Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1333
Richard House has tried to create something along the lines of Roberto Bolano's 2666 - a series of loosely connected novels forming together to create something whole. Just as in 2666, the sections wouldn't really work as stand alone novels, yet are not sequential or linked directly in style.

It is absolutely not a traditional thriller or whodunnit...
Published 11 months ago by MisterHobgoblin

versus
23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ambitious and clever in parts but wayward in others
Richard House's Booker-longlisted "The Kills" is a collection of four related books, originally published in e-book format between February and June 2013. In some ways, the e-book format is the natural habitat for House's creation as it includes a largely optional multi-media component to the story. It is a hugely ambitious piece about money, murder, greed, stories and...
Published 11 months ago by Ripple


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ambitious and clever in parts but wayward in others, 24 Aug 2013
By 
Ripple (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Kills (Hardcover)
Richard House's Booker-longlisted "The Kills" is a collection of four related books, originally published in e-book format between February and June 2013. In some ways, the e-book format is the natural habitat for House's creation as it includes a largely optional multi-media component to the story. It is a hugely ambitious piece about money, murder, greed, stories and where things start and equally where, if ever, they end. Covering more countries than feature in Michael Palin's passport, the book starts with corruption and embezzlement in a US civilian company working in the re-building of Iraq, and ends with a kind of "Tales of the Unexpected" story in Cyprus having taken in a gruesome story of murder in Naples.

Before getting to the conventional book element of the project, it's worth covering the multi-media component. While I have not seen the e-versions I assume that the suggested points for watching or listening to the various elements is noted in the text, whereas with the hard copy, this is not the case. It is pointed out that the multi-media elements can be watched entirely separately, or not at all, as they are not in any way necessary to the story. In fact, they tend to fill in background stories of the characters. It's not the first book I've seen to introduce a multi-media element but the quality of the short films in particular is of the highest class. They would not look out of place in an installation in the Tate Modern. House also largely avoids the trap of giving either images or audio to characters - mostly but not entirely the narrative element is told in sub titles in the films - which can detract from the reading experience in the same way that films of much loved books are usually disappointing as they don't fit with our mental images. I have no doubt that this is an area that writers will explore more frequently as e-books gain market share and colour becomes the norm on devices. However, the fact that it is optional viewing rather highlights the point that it is far from essential and doesn't add greatly, if at all, to the book. I remain of the view that while it's interesting in theory, in practice the sense is that it's there because the technology allows it rather than because it serves the story. For all that, it's interesting to watch the clips as a stand alone if you have an interest in video art.

But back to the book. House is excellent at intricate interweaving of plot lines and very good at dialogue. He's less good at evoking place or character. The latter is, in some cases I suspect, wholly intentional as one of the points he appears to be making is that we impose stories on people. Certainly the most interesting characters remain almost wholly unknown to the reader which can be a little frustrating. In a book of this length and complexity, it is perhaps futile to look for clear themes, but as well as events repeating and the search for a beginning and end to stories, there is also a sense that people who behave like victims will become victims. And you don't want to be a victim in House's world as the murder rate is higher than in the complete works of Shakespeare.

The first book, "Sutler" has Stephen Sutler on the run in the Middle East and Europe, suspected of absconding with $53 million of US investment in re-building Iraqi infrastructure. Whilst on the run, he meets Eric, a young student obsessed with a book he is reading. While on the surface, "Sutler" is a conventional thriller caper, the believability of the story is not helped by some highly unlikely actions on behalf of Sutler that makes his situation worse. You don't have to be a hardened criminal to chose the right option faced with the situation of keeping a critical bit of information either a) about your person or b) just chuck it in the luggage compartment, particularly having realized that a choice needs to be made. Like many things though, apparently illogical events feature again later in the book, particularly in the third book.

The second book, "The Massive" is by far and away the strongest. It's the most political and is in the main a prequal to the events of "Sutler". The focus is on the US civilians working to build a new Iraqi city in the desert. With just a few additions, this could stand alone as a powerful novel. I loved it.

The third book is the one Eric is reading in book one. "The Kill" tells of a mysterious serial killing in Naples of an American student which is made into a novel and then a film. The story is like a Russian doll and is full of layers and textures. In book four, one character notes that this book is "not a very good book" and that's a little harsh although you have to worry when a character describes a quarter of your book as not that good. It's technically complex and clever, but doesn't necessarily make for a great read and as a central part to the project does, for me, struggle to live up to the mysterious role it has in the book as a whole.

The final book, "The Hit" is just plain creepy and concerns a reclusive man apparently trying to kill one of the men suspected of being the still missing Sutler. By this time I was feeling that the whole thing had been stretched about as far as it could go and the failure of House to tie up any number of lose ends is a little frustrating but one that will probably make those who loved the book more than I did somewhat evangelical about its structure.

Perhaps the quotation from the book that sums the piece up best comes late on when one character says: "It isn't the story at all, but the conviction with which it is delivered. The money is something else, a distraction". House delivers his stories with conviction.

It's certainly very clever. Although each book does stand alone, if you were to read them separately, I would make sure you read them in order. In my view, if you read the first two books in the series, you will have extracted the very best elements of the project though and any lose ends to the story remain that way even after 1000 plus pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1333, 10 Aug 2013
By 
MisterHobgoblin (Melbourne) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kills (Kindle Edition)
Richard House has tried to create something along the lines of Roberto Bolano's 2666 - a series of loosely connected novels forming together to create something whole. Just as in 2666, the sections wouldn't really work as stand alone novels, yet are not sequential or linked directly in style.

It is absolutely not a traditional thriller or whodunnit.

The basic intention is to build a world - an atmosphere. There seem to be two principle narrative focuses - a corrupt contract for rebuilding Iraq, and a series of killings that copycat a situation depicted in a trashy best-selling novel. As in Bolano's work, the issues are never really dealt with head on; we follow some of the people whose lives are touched by these narratives and have to infer the bigger picture from their thoughts and actions. This is hard since the different angles sometimes contradict one another and often get bogged down in a sea of confusion.

The atmosphere is done really well. Whether it is Sutler, on the run across the dustbowl of Eastern Turkey; the seamy sex industry in Naples; the small town lives in America that drive their sons to seek fortune in the desert; or the nightclubs of Cyprus. Most sections are set in sunshine. The heat and sand and desolation feel real. The people feel real too; flawed, driven by hidden agenda, afraid, defensive.

For the first half of The Kills, Richard House seems to have complete mastery of his material. And the focus is exclusively on the corrupt project in Iraq. It really does feel like the same situation viewed from different angles, through different lenses. The diversion to Naples feels like a misstep, and the third "book" in the series never quite gels. It also feels like a bit of a diversion from the real focus on Iraq. But looking again to 2666 for parallels, there was a twin focus on murders in Mexico and on the writer Archimboldi - albeit there was a more obvious link between these two strands. Naples and Iraq never quite seem to meet.

The final "book" sees a return to the format of the first, and does make a half-hearted attempt to link some of the earlier strands, although it does also challenge some of the certainty that readers had probably achieved at the end of the first book. Mostly, though, there are great unanswered questions. The conclusion seems to be that there isn't a big picture - only parallel stories. That's a bit galling for the crescendo of a 1000 page epic.

The Kills sells itself also on the basis of wider audio and visual material available through an e-book or on-line. These links didn't work on my Kindle Paperwhite and are apparently not essential to the novel. They do represent innovation, however, and sit well with the concept of a novel that is not a story; is not driven by plot or character but more by situation and environment.

The Kills is a hugely ambitious project that, in trying to emulate 2666, has set its sights very high. It does get half way to delivering - perhaps more 1333 than 2666 - but it is a pretty good effort for all that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant, 29 Aug 2013
By 
Michael James (DORCHESTER, Dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kills (Kindle Edition)
This truly is a book I could scarcely put down. The basic plot is straightforward, but a multiplicity of complex characters, and complex motives, coupled with extremely vivid evocation of the middle eastern and mediterranean environment and culture, make for a very stimulating read. What makes it all the more interesting is that one suspects that the outrageous fraud at the heart of the novel, and the attempts to cover it up, are all too likely to represent reality closely. This is really classy writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First half great, second half not so great..., 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kills (Hardcover)
Having just finished my summer's read in September, I can attest to the length of the book. As four novels in one, it certainly has the space to consider many characters, situations, ideas and stories. But while the first two books work very well, the last two seem contrived and a bit rushed, almost like the author lost interest in the book as well. I really enjoyed the verisimilitude of the Iraq stories; both had a strong sense of place and time, clearly in the 'now' and almost up to the minute with Syria references. The characters, the intrigue, the doubt and the settings all worked well. The third and fourth books lacked this coherence and while they had some interesting elements, the plots struggled for direction and the characters came and went too quickly to engage the reader. 'Because there has to be an end,' I finished the last book, but was left unsatisfied by how it was wrapped up. I had not expected a tidy Dan Browneseque conclusion, but so many characters simply walk off stage with no follow-up (e.g. Geezler). Partly the point, I realise, but excessively so in this case. Usually, the 'less is more' rule applies and certainly here, a great 500 page novel is buried in the sands of a 1,000 page saga. Still, the first two books are definitely worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant contrivance surrounding elemental tale, 5 July 2014
By 
Leslie Gardner (london, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kills (Kindle Edition)
this is essentially three novels with the quest to find out who the victim is and who the ultimate perpetrator is of a murder - the hyper links to mini-videos and sound tracks is ingenious and definitely part of the allure despite its being cumbersome to use (I kept losing my place on the kindle i read it on, or when i read it on my iPad, i had to keep finding my place again and again - never mind) - the opening novella was utterly engrossing partially because i was getting used to the gimmick of the multi media; the lengthy middle section among soldiers is complex, gritty and moving, just too long - and the only women are the wives left at home reflected in their husband's recounting of events. i only got part way into the third section - it is sort of way too long - but very competent and adept writing, vignettes and characters- and sometimes i am only too aware that there's contrivance and extra features involved...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Could have been called 'How to be in the wrong place at the wrong time', 30 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Kills (Hardcover)
This is an excellent, literate quartet of thrillers.

As mentioned above, most of the characters find themselves in difficult, complex situations governed by forces out of their control.

Most loose ends are tidied up ok and one is left under few illusions as to the fate of the characters - 'The Massive', for example, opens with an account of the main characters' fates.

The loose ends not tidied up are fairly irrelevant and such is the author's skill that it doesn't really matter, to be honest. I would say it was best to come at these novels not expecting a neat, Hollywood ending. The reader can, to a certain extent, draw their own conclusions and fill the gaps with their own interpretation.

I took a breather between novels 2 and 3; novel 3 is quite a change in direction from the first 2 (where pretty much everything is tidied up). It was my favourite of the quartet, with Naples very well rendered. I liked the play between fiction and non-fiction, and there was a very strong sense of unease. Novel 4 is interesting geo-politically.

Well worth a couple of weeks of your time - books to linger over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Killing You Softly, 24 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kills (Kindle Edition)
OK this is a killer of a book or books I should say. It is one of those massive works that requires a lot of effort and goodwill and understanding. I started off enthusiastically but have to say that by the end I was flagging. If you are a reader you will enjoy most of it. But it's a tough read. Worthwhile at times but some passages can confuse and annoy the reader. So much going on that you are can get quite lost. Probably make a tremendous art film. Give it a go but prepared to be frustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Its meandering and boring, Took on a two week vacation, 24 July 2014
By 
A. D. Thacker (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kills (Paperback)
Given up after first book.
Don't be fooled by all the glowing review snippets on the cover and inside pages.
Its meandering and boring,

Took on a two week vacation. Worst holiday read ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Challenging, intriguing, rewarding, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kills (Kindle Edition)
Excellent press reviews prompted me to read this and I wasn't disappointed. It's very long but never boring . Descriptions of life and work in the desert 'camp' are evocative. The Naples section is equally credible. Plot twists and connections are thought provoking and the whole novel adds up and poses questions about things from major corporations to human nature. I've made it sound pretentious but it can be read as a really good thriller - or four of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be put off by the reviews of those who don't read..., 14 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Kills (Kindle Edition)
I read the bad reviews before I purchased the book, as I always do. It seems pretty clear that those who've read it and commented on it as 'hard to read' or 'turgid' are actually better suited to EL James.

If you want an artistic, interesting novel that yes, is long, and yes, is a challenging read, then this is for you. But why wouldn't you want a challenging read? I suppose if you read to passively follow a simplistic narrative in bed for ten minutes then this isn't for you.

It's a great book with a lot to say and a lot of very interesting themes. If you appreciate literature then read it. If you want an easy read that requires no emotional engagement, then don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Kills
The Kills by Richard House (Hardcover - 18 July 2013)
13.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews