Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very, very good.
A very honest and interesting account of Ricky's career and life, from his amateur days to the Senchenko fight.
A must have for any boxing fan.
Published 14 months ago by Ben

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Secretive!
Great insight into his career and 'demons' but his secrecy re parents fallout was baffling. Why 'pen' an autobiography but not mention important parts of your life. Too glossed over. Decent read though
Published 13 months ago by Hodgie


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very, very good., 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War and Peace: My Story (Hardcover)
A very honest and interesting account of Ricky's career and life, from his amateur days to the Senchenko fight.
A must have for any boxing fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ricky Fatton rides, 13 Oct 2013
What a book. This book takes the bits of Rickys life with unbelievable honestyand deserves to be read by more than boxing fans. Great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars happy to have read a unique story, 12 Oct 2013
By 
Charlie Suku (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very honest book no punches spared all out truth happy he has shared his journey with us top read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The People's Champ returns, 1 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book by Ricky Hatton. I was a bit dubious buying this book as I knew about the problems he was facing out side the ring I really did not want to remember Hatton for the way his career ended and the problems he had to face there after. I glad the book ends with him managing to find some peace, yes his trials and tribulations are ongoing and he will need to fight his demons on a daily biases, but he seem to be in a better and better equipped to deal with them.

If you read Ricky's first book The Hitman the first 100 pages are a condensed version of that book. Starting with Ricky's start in training and boxing. Unlike his frist book which started and finished with everything was going great in his life. War and Peace, as the name implies, deals with Hatton having to deal with losses for the first time in his career, the coming to terms with life after boxing, going off the rails in his personal life, and the fall out of all that. The people who stuck by him anf the ones who distanced themselves from him.

Even is you are not a Hatton fan but a boxing fan, you would still enjoy this book because Ricky brings all his skill including his sports commentary chop he picked up during his time doing analysis on Sky sports. Ricky does a superb job of his analysing his own fights, I honestly believe you cannot get better analyst than a boxer talking about boxing. Ricky's honesty about his fights and his opponents, I think his commentary was spot on.

This brings us to the Mayweather fight. I am impressed with the way Hatton is very complimentary of Mayweather's boxing skill, even though he cannot stand him as a person. I agree completely with Ricky about the ref, he does not make excuses for losing, but I do belive it would have been a very different fight if a different ref was asigned. For people who dod not see the fight. Explain to me how Mayweather was alowed to crawl on the floor but Hatton was cautioned? Or Mayweather jumped out of the ring over the top rope but Hatton had a point taken off for this.

I good book it is always nice to have the greats leaves a sport like boxing with more than he came in with. Too many time we hear stories of boxers broken down mentally, physicality, and financially. Unfortunately Hattons worst losses were outside the ring, but it is good to know he is dealing with them and in a good place for now. Go no Ricky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Open,honest and engaging, 12 Oct 2013
I've gladly rated this book 5 stars as any book that keeps my attention for a whole day must be worth reading.
I couldn't put this book down until I'd finished it, it's starts off with an in depth insight into Ricky's early days as a keen armature doing whatever it takes to learn how to reach the very top of his game.
I like how the book was built up year by year which left you feeling like you we're almost part of the journey.
They are some sad points in the book but I suppose that means no stone has been left unturned.
You could say that by his early 30's Ricky had been through a lot in life but I'd like to see as by his early 30's he'd done a lot in life.
The book leaves you on a high and happy with the knowledge that there are still many many fantastic things to come form Ricky.
Very down to earth, reveal all type book that is without doubt worth your time weather your into boxing or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A big hit in my eyes, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An absolute must read for any fan of Ricky Hatton and boxing in general. Ricky comes across with what seems like a No Holds Barred attitude to the portrayal of his life. Much like his fighting career it is direct, hard hitting and raw at times. I was always a massive fan of Ricky's (still am) so maybe he was already preaching to the converted but I think he has been so very brave with his honesty about some of his darker moments and the troubles with his family. You will be treated to a fair amount of the great sense of humor that has been part and parcel with Ricky throughout. A true legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Present for my husband, 7 Jan 2014
By 
Mrs. W. Jackson "freckle" (yorkshire, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War and Peace: My Story (Hardcover)
Bought for my husband as part of his xmas present. He thoroughly enjoyed the book as he is a Ricky Hatton fan and although he already knows quite a bit about Ricky's life it is always good to hear it from the person themselves. An honest and frank book about Ricky Hatton's life so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a great read, struggled to put it down. Goes into depths about a lot of things. Recommend to anybody
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a career, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good insight into Ricky's life. Just a normal boy who worked his way to the top of the boxing world. Ups and downs like everyone else. Must read for boxing fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rocky, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A Rocky road, a Rocky story and a Rocky ending. Very honest and open account from the legend that is Ricky Hatton. Good on you lad, an absolute pleasure being a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

War and Peace: My Story
War and Peace: My Story by Ricky Hatton (Hardcover - 10 Oct 2013)
£16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews