Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unmissable!
Loving the original Jane Eyre, I wasn't sure how I was going to feel about this new 'porn' version - but I couldn't put it down! It's so brilliantly and subtly done, I found myself turning the pages to see how the next fantasy or steamy scene was going to be woven into the original text. It's a fantastic, erotic read, not trying to replace the classic (of course!) but...
Published on 30 July 2012 by H. Rees

versus
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Reader..........its rubbish
Oh dear, oh dear...what to say about this silly publication? Read in a night it was so silly I laughed out loud in places. I so wanted to enjoy this book purely for the relationship between Jane and Mr Rochester which, in the original novel, simmers with eroticism for the reader with the capacity to read between the lines and imagine what their physical relationship would...
Published on 10 Sept. 2012 by Mrs Pisaroni


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Reader..........its rubbish, 10 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Jane Eyre Laid Bare (Paperback)
Oh dear, oh dear...what to say about this silly publication? Read in a night it was so silly I laughed out loud in places. I so wanted to enjoy this book purely for the relationship between Jane and Mr Rochester which, in the original novel, simmers with eroticism for the reader with the capacity to read between the lines and imagine what their physical relationship would be like. Here it reads like an adolescents A'level essay (apologies to A Level students here as you would likely do a better job). Huge chunks of Bronte are inter spaced with 'sexy' imaginings and encounters which try to be erotic but are just not believable. There were so many things I took issue with but here are a few choice gems:
Jane knows about onanism before she gets to Thornfield and practises it whenever she can-so no innocent schoolgirl here.
Jane has dabbled in lesbianism before she gets to Thornfield. The reminiscence about this is, frankly, sordid and nauseating.
Edward is a skilled lover-believable-but Jane wanting to know about his previous lovers is not.
Edward had a previous lover from 'Brazil'-cue a bath scene and Edward declaring she should be a 'Brazilian' too-know where this is going people?
The funniest is Bertha Mason-wife of Mr Rochester-and guess what? she isn't mad she's a DOMINATRIX !!!!Well whip me silly for not expecting that one!
The book ends so abruptly you could be forgiven for thinking that Ms Sinclair had just taken her advances and run, the ending so far from satisfactory as to be appallingly bad-please don't tell me there will be a sequel?
I have,' gentle readers' left the 'worst' until last. A sexual encounter on horseback!!! I can say no more.
Dreadful attempt to jump on the erotic makeover bandwagon-avoid unless you want a laugh-I do think that a few drinks and reading it out loud with the girls might be a fun filled night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unmissable!, 30 July 2012
By 
H. Rees (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Loving the original Jane Eyre, I wasn't sure how I was going to feel about this new 'porn' version - but I couldn't put it down! It's so brilliantly and subtly done, I found myself turning the pages to see how the next fantasy or steamy scene was going to be woven into the original text. It's a fantastic, erotic read, not trying to replace the classic (of course!) but just adding a new twist. Definitely as sexy as Fifty Shades, with a lot of much, much better writing in between the S&M!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jaded Jane, 17 Jan. 2013
By 
Trish23 (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jane Eyre Laid Bare (Paperback)
Ah Jane Eyre - beloved of adolescent girls for over a hundred years, Charlotte Bronte's captivating wish-fulfillment fantasy of how a meeting of minds can transcend class and convention. Yes, there's melodrama aplenty but the heart of the novel has always been about the thrill of meeeting a kindred spirit, a true soul mate.
There's no place for high faluting concepts like a meeting of minds or soul mates in Jane Eyre Laid Bare which concerns itself solely with the body. Fine you say, it's erotica, that's what it's supposed to be about. True, all the traditional ingredients of fluffy, soft core porn are here; lipstick lesbians, voyeurism, sex in strange locations etc. The problem is that none of it is remotely titillating or arousing, surely the raison d'etre of erotica.
This Jane, still a virgin but far from innocent, is in a permanent state of arousal. Her every waking thought seems to be about sex and she is excited by men, women and a wide variety of inanimate objects. It's impossible to take her seriously. Mr Rochester as presented here is so far from being appealing as to be downright repulsive; he really came across as nothing more than a dirty old man and this is before his plans for Jane are revealed at the end of the book. Yuk! Nobody is going to get hot and bothered reading about this bloke.
Still, I gave the book three stars because I did get a certain amount of entertainment reading it. It is unintentionally hilarious at times. No one is naive enough to think that the victorians were as straight laced as they were traditionally portrayed but I doubt if even the most debauched of them would have had sex toys and erotic paintings liberally scattered around their ancestral home on open display. There's a memorable and risible scene where a sexual encounter takes place on horseback as Jane and Mr R gallop over hill and dale that beggars belief.
The book ends abruptly at the famous half way point of Charlotte Bronte's original - the aborted wedding. I assume it has been left open for a sequel or at least the possibility of one but I certainly won't be reading it. To do that I would have to have some interest in seeing Jane reunited with Mr Rochester but after the revelation about the true nature of his relationship with Bertha and his original intentions for Jane, I have none. This unappealing, sleazy, wimp of a man is not even worth this silly Jane's time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars very disappointed, 11 April 2015
For anyone who has grown up adoring Jane Eyre and falling in love with the characters every time you pick up the book to have another read. DO NOT READ THIS BOOK! Jane Eyre is my favourite book of all time, and I like to read any piece of literature I come across that has a connection to her so that I can be enveloped into her world once more. However this book was a massive mistake. I cringed and couldn't bring myself to read the paragraphs detailing out a ludicrous lesbian affair in the classroom with "Emma" whilst at Lowood, added to that the repulsion of a Mr Brocklehurst sexually abusing the girls of said institute. What made the original so captivating is the love affair between Jane and Mr Rochester, their intellectual conversation of the heart, mind and soul which made a chemistry tangible to the reader and leave you always wanting more. The replacement in this novel is a somewhat sex obsessed Mr Rochester, who is under the dominatrix control of his mad wife Bertha, and a Jane Eyre who is far from the innocent unworldly woman we have grown to love but instead a voyeur who has no regard for being the sane, modest and righteous Jane I have known my entire life. By the end of the novel (whose abrupt finish leaves you searching round the room for the following pages that simply must have fallen out somewhere), we see a Jane who has once again found her morality and instead see a Mr Rochester who I know longer have any sympathy with for being tricked into marriage with a mad, deranged woman, but instead a brainwashed man who demands no sympathy from a reader and instead we find ourselves cheering on Jane to leave this madness at once and get as far away from Edward Fairfax Rochester as humanly possible! (Unlike the original where you too were pleading with Rochester for her to stay and take the offer to go to his villa) Throughout reading this book, I felt as though I was reading the words of an author who just wanted to make a quick buck or two from jumping on the 50 Shades of Grey bandwagon and not actually an author who appreciated and loved the original work. All of the wonderful scenes in the original book which allowed character development and the story to be told were washed over or omitted to quickly jump to the next encounter with Mr Rochester, leaving no anticipation, and with that there was no hangin around waiting for the old consummate the marriage rule. They simply couldn't wait to rip each other's clothes off at the proposal and fornicate! This is just so unbelievable, and goes to show you the power of a readers imagination as in the original you could feel the sexual tension and chemistry between them, were as here you just don't get that same feeling of true unadulterated, unconditional love that they have. I feel the only people who will really enjoy this book, and think it is a good read, are people who have either never read or have no appreciation for the original novel and therefore will not have that feeling of disappointment whilst reading it only to be relieved when the drivel of a book finally comes to an end. if you instead wish to do a bit of further reading into Ms Eyre's world. Try The Wide Sargasso Sea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a shame, 30 Jun. 2013
The author took a risk writing this and I don't think it paid off. People will pick this book up just because of the title. Shock factor. It's like Charlotte Bronte's done all the hard work then along comes someone to ruin it all. There are thousands of erotic books out there that are original and a lot more enthralling. I know cos I've read quite a few of them lol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jane Eyre Laid Bare, 8 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a great fan of Charlotte Bronte's Jane Eyre. I did like this twist to it, the erotic side of Jane and Edward Rochester.
I enjoyed it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Reader... don't read!, 21 Sept. 2012
If you're a fan of the original I cannot recommend this! Having read and enjoyed previous sequels to classic novels with erotic scenes added in I thought, for 69p, I'd give this one a try. While the author does well at writing in a similar style and with similar language to the original, I was disappointed. Frankly, many of the erotic scenes seemed as though the came from a teenage boy's fantasies, with women sexual pleasing each other every other page. Many parts did not feel as though they belonged in the time, especially the then innocent Jane's fantasies of a threesome. I disliked Rochester in this adaptation too. I don't like to give negative reviews, but I cannot recommend this novel. Stick with the original!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just sex, no solid storyline, 6 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jane Eyre Laid Bare (Paperback)
Nothing really added to the original story and was more an excuse for adding sexed up bits to a plot. A plot which has a substancial twist at the end from the original that i didn't like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sassy, funny and filthy - Jayne Eyre with attitude!, 31 July 2012
By 
S. Lancaster (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ever wondered what really went on under the petticoats of the chaste Victorian heroines of classic novels like Jane Eyre? Loved the romance but wished the girls got a bit more action? Gentle reader, this one's for you! Jane Eyre Laid Bare is a complete romp from start (moist memories of cosy nights in the girl's dorm) to a satisfyingly Go Girl finish by way of a most unorthodox riding lesson.
Part of the fun of this shockingly irreverent take on one of the great romantic novels is the way that the underlying plot - lonely orphan arouses tempestuous lust in arrogant, rich rotter with a shocking secret in the attic - is unchanged. So it's a terrific, well-written tale with genuine tension and well-drawn characters.
Bolting on a thoroughly modern leading lady who looks modest and demure but is absolutely determined to get into the hero's skin-tight breeches gives it a generous dose of humour and a powerful erotic thrust. Funny and filthy by turn, it's a cut above most of this genre.
Completely recommended for lazy afternoons on the chaise longue. Loosen your corset and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a train crash!!!, 7 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jane Eyre Laid Bare (Paperback)
I have read and enjoyed the original many times as well as fifty shades and the like so I was curious what the author would do with this classic. The juxtaposition of Bronte's masterfully crafted prose with the Ms Sinclair's crude and badly written sexual incerpts help to put this book firmly on the sordid side rather than the erotic. In the original, sexual tension sizzles beneath the surface of every encounter between Rochester and Jane but there's no need for any sizzling or tension in this version - Jane (completely out of character if you know her) just sorts herself out with a candlestick whilst reliving a lesbian quicky at Lowood over her teacher's desk, and Rochester gives her a quick and rather humiliating finger*** in the shrubbery before departing for an orgy with Blanche Ingram and company. If this had to be done, it needed a much more skilled author to pull it off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jane Eyre Laid Bare
Jane Eyre Laid Bare by Eve Sinclair (Paperback - 13 Sept. 2012)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews