Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard work but worth it
You can't gallop through these like you can the "Laundry Files" books for example, they're much too densely written for that. I've bought the 3 omnibuses in the series and read the first (this one), and stopped there for a week or two to give my aging brain time to catch up.There's just too much in them to take in all at once. Lots of characters, few of whom are...
Published 10 months ago by I. Baxter

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Readable if you're 12 or 14 yrs old, as an adult fantasy it's poor.
This book is unbelievable, as are the 'rave' reviews. Whereas I think it could be argued that all stories are contrived, this one is done so in such as way as to be transparent and quite painful in it's exposés, pretty much throughout. There is no real suspense, and the editing leaves a lot to be desired: in several places it is obvious where txt has been deleted...
Published 6 months ago by S. Hodgson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Readable if you're 12 or 14 yrs old, as an adult fantasy it's poor., 30 Jan 2014
By 
S. Hodgson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bloodline Feud: This Merchant Princes omnibus includes The Family Trade and The Hidden Family (Merchant Princes Omnibus 1) (Paperback)
This book is unbelievable, as are the 'rave' reviews. Whereas I think it could be argued that all stories are contrived, this one is done so in such as way as to be transparent and quite painful in it's exposés, pretty much throughout. There is no real suspense, and the editing leaves a lot to be desired: in several places it is obvious where txt has been deleted and the reader is left wondering in what context the dialogue is being submitted. The principal relationship, established pretty much immediately between two main characters is naive and unbelievable. The reader (well, me anyway) spent the whole book *not* actually believing it, which defeats the object of all the other poor efforts at subterfuge. Reasonably well written, poorly edited, not even vaguely a novel idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard work but worth it, 30 Sep 2013
By 
I. Baxter "the wingnut" (lincs uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bloodline Feud: This Merchant Princes omnibus includes The Family Trade and The Hidden Family (Merchant Princes Omnibus 1) (Paperback)
You can't gallop through these like you can the "Laundry Files" books for example, they're much too densely written for that. I've bought the 3 omnibuses in the series and read the first (this one), and stopped there for a week or two to give my aging brain time to catch up.There's just too much in them to take in all at once. Lots of characters, few of whom are what they seem, multiple universes, political entities, religions, customs, histories, etc. I guess you could call this fantasy more than SF because the only impossible gimmick (so far at least) is the universe hopping bit. All the rest follows from that in a logical but ever entertaining way. It has a touch of the still fashionable Steam Punk about it that adds to the appeal if you're a fan, but doesn't drown you in horse dung and coal smog if you're not. I can't say much more without dropping a spoiler or two, so if you like Mr Stross' work, and alternate reality stories, you can't lose with this. Get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasing conspiracy/alternate world crossover with attention to detail., 11 Sep 2013
By 
D. J. Ketchin "living in books" (Edinburgh Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
By far the most insightful look into the implications of being able to cross between alternate universes.

Its been done in the past but not with such an attention to detail or insight into the reality of human nature.
The subtopics are crime families/money laundering/economic theory. Might appear a bit dry to some but is kept lively with frequent assassination attempts and machiavellian politics.

Reporter Miriam is fired when her investigation leads her into the shady territory of corporate money laundering. Unfortunately one of the companies involved in the laundering owns her paper. When fired she visits her adoptive mother who gives her a shoebox of her birth mothers belongings. The box contains an amulet that when looked at ports her into an alternate world. That world is ostensibly medieval - but she is suprised when guards with machine guns try and kill her.

Her investigative instinct woken up by this encorages her to dig further and she soon falls int to the hands of a family using the ability to rule the medieval world. Their power is based largely on smuggling narcotics and importing technology into the medieval world to consolidate their power. Miriam is soon embroiled in the power struggles of 'the Clan' as they style themselves.

This collects works originally published as two books into one volume. It appears that the intention was originally for the series to be collected into works of this length. I think it shows - as both books together feel like a single story with a logical conclusion point.

The story is fairly straightforward as Stross goes. None of the dark humor of the LAundry files - or the whacky SF of his other workds. The only fantastic element is the unexplained world walking ability. Its a good read, with lively characters and reads as a cross between a crime thriller and a medieval period piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believable, Gritty, Entertaining Escapism, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really entertaining read. Grabbed you from the start and continued wringing surprises, excitement, shock horror and belief from you throughout.

I didn't want it to end and looked forward to the next omnibus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book but description slightly wrong, 9 April 2013
By 
J. D. Cook - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bloodline Feud: This Merchant Princes omnibus includes The Family Trade and The Hidden Family (Merchant Princes Omnibus 1) (Paperback)
This is a terrific series and I am very much looking forward to reading the omnibus editions. They are the "director's cut" versions presented as originally intended (instead of being chopped up for a more mass-makrekt-format-friendly size as first published).

Please note that this book is actually softcover and is only about 600 pages. (That is to say, you can actually read it in bed rather than with a hoist.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good read, 22 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good concepts, possible mistakes avoided. It's obvious the author not only writes but can think as well. Reminded me of a good TV show. Highly recommended for those who liked the background ideas of Sliders, etc. The only difference is that it doesn't let you down with the storyline :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best read in ages, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pretty much agree with the other 5 star reviews

One of the best series I've read for years ( 3 hours a day on the trains )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars frustratingly good, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
suxch a good story line but a bit more depth would be great.....so much more could be written.....but its almost like a race to get to the end.... loved it but was frustrated at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So good, loved them all, 4 Jan 2014
By 
Duncan Mclachlan (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its C Stross, so good storey line anyway the whole of this series it good.

I only wish it didnt end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars xmas gift, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bloodline Feud: This Merchant Princes omnibus includes The Family Trade and The Hidden Family (Merchant Princes Omnibus 1) (Paperback)
one of three books in this series my son asked for off santa. He was delighted with them, fast delivery, thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews