Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stephanie Saves the Day!
In this high-powered action mystery, Stephanie Plum (bumbling bounty hunter extraordinaire) starts with her life at a low point. She is broke, she has no work to do, she has broken up with her policeman boy friend Joe Morelli, and she has an unwelcome unpaid investigative job to find her annoying cheapskate Uncle Fred. But life does improve by the end, and Stephanie saves...
Published on 21 May 2004 by Donald Mitchell

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Somewhat Disappointing Read
"High Five" is a comedy/thriller about a bad bounty hunter called Stephanie Plum. It's, perhaps unsurprisingly, the 5th book in the Stephanie Plum series.

In this book, Plum's asked to investigate the disappearance of her tight fisted Uncle Fred who disappeared while going to complain about his garbage bill with the local waste management company...
Published on 30 Oct 2010 by J. Bowen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stephanie Saves the Day!, 21 May 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
In this high-powered action mystery, Stephanie Plum (bumbling bounty hunter extraordinaire) starts with her life at a low point. She is broke, she has no work to do, she has broken up with her policeman boy friend Joe Morelli, and she has an unwelcome unpaid investigative job to find her annoying cheapskate Uncle Fred. But life does improve by the end, and Stephanie saves the day!
If you have not yet read a Stephanie Plum novel, let me explain about her. She is one of the most endearing mystery characters ever developed. Fiercely independent, her attitude is always showing (although she may shake like a leaf afterwards). Tremendously attracted to aggressive men, she plays it coy as much as she possibly can. Prone to disasters, she keeps her chin up and keeps on trucking. Loyal to her family, she is often babysitting her Grandma Mazur when she and her Father are not hitting it off. And she makes her living by bring in people who are out of jail on bail and fail to appear in court. She gets 10 percent of the bail amount when she succeeds. It's a tough way to go for the former lingerie model, but it excites and challenges her to the core.
If you already know Stephanie, you will find her at her caring, jealous, lusting, nosy, sneaky, obtuse, hungry, and persistent best. She finds herself more and more attracted to Ranger (her bounty hunting mentor) and to Joe Morelli (her policeman exboy-friend). Yet she wants to be in charge, which sets up a great source of conflicts.
To give you a sense of how appealing I find her as a character, whenever she ignores an obvious clue I want to tell her to pay attention. With any other book, I find myself annoyed with the author for making the msytery too transparent. But you will want to read this book for Stephanie, not for the mystery (although it is a perfectly fine one).
Before the book is done, you will have experienced explosions, homicidal attacks, lots of gun play, Stephanie will go through a number of vehicles in typical Stephanie fashion, bail jumpers will be brought to justice, deaths will be avenged, Uncle Fred will be found, and you'll go to more viewings as a funeral home than you can imagine. The story is very fast paced and rewarding. Yet all of this is done with consistent humor and balance. So although there is a dark side, it is always overwhelmed by Stephanie's light.
The plot is very well developed. You have the main plot of finding Uncle Fred. To that are added important subplots of getting to know Joe Morelli better (even attending a family wedding with him), getting nonbounty-hunting jobs from Ranger, working on her diet, solving her financial problems, having an unwanted roommate, being stalked by a mystery man, and being hunted by a killer with revenge on his mind. Each of the subplots could make a whole novel if more fleshed out. The result is that you get a whole fabric of a life and her relationships here, moving forward and backward in time.
This book provides an unusually good balance of plot, character development, and humor. On the humor side, let me mention for those who have not read these books before that Stephanie is a very bawdy person in many ways, and the language and situations can have an overt sexual cast. So if you are offended easily by hearing about how a woman thinks about men sexually, you may not like the book. That's the only drawback I need to warn you about.
In fact, this book is so successful that is transcends the normal action mystery genre. Virtually everyone will find this book to be an engaging, uplifting read. I liked it much better than Hot Six! (which I also recommend that you read) because the mystery, the plotting, and the character developments are much better done and balanced in this one.
Overcome your disbelief that women can't make it in a man's world! Let Stephanie save your day by providing you with a wonderful read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stephanie Saves the Day!, 21 May 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
In this high-powered action mystery, Stephanie Plum (bumbling bounty hunter extraordinaire) starts with her life at a low point. She is broke, she has no work to do, she has broken up with her policeman boy friend Joe Morelli, and she has an unwelcome unpaid investigative job to find her annoying cheapskate Uncle Fred. But life does improve by the end, and Stephanie saves the day!
If you have not yet read a Stephanie Plum novel, let me explain about her. She is one of the most endearing mystery characters ever developed. Fiercely independent, her attitude is always showing (although she may shake like a leaf afterwards). Tremendously attracted to aggressive men, she plays it coy as much as she possibly can. Prone to disasters, she keeps her chin up and keeps on trucking. Loyal to her family, she is often babysitting her Grandma Mazur when she and her Father are not hitting it off. And she makes her living by bring in people who are out of jail on bail and fail to appear in court. She gets 10 percent of the bail amount when she succeeds. It's a tough way to go for the former lingerie model, but it excites and challenges her to the core.
If you already know Stephanie, you will find her at her caring, jealous, lusting, nosy, sneaky, obtuse, hungry, and persistent best. She finds herself more and more attracted to Ranger (her bounty hunting mentor) and to Joe Morelli (her policeman exboy-friend). Yet she wants to be in charge, which sets up a great source of conflicts.
To give you a sense of how appealing I find her as a character, whenever she ignores an obvious clue I want to tell her to pay attention. With any other book, I find myself annoyed with the author for making the msytery too transparent. But you will want to read this book for Stephanie, not for the mystery (although it is a perfectly fine one).
Before the book is done, you will have experienced explosions, homicidal attacks, lots of gun play, Stephanie will go through a number of vehicles in typical Stephanie fashion, bail jumpers will be brought to justice, deaths will be avenged, Uncle Fred will be found, and you'll go to more viewings as a funeral home than you can imagine. The story is very fast paced and rewarding. Yet all of this is done with consistent humor and balance. So although there is a dark side, it is always overwhelmed by Stephanie's light.
The plot is very well developed. You have the main plot of finding Uncle Fred. To that are added important subplots of getting to know Joe Morelli better (even attending a family wedding with him), getting nonbounty-hunting jobs from Ranger, working on her diet, solving her financial problems, having an unwanted roommate, being stalked by a mystery man, and being hunted by a killer with revenge on his mind. Each of the subplots could make a whole novel if more fleshed out. The result is that you get a whole fabric of a life and her relationships here, moving forward and backward in time.
This book provides an unusually good balance of plot, character development, and humor. On the humor side, let me mention for those who have not read these books before that Stephanie is a very bawdy person in many ways, and the language and situations can have an overt sexual cast. So if you are offended easily by hearing about how a woman thinks about men sexually, you may not like the book. That's the only drawback I need to warn you about.
In fact, this book is so successful that is transcends the normal action mystery genre. Virtually everyone will find this book to be an engaging, uplifiting read. I liked it much better than Hot Six! (which I also recommend that you read) because the mystery, the plotting, and the character developments are much better done and balanced in this one.
Overcome your disbelief that women can't make it in a man's world! Let Stephanie save your day by providing you with a wonderful read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stephanie's a delight as always but..., 6 Jun 2000
By A Customer
I got an early copy of the paperback in Bordeaux and fell on it. It's hugely enjoyable, I read it straight through no problem, sadly it doesn't have that extra something the four previous books did. Stephanie's as sassy as ever, the plot as wild and fast moving, but, and it's a big but, nearly all the sexual tension between Stephanie and Morelli has gone. What a shame! Morelli was quite the sexiest thing in print, now he's going almost respectable and Stephanie describing him as 'magic' doesn't have a fraction of the punch of their spiky encounters of the previous books. So Ranger's attractive too, but he ain't Morelli!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stephanie has man problems, 23 April 2004
By 
Joseph Haschka (Glendale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
In HIGH FIVE, the fifth in the Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich,Stephanie hits a new high in dysfunctionality when it comes to men.
Plum is a klutzy bond enforcement agent, i.e. bounty hunter, working forbail bondsman and sleazy cousin, Vinnie, in Trenton, NJ. In this book,Stephanie's official assignment takes back seat to a family request tofind Uncle Fred, who's disappeared. But what's with the photos Uncle Mabelfound in Fred's desk of a plastic garbage bag containing a dismemberedbody? Photography wasn't Fred's hobby.
In HIGH FIVE, Plum is beset with Briggs, Bunchy, Ramirez, Morelli, andRanger. And that's just for starters. Briggs is a midget that becomesPlum's unwelcome houseguest after the latter's zeal for fugitiveapprehension results in an unfortunate incident. The mysterious Bunchyalso wants to find Fred, and is following Stephanie around. Ramirez, apsycho rapist that Plum helped put away in book one, is now back on thestreets and wants revenge.
But the real core of the novel is Stephanie's lack of a sex life - acondition that's now reaching the critical stage. Plum has prurientyearnings for Joe Morelli, a distant relative and Trenton undercover cop -that is, when she's not hating his guts for being totally exasperating inthe way males often are. After all, twelve years ago he did take hervirginity behind the eclair counter of the pastry shop in which she wasworking. Then there's Ranger, the Cuban-American, bounty hunterextraordinaire who's Stephanie's sometime mentor and now, to herdistraction, the occasional stud muffin of her fevered dreams. Our heroinehas a yen for Bad Boys, and both Morelli and Ranger can be that,especially when they dress in black.
As one would expect in a continuing series, the author must ratchet up thewackiness of Stephanie's life a notch with each succeeding volume. Throughthe first five books, she's managed to do this without stretching mycredulity beyond the breaking point. Plum is just one of those girls withexcruciatingly bad karma. I'm beginning to anticipate, though, a plotwhere Evanovich tries too hard. We'll see, because I intend to read all ofthe series - 5 more installments as of this review.
At the conclusion of HIGH FIVE, Stephanie succumbs to the need for a nightof lovin', writes the names of Morelli and Ranger on separate pieces ofpaper, mixes them in a bowl, closes her eyes and picks one, summons thewinner after showing his name to her pet hamster Rex, puts on akiller-sexy black dress, and waits for her man of the night to arrive. Thereader won't know who got lucky until it's revealed in the prologue of HOTSIX. Rex and I know, but we're not telling.
If a Stephanie Plum book was to be made into a film, Sandra Bullock wouldbe absolutely perfect in the title role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars utterly fantastic!, 3 Jun 2000
By A Customer
Is there not a 6 star option! I have now read the hardback edition of this book twice and have probobly read all the others 3 times each! I can't really add anything to say that the other reviewers didn't already write, so I suggest if you haven't read this book or any in the series, buy all 5 now to save yourself the upset of reading just the one and needing all the other 4 straight away! I have also ordered the audio tapes so I can listen to them on my walkman on the bus! Does this make me sad? No I don't think so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Un-put-down-able, 10 May 2001
By 
H L Hopkins (Liverpool, Merseyside United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Five (Audio Cassette)
A very good friend recommended this author to me & since reading her first book I've been hooked . The latest book in the series was not a disappointment . I read this book with a mixture of dread ( how quickly does Janet write !!?? ) & excitement ( I was desperate to know where the characters would lead me & what situations our heroine would get herself into ). I too would like to spread the word - if you want an excellent read , read this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Somewhat Disappointing Read, 30 Oct 2010
By 
J. Bowen "Jamie Bowen" (Hampstead London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"High Five" is a comedy/thriller about a bad bounty hunter called Stephanie Plum. It's, perhaps unsurprisingly, the 5th book in the Stephanie Plum series.

In this book, Plum's asked to investigate the disappearance of her tight fisted Uncle Fred who disappeared while going to complain about his garbage bill with the local waste management company.

All in all, it wasn't a bad book. There was a decent story. It was a little predictable, but then you need that in "serial books" every so often. I think people'd be a little shocked if the series suddenly became something totally different.

My two grumbles with the book would be that Plum isn't improving fast enough as a bounty hunter for my liking, which is a little irritating. In addition there were times when the humor felt a little forced, which is a shame. I wanted to laugh, but I found I was groaning internally instead sometimes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evanovich on top form as usual, 16 Nov 2000
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I devour these books like sweets and always feel sick and disappointed when I get to the end, because I have to wait for the next installment. This one has a killer cliff hanger that left me more than usually frustrated. This woman is a brilliant author. More, more, more....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 10 Aug 2000
By A Customer
Absolutely brilliant. I don't think that I have ever awaited new books so eagerly. It's the way the other characters are growing, Morelli and Grandma mazur are just hilarious. These books are worth their weight in gold. The ending of this one leaves you begging for more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Humorous and Captivating, 4 Oct 2000
By A Customer
Wow! They just keep getting better and better. After reading all of the books in the series I can't wait for the next. Morelli or Ranger? The latest cliff hanger! I just can't wait to find out which one. Janet Evanovich just seems to have the ability to keep you buying the next book to see how it's all going to end. No matter how many times you read them they still have the ability to entertain you over again. The woman on the go who some times needs a little help to the nutty grandmother who is always good for a laugh. You just can't stop until you've finished each one and the characters become more enjoyable with each new realase. For anyone who has read one yet buy them all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

High Five (Stephanie Plum 05)
High Five (Stephanie Plum 05) by Janet Evanovich (Paperback - 9 May 2013)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews