all time hero and it is a pleasure to read the tributes to him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep on Shining Sir Patrick!, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patrick Moore's Yearbook of Astronomy 2014: Special Memorial Edition (Hardcover)
Excellent book , with much going for it! Many pieces about the late sir Patrick included, I found them moving and got a lttle more insight into the man behind the stars!......Keep on stocking this book AMAZON, hre's one Amateur astronomer in your debt!..........................T.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Patrick Moore's Yearbook 2014, 25 Dec. 2013
By 
RTFishall "terry5680" (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patrick Moore's Yearbook of Astronomy 2014: Special Memorial Edition (Hardcover)
If you have any interest in astronomy and loved watching Patrick on television, then this is a must have to buy. I hope the Yearbooks will continue (and "The Sky at Night") in the future but unfortunately they will never be quite the same without dear old Patrick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Patrick is a Star, 3 April 2014
By 
Graham Davies (NEW SOUTH WALES AUSTRALIA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patrick Moore's Yearbook of Astronomy 2014: Special Memorial Edition (Hardcover)
This book is a fitting monument to a monumental man. So much bigger than life. We have all been privileged to enjoy his writings and other publications spanning two centuries. As he once commented, he had met one of the first men to fly, and most of the astronauts. I have been entranced by Patrick for most of my life and mourn his passing.
The format of this book is appropropriate to its purpose. The contributors have something to say about the man, and then about astronomy. It moved me deeply.
Patrick is not the only person to encourage my interest in astronomy, but he was certainly more constant as an influence than any other. For that I can only thank him, and thank the contributors to this fine publication.
Graham Davies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The last of a lost generation?, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patrick Moore's Yearbook of Astronomy 2014: Special Memorial Edition (Hardcover)
The usual indispensable guide for the amateur astronomer for the coming year.
this year the contributors have also put in there personal reminiscences of Patrick Moore who died at the end of 2012.
In the last 50 years virtually every astronomer , amateur and professional alike , can say that they were inspired to take up astronomy by Sir patrick - i am no exception to this.
A fitting tribute to a great man by his fellow astronomers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The one and only....., 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patrick Moore's Yearbook of Astronomy 2014: Special Memorial Edition (Hardcover)
If there is one astronomy book you buy in a year this should be it - every year. Still in one respect a shock that Patrick is not here to continue his involvement, but the new team have done a great job, and the tributes a very welcome addition this year. We must not forget.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patrick Moore's Yearbook of Astronomy 2014: Special Memorial Edition (Hardcover)
Wonderful book for anyone interested in astromony. Suitalbe for experienced and inexperienced alike. Loads of info. You cannot go wrong with dear Patrick, very sadly missed. Very prompt delivery. Highly reommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Astronomy yearbook 2014, 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patrick Moore's Yearbook of Astronomy 2014: Special Memorial Edition (Hardcover)
Excellent book. If you enjoy your Astronomy, you`ll love this informative and well laid out yearbook. Unfortunately only a token contribution by the late, great Sir Patrick Moore who died in December 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In Memoriam!, 13 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patrick Moore's Yearbook of Astronomy 2014: Special Memorial Edition (Hardcover)
This was a Christmas present for a budding astronomer! He did not put the book down until he had read it from cover to cover. Weather allowing he will show me what he has learned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Patrick Moore's Yearbook of Astronomy 2014:Special Memorial Edition, 27 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patrick Moore's Yearbook of Astronomy 2014: Special Memorial Edition (Hardcover)
I was very happy with this item. I was as described and packed well. The delivery was fast. It was for a present and the person loved it. I would use your service again thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Patrick Moore's Yearbook of Astronomy 2014: Special Memorial Edition
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews